We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can see whales from hotel, but they don't come by command” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus to your Saves list
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Can see whales from hotel, but they don't come by command”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were given a free upgrade (without asking) to a bigger room with most of the balcony facing the ocean. The room is large even with 3 adults. The toilet/shower/bath is huge, larger than one of my bedrooms at home. The queen size bed is comfortable. We were allowed free late check out.
The hotel wifi is strong, within bedrooms, in garden, etc. There is an onsite resident masseur who gives relaxing massages at reasonable prices. Hotel is well kept and maintained. It has a grand entrance and nice ambience. The hotel is quiet and peaceful. The front of the hotel is Marine Drive, and beyond that is a cliff, with the sea below and waves crashing into the rocks. At the right time, you can see whales, but sadly they did not come when we were there. One block away is the town centre. Within walking distance (5 – 10 minutes) are small museums, shops, supermarket, etc.
Service: prompt and attentive. When we inquired about a restaurant serving South African food, they called up to confirm it is open, drew map for us, etc. One of us had to leave very early for his golf. The hotel packed sandwiches, fruit, juice, etc. Breakfast is a wide spread of buffet, with 6 hot foods and some typical South African food. Eggs are cooked to our specification.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Especially all the FIVE stars:) The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    131
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
61
284
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. Lovely, large room, balcony with comfy chairs and table with a beautiful view over the ocean. The bed was firm, but comfortable. It was 2 singles joined together which was fine for us. We were in Room 203. There is easy car parking on site and it is about a 10 minute walk into the main restaurant area. We had intended to eat dinner there, but their restaurant was closed for rennovations (I presume in the kitchen area as we ate breakfast in the seating area). Breakfast was very nice. Misty Waves has character and charm!

Room Tip: Room 203 was excellent, very spacious, lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Rooms with twin beds can easily be converted to king size beds on request. We would love to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I were received in a very friendly manner and we had a most enjoyable stay. Breakfast very nice and plentiful. Rooms are large and modern. Parking is safe. Lovely walk along the coast right opposite the Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
There are various bed options available. Twins, King or even Poster bed King size. On a return visit please request and staff would be to eager to assist.
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed for in the Honeymoon suite at Misty Waves in Hermanus and I was very impressed by the quality of service that I received. I felt spoilt, pampered and received excellent service from Management and staff. For anyone looking for a superbly comfortable stay, a lovely view of the ocean, a home away from home, I highly recommend you spoil yourself and your family with only the best. It was nothing short of a pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in the centrally located honeymoon suite, the balcony is larger, the view is not obstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for one night out with whale season and was very quiet, ate lunch in their Indian restauranr which was nice albeit we were the only diners.

Service was good and very friendly. Grounds were very well kept with a small pool that was being renovated when we stayed.

Rooms and bathroom were huge with the only down side was the smell of damp in the room but this is probably due to the proximity of the sea coupled with the ac

Not bad and would use again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel.The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Please when booking indicate in which room you stayed before as I am sure it might have been in the Heritage Cottage in the Garden of the hotel. In order for us to upgrade you at a slightly higher rate.
The Waves Restaurant is due to demand now again operating the Restaurant with a lovely a la carte menu, and receives a lot of excellent comments.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TA IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the Misty Waves. Our room was huge and had a nice balcony over viewing the ocean. Great coastal walk just opposite the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and we were given a good recommendation for dinner

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Especially all the FIVE stars:) The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

most attractive building in Marine drive which lived up to all our expectations
had the least expensive accommodation,the Cottage, and it was spacious and very comfortable.
breakfast on the first floor overlookng the spectacular scenery is as good as it gets
nice welcome from Clinton Lerm whose family started the business many years ago and the amazing Samantha who looked after our every need with love and attention, not to forget the cook,& general dogsbody Andrew . great guy.complimentary newspapers, free computer usage and a decent pool area.
see yo`all next february

Room Tip: if you get to visit once you will be hooked. the cottage was great value as will be the better roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Especially all the FIVE stars:) The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back in February! Do indicate that you are a returning guest and we will arrange a nice surprise. (Maxi & Sam)
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your ultra luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The popular Waves Restaurant for buffet breakfasts with stunning sea views and the new WAVES Restaurant for Lunch & Dinners with cosy fireplace. Enjoy the Sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.