We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant to your Saves list
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   181 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Schulphoek Guesthouse in late November for 2 nights. The experience was wonderful we were greeted by Petro with the warmest and friendliest greeting, I ever experienced. Eating dinner with the other guests is a must! I was reluctant to eat with the rest of the guests but I HIGHLY recommend you do this! Petro strategically seated us by couples who she thought we'd enjoy. Of course we had a lovely dinner conversation along with the most delicious meal.

The room was perfect. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet and the bathroom was spacious. I would love to return to Schulphoek again and highly recommend it. Oh, she guided us to wonderful places to hike, run, see the whales, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    14
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our honeymoon. We were warmly welcomed by one of the owners Petro who we found to be most helpful (gave us lots of tips on things to do and let us have a late check out). Although the guesthouse is 3km from Hermanus, it has beautiful views and a great place to watch the whales from. Because of its location, you are less lightly to eat out in the evenings but this is compensated for by the fact that Petro and her husband offer a delightful evening meal each evening for all of their guests. The food was delicious. You also get to pick your own bottle of wine from their extensive range which is good fun. You can dine at the same table as the other guests which is a lovely way of hearing about other peoples experiences of their travels. Although except for one of the rooms, there is no views of the ocean, the rooms are spacious and very well finished. Petro and Mannes are great hosts and provided you don't mind staying 3km outside Hermanus this guesthouse is a very good option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After coming from a less than perfect experience in Stellenbosch,(interestingly the place in Stellenbosch doesn't come up on Trip Advisor to be rated) this B&B revives my faith. The location is right by a small bay with walking paths along the water in front of the facility. The owners are generous & knowledgeable about local cuisine & wineries. We are staying in the Scallop room which has a 280 degree view of the water, a lovely bathroom with tiled walk-in shower, speedy WiFi, heated towel rack and lots of space. The complimentary dinner with a bottle of wine plucked from the owners' own cellar is not to be missed. Yesterday whales were seen in the Bay & we are hoping we get lucky as well. I love this place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumpherston, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited Schulphoek in July this year for 3 nights as part of our trip to South Africa. On arrival at the Guesthouse we were welomed by Petro with a warm cup of tea on a very wet and windy day. We were taken to our room which was named the Scallop suite. Our first impressions was that it had an amazing view over the bay and we were hoping to see some Whales if we were lucky. The room was huge and included a luxury bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a big shower. There was also a seated area where you could read a book or use the massage chair. Hermanus was a beautiful town it was just a shame that the day we were due to go whale watching the trip was cancelled due to bad sea conditions.We did however visit Betty's Bay where we saw the penguine colony. We had a great time and it only cost a coulpe of pounds to enter. We also did a shark dive through marine dynamics in gansbaai, this was an amazing experience. We saw 10 great white sharks, the largest measuring a whopping 4 1/2 metres long!!! As part of our stay at the guesthouse we had included a meal expertly cooked by Mannes. We were also taken to their vast wine cellar to chose our wine for our private dining experience. The food was amazing and so was the service we couldnt have asked for more. Overall we had a great stay despite of the weather and the dissapointment of not seeing Whales!! Nevermind we will just have to visit this beautiful place again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Petro and Mannes run a beautiful appointed, luxurious, yet relaxed guest house. We were personally welcomed by them both, and treated to a gourmet 4 course dinner, with a fantastic choice of wine from a well stocked cellar. We had beautiful views of the bay, and sadly missed out on seeing whales frolicking in the bay on one of the mornings! The rooms were beautifully furnished, and extremely comfortable, with complimentary sherry, nuts, tea/coffee and a bowl of fruit, replenished every day, with the option of relaxing in the main lounge with tea/coffee, cake, and well stocked bar! Not to mention daily breakfast!! The staff were wonderful and friendly as well, and we felt secure at all times. We stayed for 15 days, and it was well worth the relaxing atmosphere, especially lying at the swimming pool!! Petro's recommendations of things to do in the area are amazing, and we had a wonderful Saturday at Hermanuspietersfontein, tasting the local produce, and drinking wine, as well as meeting the locals!! The price was right, and I will definitely stay again, in fact will be bringing my husband!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Sea horse Suite, which was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This small guest house, seven or eight rooms, right on the sea is superbly run and managed by Petro and Mannes. Nothing is too much for them and it has to be said that the dinners prepared by 'chef' Mannes are delicious. The very well stocked wine cellar ensures you have the right bottle for whatever may be offered for dinner. All the staff are proactive and helpful.
It is a truely relaxing place with walks right along the sea's edge courtesy of a long walkway connecting the small hamlets on this part of the coast outside of Hermanus.
Great place to locate for a few days to explore the surrounding vineyards and restaurants.

Room Tip: Be aware that only one room right now has a sea view and that is the Scallop Suite, so be sure to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited Schulphoek Guest House in Winter. The view was spectacular and the room we had was roomy, luxuriously appointed and very comfortable. In addition, the friendly and accommodating hostess Pietro made us more than welcome with her generosity and helpfulness. She even gave us a bottle of a very nice red wine at the end of our visit. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and we would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant

Address: 181 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schulphoek guesthouse overlooks the bay from which it received its name - an idyllic expanse of ocean, where whales are frequent visitors. Beyond its quiet beaches, you will find nature paths and bird watching. Just 5km from Hermanus centre, Schulphoek offers an eco-conscious refuge, with seven sumptuously decorated suites that overlook either our garden or the sea. Food is our passion. You will find a three-course menu du jour, served at our social table (or separate) with organic produce from our potager garden and fresh-line fish. Our cellar is a haven for aficionados, featuring 12,000 bottles of local wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.