We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Manor Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   184, 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Situated just outside town with excellent views of the bay. Our room had views of the mountains and bay with a small veranda to soak in the views from. The dining and Bar areas are very clean, well decorated and full of character. Two exterior veranda's are available to soak in the views and do a spot of whale watching - we managed to see one whale from this position during our stay.Our room had a massive bed , huge bathroom ans shower and tasteful furnishings. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and served by very pleasant and effective staff. Our hosts pre booked dinner at local restaurants and arrange transport for us which was much appreciated. A great place to stay to explore Hermanus and conduct the obligatory Whale watching.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    45
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
117
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you are going to Hermanus about 2 hours drive from Cape Town then you won't be disappointed if you stay at this nice guest house very friendly owner who was so helpful when I had a health issue whilst we were there couldn't do enough to help the rooms are very good but there are some stairs to climb to most this would not be a problem but if you are not to good on your feet they might be I managed but only just other wise don't be put of as the rest of this place and the service was very very good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lavender Manor has wonderful views of a Walker Bay and is well situated to access the amazing white sand beach to the east and the 6.5 km. cliff walk into Hermanus. While walking this path we saw right whales almost every time we looked up, some only 50 meters from the shore. Add clean, quiet rooms, a sumptuous breakfast and delightful, friendly, helpful hosts and you have the perfect place to stay in Hermanus.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This really is a great place to stay. The welcome from Isabel and her staff cannot be faulted - warm and friendly. Advice on where to eat; the offer to make dinner reservations; suggestions on where to go and what to see. We had a mountain view room at the back, which was good for us - being interested in wildlife, there were lots of birds flitting about between the gardens and along the road at the back. Despite the road back and front, the location is very quiet and, as others have reported, very close to Grotto beach - a great introduction to the potential for beach-combing in South Africa. Our room was lovely, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast included a range of fresh fruit, cereals and cooked items. The annex and the main building are equally good, and each with lounges on the upper floor with books, telescope for looking out to sea and so on. Although there is no wi-fi in the annex, it really is no problem to go over to the lounge in the main building and connect to the free wi-fi there. The lounge in the main building has a bar, where you help yourself and add what you have had to an "honesty sheet". And there is an honesty bar in the room and a chocolate on your turned down bed in the evening. Fantastic - just go.

Room Tip: Can't think of anything to say that will help you get a better room - they all seem excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

THis is a very nice guest house only minutes from Grotto Bay and the cliff path for lovely walks Whale watching. Isabel was very friendly and helpful. It was my husbands birthday whilst staying here and Isabel arranged a lovely restaurant booking and a tuk tuk taxi to take us there. In the morning Isabel arranged a birthday breakfast which was fantastic and made the day. A candle in the mushroom and Happy Birthday piped in Ketchup!! How original and superb can that be. Thank you so much Isabel. We stayed in room 1 with a balcony overlooking the sea it was very comfortable and spacious. There is a lovely lounge with an honesty bar and a large patio to enjoy the views. We highly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best and in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It is a nice house a little outside of the center. We stayed in room nr 9 which was the former garage. It got very cold in the room, but the owner put a heater in the room wo it was ok, but still not very comfortable. The lady was very very friendly, she reserved a restaurant for us which was very good and she booked a whale tour for us for the next morning. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Don't take room nr 9 if possible. It was very cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were made very welcome here the moment we arrived. Our host showed us around this wonderful property and we had a most excellent room with a view of the sea (we even saw whales cavorting in the sea around 7:00am). The room was extremely comfortable and well-equipped. The breakfast was absolutely lovely. The service was great. The tourist advice was most helpful (on recommendation, we went for lunch one day to Dassie's Fontein near Caledon - a most fascinating place). It's a little off the beaten track (a few Km from the centre of Hermanus) but none the worse for that (most people would be travelling by car, I imagine).If you are looking for a great place to say in Hermanus, this is it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Address: 184, 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Manor Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.