We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, perfect, perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lavender Manor Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   184, 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 80 Hermanus B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect, perfect, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Rooms were spacious, incredibly clean, attention to detail was spot on. The beds were so comfortable, we were very tired, however a great nights sleep sorted that. Staff were attentive and the breakfast was Devine! Telescope was a lovely touch, we watched the whales, perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
99
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lavender Manor was the last stop on a 2 week holiday on the Garden Route. It was the best accommodation we stayed in without doubt. The owners are friendly and helpful and have decorated the place to the highest standard, there is space to move and the finishing touches are superb, down to the sprig of lavender on each plate. One could not fault the place and it has a touch of class not seen elsewhere. Isabel and Kobus should be mighty proud of what they have achieved. We would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We would image all rooms are immaculate but ones at the front have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just stayed 1 night but would have happily stayed longer. We were on a trip around the garden route and Lavender Manor was perfect for our night in Hermanus. Lovely hosts, great views from our suite (I believe Room 1, the honeymoon suite), very close to the fantastic Grotto Beach, I expect it would be an amazing place during whale season.

It will have be special place in our thoughts and would recommend with no reservations. A little bit away from Hermanus center but there is a lovely restaraunt (L'zettes) not so far from the manor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A beautifully decorated room with every possible need catered for.Bathrooms were spacious and again well equipped for the traveller.Lovely staff and quite superb breakfasts,particularly if you can eat it all!.
Nice balconies to sit out for an early evening drink and when the whales are there,you would get some lovely views.The Manor is not next to the beach but is only a few minutes away and Grotto Beach is beautiful .

Two things you need to be aware of.Firstly,you will need to drive into Hermanus for evening meals.Not far but too far to walk and secondly the rooms are not air conned.We had a excellent fan that kept you cool however and you could open the balcony windows in our room which was on the front of the building.Kobus and his team should be proud of this facility.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful guest lodge that we stayed at as part of our drive on the Garden Route. Our bedroom was gorgeous and had some really lovely finishing touches. The views were fantastic. The owners were very helpful and gave us lots of tips for our onwards trip.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My initial feeling on arrival was one of disappointment as the hotel is so far from both central Hermanus and from the ocean.
However, I was glad we stayed here in the end without it we would never have discovered the fabulous cliff path which you can take into town. Walking that 4km route is my best memory of the town as it took us over dramatic little bays and beaches, almost constantly accompanied by pairs of whales (we were lucky enough to be there during peak whale watching season).
The sights were constantly fascinating and in the end the walk took us some six hours as we kept stopping to just look.
The hotel is very comfortable and serves a good breakfast. There is an honesty bar with a roof terrace with a nice, if slightly distant, view of the ocean. WiFi is available free there, although you couldn't get it in the rooms in the rear block where we stayed. That is a very minor grumble though.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms in the main house have WiFi access. The ones in the rear block do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Lavender Manor for two nights on 14th and 15th January. The owners and staff gave a very warm welcome and made our stay of the highest quality. They were friendly and very helpful without being intrusive. Our rooms were spacious and well presented and the breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Address: 184, 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Manor Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.