We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birkenhead House & Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Birkenhead House & Villa to your Saves list
Birkenhead House & Villa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr of 7th Avenue & 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Having recently stayed at Royal Malewane we were expecting Birkenhead to be equally spectacular as it has the same owners. Althought the terraced area at the back of the hotel does have a spectacular view the rest of the hotel looks out over a charmless suburb and is so close to the other buildings that you have to keep many of the shutters closed in the rooms for privacy.

There is no air conditioning, the rooms are on the small side and are decorated in a random and somewhat dated fashion. The food is ok but the menu is fixed and did not change during our stay which made the dining experience quite repetitive. Given the fact that the hotel was so small one felt on top of other guests and it could be a chore to find a comfortable place to sit outside overlooking the water.

On the plus side, the view from the terrace is gorgeous and the Staff does make a huge effort. They set up tables on the terrace for breakfast and are extremely accomodating about special requests. There are fabulous beach walks and a nearby nature reserve where you can go hiking. If one wants to visit Hermanus then this is probably the place to stay but with hindsight we might have skipped this stop altogether as we didn't find the town charming and the beaches although beautiful were quite crowded.

Room Tip: Don't go unless you can get a room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    10
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
152
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

Third visit perfect location overlooking the ocean and third time lucky southern wright Wales
Fantastic staff sumptuous rooms
Very good food but not as good as last 2 visits but still excellent longer Michelin star standard
A must stay hotel we plan to be back

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

Just left after a couple of idyllic days in this hotel. Feels like visiting old friends. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Rooms are beautiful with great views over the bay and whale watching from the balcony thrown in. Food and drink included in the package and of the highest standard. Was hard to tear ourselves away. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here three nights in October 2011. We had just been married at La Residence (review posted) which is a sister property to Birkenhead House. Upon arrival we were immediately given a tour of the property by a lovely man named Ricardo, dressed in white linen, who then escorted us to our room. Our room was gorgeous with sweeping views over the ocean. We were in Room 1 (The Honeymoon Suite) which was at the very front of the property with unobstructed views of the ocean and what a thrill to sit on our balcony watching whales breaching, very exciting. The rooms here are not huge (unlike other properties we stayed in South Africa) but are beautifully appointed. Housekeeping and service was perfection.

All meals and drinks are included here and the food was excellent and the selection of wines quite good. You can order more premium bottles at an extra expense if you wish.

The highlight of our stay in this region (and even the highlight of our whole trip to South Africa) was Great White Shark cage diving. The hotel arranged this for us and provided transfer to and from the location (40 min away) and they also made sure that the moment we arrived back on shore from our drive that a hotel car would be there waiting for us, nice.

The town of Hermanus is cute with numerous art galleries to tour. We walked to town along the ocean and admired the gorgeous views and gorgeous homes hugging the cliffs.

This is a luxury property in a beautiful setting and a very unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

From the very moment we arrived at Birkenhead House we knew we had found somewhere very special. Our room was fabulous (number 10) and there are lots of special touches. It is an all inclusive hotel and this includes any laundry. The food was really delicious and no problem with special requests. The service and all staff fantastic. The setting is just beautiful and you can walk along the cliff path into town (about 5km at least) which was fabulous as we could see the whales. We only stayed 2 nights and wished we were staying longer. When we did leave we were waved off by about 7 staff and given water for the journey. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have now stayed at Birkenhead three times and it always lives up to expectations.
The atmosphere is just lovely, the setting and accomodation really special and the food excellent.
The all inclusiveness makes for total relaxation .........
The chef made every effort to please us even asking us if we would like something different from the menu. The quality is very high and the service is exceptional both it its professionalism and its genuine warmth.
I was unlucky enough to have an asthma attack when I was there and the staff took everything out my hands oraganising a doctor's appointment taking me there and back and giving us the most lovely dinner in our room that night.
The whales were just out the door , the FernKloof nature reserve a short shuttle away and all in all it's one of our very favourite places in the world.
Thank you Shane and team for another wonderful time

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The room was amazing and looked just like it does on the website. The food was exceptional and we loved the chef coming out to describe the menu to us each evening. The service was faultless it was always there but never in your face so the balance was just right. Location is just amazing we watched whales breaching and swimming from our sunbeds and didn't even need binoculars they were that close!! We also did a whale watching trip which hotel organised and was well worth it. We didn't bother going into hermanus there was no need when you are at this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birkenhead House & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House & Villa

Address: Cnr of 7th Avenue & 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Family Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House & Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House and deluxe adjacent Villa, overlook the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Escapio and South African Hotels so you can book your Birkenhead House & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birkenhead House & Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.