We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best botanical park - and everything for free !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernkloof Nature Reserve

Fernkloof Nature Reserve
Fernkloof Nature Reserve, Hermanus, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 attractions in Hermanus
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best botanical park - and everything for free !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went for a hike in the Fernkloof Nature Reserve and were amazed about the beauty of the 'fynbos'. There are more flowers than table mountain national park and more birds than helderberg nature reserve. What is more, when we were there, we didn't see anyone on the whole 2-h hike.
If you are not into hiking, you can also stroll along the botanical garden.
Really a must see, especially since it is all for free.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This part of the country is such a great place to visit and Fernkloof is especially beautiful. It has a number of walking trails between the hills and a beautiful waterfall. It is really a few hours well spent to visit the nature reserve. Take a picnic basket and relax in the beautiful gardens. There are also tables and chairs set out under the trees.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“A Walk in Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently visited Hermanus and decided to shed some of the unwanted kilo's from all the eating. We had the most wonderful hiking experience with the most breath taking views at Fernkloof Nature Reserve. There are shorter and longer routes with varying difficulty ratings perfect for the avid hiker to people who only want to stroll and admire the views. The most amazing part is that it is for free!!! A definite must for anyone who wants to be close to nature!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“in to the wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It's only 10 min drive from Hermanus centre
I spent 6 hrs walking around without meeting any humans!
trails are well marked, there is no chance to get lost.
I can choose: green route, blue route (dogs friendly!),red route, and my favourite, orange one.
You have to bring with you all you would need : drinks, food etc. Remember to bring back with you all garbage.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit - even in the 'off-season'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not very easy to find and poorly signposted from the main road, we appeared to be the only visitors on the morning of 31 January 2013. Ample car parking - although with no-one about - could be a little risky. Small unstaffed 'visitor centre' with information on three trails and display of current blooms. The shortest trail from the car park led into thick bush, looped back across the car park and along the hillside opposite. It was not well maintained, very wet in places and vegetation had encroached across the path. We were a little late for the main flowering season. Nevertheless, a good selection of 'Fynbos' plants could be seen with Protea, Leucospermum, Euphopbia, Crassula and Erica species predominating. It took much searching in the field guides to put names to the plants seen and this was not greatly successful. Also seen were several Angulate Tortoises of varying sizes and very few birds. Two other trails led away from the car park into the hills and were posted as taking one hour upwards. We tend to find that we always take much longer than recommended times as we stop to look and take photographs. As it stated to rain, we called it quits and intend to return another day, another year.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernkloof Nature Reserve also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fernkloof Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernkloof Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fernkloof Nature Reserve to your Saves list