We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocos

Cocos
Village Square | Marine Drive, Hermanus, South Africa
+27 28 313 1178
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 82 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cocos Island Grill offers a wide variety of meals ranging from Breakfasts and sharing meals to starters and succulent sea and land food mains. We have an international standard cocktail bar with 10! Locally brewed draughts on tap. Enjoy the spectacular first floor view from our terrace or at one of our many window seats... So whether its you and friends or the whole family, feel welcome to relax and enjoy Cocos life.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great cocktails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Previously the Cubana the name change has if anything improved the setup. Good bar food,great vibe and Pina Colada to die for!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    54
    28
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the view is worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we had family over from the UK and we spent an afternoon sitting at the window upstairs, whale watching and going through the cocktail menu. we had possibly the best service in Hermanus from a young man ( can't remember his name ) who was entertaining, knowledgable about things to do and generally just very helpful. we had a good solid meal and our overseas visitors returned the next day for one last look at the whales.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visiting Friends in Hermanus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

They say location location location, and this Restaurant has that covered in Spades. We were there over the Whale festive season and how great was it to have a drink in the one hand and Binoculars in the other enjoying one of nature’s most amazing features.

The Staff was very friendly and helpful with their unorthodox menu, the food was amazing.
I will definitely return even if there are no whales to spot. Great location for a Restaurant and who knew a nightclub by night as well.

Coco's 10/10.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Sports viewing venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Watched the Bokke vs England, very pleasant atmosphere, great cocktails served and plenty of finger-food available , we has Mussels and Chips and this was divine

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good food, good company, excellent beer (Weis). we always have a great time here. The 180degree view is excellent with binoculars that you can use. Try the Jalapeno Burger and Weissbeer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocos also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.