We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumaridge Wine Estate

Sumaridge Wine Estate
Upper Hemel-en-Aarde Valley, Hermanus, South Africa
+27 (0)28 312 1097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Activities in Hermanus
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Wine tasting with cheese platter. Enjoyed it so much. Fantastic wines and an amazing setting. Children had fun running around the dam while we enjoyed the wine and scenery. A must visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTatnumberten, Owner at Sumaridge Wine Estate, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that your children enjoyed "letting off steam" running around - hopefully Mum could relax a little. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“The guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked over Christmas, been seven adults and three children, with the cottage enough space, great veranda and more beautiful views towards the mountains.
It took a bit time until the service was running and the Jacuzzi cleaned....
We will defiantly come back soon.....
It would be great to have a swimming pool fro those that stay longer, maybe even heated over the roof, as it is quite chilly in the evenings, "cool climate wines"....
:-)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Forget the whales - head straight to Sumaridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We happened upon Sumaridge by chance and would go back in a heartbeat. A combination of the view, the hospitality and the amazing world class wines makes for a great visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sumaridge a Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the guest cottage with two friends and loved every minute of it. The wines from the estate provided the added ambiance. Sitting on the terrace enjoying the hot tub and enjoying a braai in the evening glow over the Hemel-en-Aarde valley provided a perfect end to the day.
The freedom of the estate and the walks provided enhanced our stay and made us feel perfectly at home in South Africa

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Sumaridge wine estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I absolutely fell in love with this beautiful wine estate nestled in the Hemel en Aarde Valley with idyllic views of sea in the distance framed by mountains. The wines are exceptional and the whole experience is tantamount to being in heaven. Thank you Sumaridge for your unpretentious yet extraordinary presentation of harmony and beauty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsTatnumberten, Owner at Sumaridge Wine Estate, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Sumaridge. It IS beautiful and we love to share it! Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumaridge Wine Estate also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Sumaridge Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumaridge Wine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.