We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hermanus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hermanus to your Saves list
The Marine Hermanus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The marine is a wonderful hotel.
the service is amazing.
for example i wanted to watch a dvd and the receptionist called someone to go to the dvd store and he rented it for that night for us to watch.
I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone and its also great for kids.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    63
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
233
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Marine is simply amazing. From the moment we set foot on this property, we were treated like kings and queens. The front desk personnel are sincere, attentive, and a delight. Our room (second floor corner - see photo) was outstanding. Breakfast each morning was a beautiful buffet (fruits, breads, etc.) along with a complete breakfast menu. We dined in The Seafood at the Marine several times - food is divine. Our waiter was superb and suggested a different wine each night - we were never disappointed! The chef is quite inventive and delivers excellent cuisine and superb presentation. The Malva Pudding is to die for! The cliffs along the coast are wonderful for walks any time of the day - more than one can really take in without catching one's breath. Walker Bay is the home of the Right Whales when they come down in June and July - we were there the end of May and saw a few males in the bay spouting. This is THE best land-based whale watching venue in the world and we now understand why. There is a grassy amphitheater right at the edge of the little town of Hermanus and apparently the whales put on quite a show. A short drive from Hermanus is the area called Franschhoek - a wide valley floor with vineyards as far as the eye can see. South African wines are delightful. Shopping in town was fun - many kiosks and tables by vendors - all vendors were very friendly and not high-pressure. A small mall has many other nice shops too for items made in South Africa. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would go back in a nanosecond. The country is gorgeous. That, coupled with a fantastic place like The Marine, makes for a trip you will never ever forget!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Without doubt, the best thing about the Marine is the location. Unexpectedly, we had an ocean view room and sitting in bed (or lying in the bath!) watching the whales is such a unique experience that you cant help but give the Marine 5 stars.

The hotel itself has a feeling a 'faded glory' and compared to some of the other 5 star properties in South Africa would fall some way short. There is nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, just a feeling that it could do with some modernisation and hasnt had an awful lot of money spent on it recently.

That said, our room was very nice, the breakfasts were very good and the staff friendly and helpful, particularly Claudia (?) on the travel desk who directed us to Stony Point penguin colony and Harold Porter Botantical gardens for a day out, which we really enjoyed.

We ate in the Pavillion restaurant one night, and it was nice, our experience in general in Hermanus (we also ate at Medeterriena and Harbour Rock) is that the food is squarely aimed at a tourist market and overpriced for what you get.

I dont think either of us was prepared for how many whales you see if you are there at the right time, and standing on the shore watching them less than 50m out to sea is a great experience and the Marine is a very nice place to stay whilst doing it.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here for two nights to do some whale watching. We were upgraded to an ocean view suite and it was absolutely beautiful. The views from the room (even the bathroom)were wonderful and the service was fantasic. The room even had a heated floor in the sitting area. There was complimentary wine and fruit waiting in the room. Another nice touch-since we had to leave earlier than breakfast service, the staff had boxed breakfasts waiting for us to take with us when we left. Free internet access was a welcome surprise to us. The pictures on their website make it look like there is nothing else around but that is not the case. It is walking distance to the town and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Marine Hermanus was comfortable, it is very pretty, the bar area, the pool and front lawn are lovely and the staff were, on the whole, really nice. The food was very average, in fact our meal in the seafood restaurant was bland (does not deserve the reputation is has). The gift shop was excellent (great selection).

Our room was lovely. When we arrived we were given the suite looking out of the car park. it was a big room but I didn't want to sleep over the car park and asked to be moved to a seafront room. This happened with no fuss (they weren't full).

It is an amazing location and after a day of whale watching it was nice to come back and have a hot bath and look out over the ocean (from the bath tub). My only real issue is that because it is very expensive (compared to other places in South Africa) the other guests were all in their 60's and 70's. It felt more like a retirement village. I don't mind quiet but it was more geriatric than tranquil.

You wont have a bad stay but I am sure there are better places to stay in Hermanus which have great views too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

My wife, 2 grown-up sons and I stayed for 1 night as part of a tour. I've seen a few poor reviews for this hotel but we found it to be excellent. It was low season and the hotel was quiet. We were given upgrades to suites for both our rooms, and these were excellent, with good size bathrooms and separate lounge areas. We did eat in the hotel's main restaurant and enjoyed very good fish dishes. We were able to watch the whales from the bar as the sun went down.

I can't readily comment on value for money as the accomodation cost for this night was not itemised, but I suspect in low season it is possible to get very good rates!

The service was excellent, with the car being washed for free before we left.!

As an option from the boat trips and cliff top whale watching, I recommend going into the cave restaurant near the hotel. You get excellent views of the whales from sea level as well as being able to enjoy a glass of wine and a light meal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Incredible hotel, indescribable location and impeccable service!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere’s most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 42 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa’s most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone’s throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property – from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hermanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.