We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Very Warm Stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hermanus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hermanus to your Saves list
The Marine Hermanus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chandigarh, India
1 review
“"A Very Warm Stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during our honeymoon. The hotel has old world charm. The hotel staff was very warm and welcoming with a special reference to the receptionist Birdie who went above and beyond her duties. She sent us a complementary bottle of champagne and chocolates. Overall a wonderful stay. Much recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us and Berdine, our Assistant General Manager, is truly an outstanding person with your needs foremost in her mind.
We hope that the rest of your Honeymoon was as perfect as your stay at The Marine.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    63
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
233
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel is an easy scenic drive from Cape town via N2 (around one and a half hours).
When we returned from Hermanus a few days later we opted for the scenery of the coastal road to Strand and N2 , enjoying a picnic which the hotel had packed for us.

Our group were made up of us(local Capetonians) plus overseas guests/ family.

Upon arrival we were made very welcome by the lovely and friendly Reception staff, who are brilliant at finding any info/ other bookings i.e booking golf and info on the local wine route

Hotel has superb location- literally across the road from the shops and museums , fantastic direct view over the sea. There is a walking route directly in front of hotel meandering along the coastline. Did not spot any whales this time round as we visited just before Christmas- well past the breeding season but there were owls nesting across from the hotel - watching them was a delight.

Tried all three restaurants - food and service was superb. The pub/ lounge overlooking the sea (and nesting owls)was the meeting spot for pre dinner drinks- lovely venue. Some excellent cocktails were had!

We booked 4x Rooms - none directly sea facing but 3 still had balconies or a window from where the sea can be viewed side on. Rooms were big with and included en suites, with sufficient storage for luggage and clothing plus safes for valuables . It was tastefully decorated and very well serviced.

Hotel has Spa on site , which gave an excellent well priced service to all of us plus a pool area where light meals and refreshments can be ordered.

Overall we felt very pampered - excellent stay and cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I think the fact that you saw our resident Spotted Eagle Owls made your trip unforgettable.
Thank you for all of your positive comments and we cant wait to welcome you back to The Marine in the near future.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is an expensive hotel, for sure, but the location is stunning and the service & attention to detail are amazing. Unfortunately, we only had time in our schedule to stay one night. We were driving along the garden route and arrived late in the afternoon, freshened up, and had an amazing dinner in their 5-star restaurant. After we had dinner, my sister and I were looking in the window of their gift shop, which was closed. We were admiring the lovely Zulu beadwork jewelry and inquired what time it opened the next day, as we were leaving early. We found out it would not open before we planned to leave. Upon hearing this, the lady at the front desk informed us that she would find someone who could open the shop for us that evening. Our husbands probably weren't as happy as we were about this offer, but my sister and I were thrilled and now each have a lovely souvenir from our stay there.

Room Tip: I doubt this hotel have any rooms which aren't excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are delighted that you managed to squeeze us in to your itinirary and I do hope that you will stay for longer on your return. Thank you for your positive comments and for supporting our boutique.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Wow, what an amazing place. Beautiful setting, fantastic staff. We ate in both restaurants, food and service outstanding. We contacted the hotel before leaving home to book a trip and everything was taken care of for us. Once there we asked the travel desk about visiting the penguins and they arranged this plus wine tasting and a fantastic driver for three days who showed us around the local area, nothing was to much trouble. Only down side was our room, needed updating. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and I am delighted that we were able to help plan your excursions around our beautiful area.
My apologies however that you did not find your room to your liking. When you return, we will be sure to match the room to your specific needs for an enhanced stay.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

What a hotel we were in room 102 the best room ,overlooking the sea very comfy great bed to lose oneself in , great bathroom , nice comfy armchairs and a bottle of wine to greet us. All the staff greeted us by our surname and were extremely polite. Fish restaurant a must. Very busy with guests and locals. Great food. Bar area fab and comfortable with great views to the sea. Very relaxing place. My wife went to the spa and thought it was great. Pool area clean within the gardens but lacked a bit of atmosphere, as no views. Reception couldn't have been nicer. A life experience never to forget . A very short walk to loads of great views and pubs restaurants .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Room #102 is indeed a lovely spacious room with everything one might need.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future for some more well deserved R&R.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Old world charm and sophistication Good food. Excellent service. Good spa. Pool at back of hotel. Pool area unpleasant and un inviting. Loungers old and service at pool not great. Not facing the sea. Perhaps another pool should be built in the front of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have put in place an exciting overall refurbishment of our swimming pool area and I hope that you can return one day to enjoy it.
Unfortunately we may not build a swimming pool in front of our hotel but we do have access to a magnificent tidal pool in the ocean just below The Marine.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The staff were great throughout, so that wasn't my problem. The room was a good size however the whole hotel is tired. I did not feel the quality of the bathrooms was up to scratch. I expect an old 90's bathroom like this in a 3*, not here.
We were here in December so there were no whales however I imagine its a super location when it's whale season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments and I must apologise that you felt us tired and outdated. We revel in the fact that we have magnificent rooms with amazing views and gracious staff to look after your every need.
We will be doing some exciting refurbishments this year including our bathrooms and I hope that when you return one day, your view will change.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere’s most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 42 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa’s most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone’s throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property – from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hermanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.