We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel on the cliff walk in Hermanus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hermanus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hermanus to your Saves list
The Marine Hermanus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel on the cliff walk in Hermanus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was here with my wife for three nights in January 2013. We loved this hotel, and would return to it. The location is superb, and during the whale-watching season it must be incomparable. Our room was very generous and well-equipped. Dinner was excellent. We really enjoyed the cliff-top walks and the dassies playing in the rocks. We felt the standard of service, which was overall very good, slipped a little at breakfast-time, and we would have been pleased if management were a little more visible. We shared these concerns with management, and received a very positive response.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
When the Southern Right Whales come into Walker Bay, it is indeed an incomparable sight.
Thank you for your positive comments and we apologise for your poor experience in our breakfast room... a matter that has been dealt with.
We look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    63
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
233
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in January 2013, just after new year. People, this is an excellent hotel, small, well run, welcoming, obliging staff, personal service and absolutely fantastic breakfast! The best I had in South Africa. We stayed in a spacious and sunny room overlooking the swimming pool. We originally wanted to stay in a sea view room but decided not to as they don't get as much sun as the rooms on the other side. We were more than happy with the room we had and loved chilling out by the swimming pool. There is a lot to do in and around Hermanus, lovely cliff top walks, the whale museum, wine tasting nearby and the beaches around Walker Bay, the owners are full of suggestions if you need ideas on where to go. If you fancy a night in, the hotel has a good DVD library. We ate in the Seafood Restaurant and thought it was superb. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it is expensive but worth it, I certainly would come back.

Room Tip: If you like a sunny room, go for a swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay with us.
We aim at making all of our guest feel at home and I am delighted that you sampled everything on offer.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This spectacular local hotel is tucked away in this beautiful seaside town. The hospitality, service, food, rooms, overall ambiance and location was simply fabulous. We ate their restaurant twice because the textures and flavors of the food was amazing!! We had the marine seafood soup, tandoori spiced line-caught fish, bunny chow, grilled wwalker bay sole and of course the dark chocolate fondant - WOW!! Next time we go to Africa, hopefully 2014, we will definitely stay here again! LOVED IT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Marine has your hotel of choice in this wonderful area. Our Winter menu has just been launched and is doing very well and we can`t wait to welcome you back to see what might be new on our menus next year.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

After driving all day from Sanbona Game Reserve, we suffered a flat tire about a block from the hotel. Bummer . . . and it was my husband's birthday, too!! A few local young men were kind enough to put on the spare in a parking lot, but when we casually mentioned it to Hamish, the manager, he immediately told us not to worry that he would make sure the everything would be good as new. He arranged for a new tire to be installed, the spare to be replaced, and the tires balanced and rotated. Wow, what service!! Vanessa and the other ladies at the front desk could not have been friendlier and more professional. Every question answered with a smile. The room was lovely with an ocean front view. Comfy bed, large bathroom. We did not eat in the restaurants, but other guests told us the food was excellent. The location of The Marine is the best -walk to everything and the Walk Path was right there- great walking with fabulous views! Hermanus is coastal beauty and so fun - want to retire there! Wish we could have stayed a day or two longer, but we left for Franschhoek after 2 nights - another wonderful experience!

Room Tip: As for an upgrade if occupancy is low
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Marine.
We loved hosting you and truly look forward to welcoming you back to our slice of paradise soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent two nights over Easter at the Marine, We were looking forward to the Hotel , as we have been to The CELLARS AND LOVED IT.
We ate in both restaurants, THE SEAFOOD, and THE PAVILION, the food was very good in both ,but the portion of DUCK breast that I had as a main(in the Pavilion) was the size of a starter portion, at these prices this is NOT VALUE.
The service in the BAR on the SATURDAY night was not of the standard one would expect .
While we had a wonderful view from our sea facing room 225, with the wind blowing the window was rattling all night and kept us awake.
We used the Spa, service was good, ,but its needs a revamp!!!!
THE GRAND OLD DAME need some love and care!!!!!

Room Tip: If the wind is blowwing check that the windows do not RATTLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments about your stay over the Easter Weekend. It is vital that we receive information like this so that we can continue to improve in everything that we do.
I do hope that you visit us again soon where you will be ensured of a much improved stay.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during our honeymoon trip of South Africa. We upgraded on arrival to a waterfront room - amazing views. Had breakfast on our balcony. Received a complimentray bottle of Champagne for our honeymoon which was very kind Had the 6 course Valentines menu in the restaurant that was out of this world! Public areas are beautifully decorated. Dined at the seafood restaurant one night and had amazing mussels. Only niggle here are the crickets, just keep windows and plugs closed at night!! They are harmless right enough. Staff were wonderful - booked our shark dive, arranged early packed breakfast, gave us car advice .. lovely friendly people. Has an intimate pool area ... says it is heated but I dont believe them... brrrr! Lovely place to visit and lovely hotel to relax in ... if its good enough for Brad Pitt its good enough for me!

Room Tip: Definitely get a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Apologies for the noisy crickets... Hermanus had a slight population explosion this year due to high rain fall and high temperatures. You`ll be glad to know that they have all settled down now to normal proportions.
I am terrible sorry about the "chilly dip" you had in our swimming pool. We utilise solar energy and heating mats to raise the temperature of our pool which generally puts it at about 22°C and 26°C.
All in all though I know you enjoyed yoyr stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Marine hotel in Hermanus offers the most superb guest experience! The staff excell in all departments and the position of the hotel on the edge of the walkway with only the sea in front must be one of the mos exquisite sites in the world.
My husband and I ate at the Seafood restaurant where the food was subline and the staff extremely knowledgeable. Breakfast in the beautiful Pavilion restaurant is outstanding - decor rates top marks.... Hamish, the general manager, is running a tight ship on the edge of the ocean and we do hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive and encouraging comments.
We indeed position ourselves as a destination of relaxation but, most importantly, we all enjoy what we do immensley.
We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere’s most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 42 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa’s most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone’s throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property – from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hermanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.