We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arabella Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Arabella Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R44 Kleinmond, Hermanus 7195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“My Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I spent my christmas and New Years at Arabella and i absolutely loved it! Im a young traveller and there was just so much to do that i was never bored! Everyone working at Arabella was friendly, efficient, and genuinely wholesome. The food was absolutely to die for, and the new years party rocked!! After my hectic exams sleeping in an incredibly comfortable bed was just what i needed. One of my highlights was to experience the wide array of spa treatments and awesome yoga classes. I can strongly recommend the Rassul room and the Rain Forrest treatment! Arabella is a fantastic place to visit, worth every cent!!

Room Tip: preferably facing the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear leny d,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
It's really good to hear from the younger generation too!
Good luck with the academic year ahead.
Regards,
Leon Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    114
    33
    18
    21
See reviews for
58
148
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing four day break at the Arabella with the family. Got an excellent rate via the Protea website and was even upgraded to a better suite on arrival!

I have to say the hotel staff where very friendly and helpful at every opportunity. I requested thin pillows at 22h00 one night and they managed to find someone to go to the housekeeping store and fetch them for me. Now thats service. Also the staff around the pool where great. One rainy day, the lifesaver helped me put up an umbrella. It wasnt his job but saw I needed help and so helped me.

Didnt make use of the Spa, but the pool area is great with two different pools.

The breakfasts where excellent, equivalent to anything i have had overseas. They even had pancakes, waffles and flapjacks as you want them....and they have nutella.

Ran each morning around the golf estate estate which was good with the scenic surroundings. Just make sure you do it either early morning or in the evening (to avoid the golfballs!)

Safe didnt work when we arrived, but this was sorted out quickly by maintenance.

My only other complaint where the bedtime chocolates which could make you lose a tooth (rock hard).

Otherwise, I have to praise Protea for keeping up the standards. Our room was well cleaned each day and in general, the hotel looks well maintained. When we left, check-out was speedy and the porter even fetched our car from the parking lot and packed it for our journey home.

I think the Arabella is a great hotel for Capetonians like us that want a resort holiday but dont want the airfare to Mauritius or the schlep to Plet. It is also great for families.

We will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear NATO-SA,
Thank you for your comments of Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that all of our STAFF went above and beyond to meet and exceed your expectations.
Regards,
Leon Meyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife surprised me with a weekend away for our 10th anniversary. It was a pleasant 1.5 hour drive from Cape Town to the hotel. The way is well signed and it was easy to find the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready yet but the receptionist advised that the wait will be worth it. And she was not kidding. We where upgraded from our room to a suite. It was absolutely wonderful. The suite consisted off one small kitchenette, a 10 seat dining room/ TV lounge with a small office, bedroom with walk in cupboard and a bathroom with sauna, jacuzzi and large shower. In addition all rooms had access to a long balcony which through large sliding doors. The view was wonderful. As a surprise we received a bottle of champagne in our room for our anniversary. Additionally we also received a glass of champagne with our dinner in the restaurant. The chef of the restaurant was very accommodating and prepared a special hot sauce when we asked to have the lamm curry spiced up a bit. The next day we had a full day of spa treatments. i can highly recommend the spa. Very professional and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments and we are delighted that you had a superb and memorable visit at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights here at the end of a three week tour of the Western Cape. Everything was wonderful from the gorgeous room with amazing views and huge balcony, the quietness, spa (both the complimentary facilities & the treatments). All the staff without exception were smiling, helpful, polite and friendly. The pool area was outstanding with chilled jugs of water made available. My husband loved the golf course. The restaurant was a little outdated and bright lighting in the evening but the food was wonderful. We loved it so much and are fortunate to be returning to South Africa (from the UK) next month so we have booked a further two nights at Arabella!! Can't wait to return.....

Room Tip: Corner suite we had with amazing balcony and view of golf course/lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back, if there is anything specific you would like us to get ready for your pre-arrival please contact my Executive Assistant Helga Horn on Helga.Horn@arabellahotelandspa.com – travel safely. Regards, Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our stay at Arabella was very relaxing.We had two rooms,waited for an hour for the one room which wasn't a problem.The staff were pleasant.Had a problem with the safe which was sorted quickly.The pool was great.The spa is great.Breakfast was lovely!asked for fresh orange juice and we got it.Was great to see Jacko! Will definitely stay at the Arabella again.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter as the views from both sides are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing it with us on Tripadvisor. Jaco our Food and Beverage Manager is very special and looks after our GUESTS extremely well. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Th Arabella Hotel is a splendid resort;the golf course and the swimming pool are magnificient ;the room with ocean view is spectacular but at night from our room you could hear the noises of the frogs in the pond !The breakfast is very good and very varied;the food in the buffet restaurant is not very tasty;

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the GREAT comments on the Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Lovely Rooms. Sorry about the frogs, but being in the Kogelberg Biosphere we do have quite an array of amazing wild life which we share our space with. I will also share your comments with our Executive Chef who will address your concerns on the food. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Regards Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a very relaxing couple of days, arriving from Cape town. The golf course is pretty challenging because of the wind, but very nice and well kept. The hotel has everything within easy reach: the one elevator shaft goes to golf club, spa (very nice!), pool, rooms, reception, dining room...no long shifts by golf carts and the like as in some other 'service' places. As it is a resort, it would be nice to have two courses to play, so it would make sense to stay longer! - Dining was very good, and breakfast was exceptionally varied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Cindyline,
Thank you for your comments.
We are glad to hear that you had such a good time with us that you wanted to stay longer.
We hope to see you again soon at the Arabella Hotel and Spa.
Regards,
Leon Meyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Hotel and Spa

Address: R44 Kleinmond, Hermanus 7195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Family Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arabella Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arabella Hotel & Spa is situated just over an hour's drive from Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel delivers grandeur in design and style that pays homage to the rare beauty that surrounds it. Luminous colours, soaring wooden beam ceilings and unique designs welcome you while attentive and gracious service enhances the experience of complete comfort and warmth. As you are surrounded by the majestic Kogelberg Mountains and bordered by the vast Bot River Lagoon, indulge in a sensory experience that will leave you with treasured memories. Savour the beautiful aromas of fresh salty sea air and fynbos; distinctive sounds of exotic birdlife and enriching sights of emblematic green mountains and sparkling waters that meet an indigo sky. The Arabella Golf Course stretches through Rolling fairways, deceptive bunkers and challenging water traps await you in this golfer’s paradise. You may get distracted by the Bot River Lagoon and indigenous wild flowers, so concentration is a necessity. Your stay would not be complete without a visit to the Arabella Spa. This glorious retreat captures the essence of luxury, privacy and rejuvenation that is at the heart of your stay. Beyond this blissful escape, the destination offers a number of activities to guide you on your path towards complete relaxation. Explore the Overberg with its magnificent charms and treasures that await you. Be enriched by exciting quad bike rides, kayaking expeditions at sea and lazy horseback rides while golden shores and serene Botanical Gardens will leave you in awe of its unspoilt beauty. A valley of vineyards and wine and historic museums invite you to absorb the town's legacy; magnificent hiking and mountain biking trails and captivating boat rides with the ocean's big 5 will leave you inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Arabella Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Hotel Hermanus
Arabella Western Cape Hotel
Arabella Western Cape Hermanus
Western Cape Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.