We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food needs immediate improvement and so does cleaning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arabella Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Arabella Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R44 Kleinmond, Hermanus 7195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food needs immediate improvement and so does cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

The staff are great. We had excellent service at the reception. The negatives is that the beds get turned out very late. On our first night the service came in at 10pm. The verandah does not get cleaned. There were spider webs and dust on the chairs and table. The food for both breakfast and dinner needs much improvement. The quality of room service food also must be improved. The spa was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments - both positive and less so - as we learn by all feedback. I am sorry to learn that you were not pleased by the food offerings but can reassure you that we are revamping our menus. I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper about the turndown times, and your comment about the balcony. Thank you for your kind comments abour out Spa and our employees! Lovely to hear.

kind regards
Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    114
    33
    18
    21
See reviews for
58
148
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Whether you are a golfer or not, my stay at the Arabella Hotel and Golf Resort in February 2012 can only be described as pure escapism, a "sanctuary in the sun" is how I would describe this wonderful resort. My thanks goes to all the staff at the hotel and golf club for making my stay (which was far too short) a most memorable one. Check it out because I'll certainly be back at some point in the future! Can't wait actually

Christy
Ireland

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have wonderful views of the mountains in the distance. I did not see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

It's only an hour's drive from Cape Town and offers the finest service and accommodation. The rooms either overlook the spectacular rock pools with neatly manicured lawns or the magical lagoon with all of its birdlife. The golf course is superior, so too is the spa. It's well worth investing a weekend of your life in this sanctuary - you'll no doubt be back for more!

Room Tip: It's worth spending a bit extra to stay in one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Opulent and refined! We love that! Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I spent 5 nights at the hotel in December. It was everything that I expected. The service was first rate, the rooms comfortable and everyone seemed very keen to make sure that the experience was five star. Golf, spa and gym were splendid. Worth a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back!

Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Whilst touring we called into the Arabella and stayed for a night. Golf shop staff couldn't have been more helpful or nicer. Dinner and breakfast fantastic. However on arrival I enquired about rates and was told I would have to look up the internet. The cost of using my own laptop or the Business centre was R100. I purchased the voucher. However I discovered there are two desks - one on the left which is reception and the one directly in front of the door is Activities (which I had approached). I would have expected the Activities desk to direct me to the correct desk for checking in and not force me to purchase a voucher for information which was available 4ft away!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had a wonderful three days at the Arabella. It has all the facilities you would expect from a five star hotel, Spa, excellent food, wonderful views and prime location. We have two under 3's and the Arabella is extremely child friendly with every member of staff we came across being as helpful as possible. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will return the next time we visit South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good food, loved it! Would love to go back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon_Meyer_AHS, General Manager at Arabella Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
What great news! We are delighted to learn of this!

Kind regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Hotel and Spa

Address: R44 Kleinmond, Hermanus 7195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arabella Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arabella Hotel & Spa is situated just over an hour's drive from Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel delivers grandeur in design and style that pays homage to the rare beauty that surrounds it. Luminous colours, soaring wooden beam ceilings and unique designs welcome you while attentive and gracious service enhances the experience of complete comfort and warmth. As you are surrounded by the majestic Kogelberg Mountains and bordered by the vast Bot River Lagoon, indulge in a sensory experience that will leave you with treasured memories. Savour the beautiful aromas of fresh salty sea air and fynbos; distinctive sounds of exotic birdlife and enriching sights of emblematic green mountains and sparkling waters that meet an indigo sky. The Arabella Golf Course stretches through Rolling fairways, deceptive bunkers and challenging water traps await you in this golfer’s paradise. You may get distracted by the Bot River Lagoon and indigenous wild flowers, so concentration is a necessity. Your stay would not be complete without a visit to the Arabella Spa. This glorious retreat captures the essence of luxury, privacy and rejuvenation that is at the heart of your stay. Beyond this blissful escape, the destination offers a number of activities to guide you on your path towards complete relaxation. Explore the Overberg with its magnificent charms and treasures that await you. Be enriched by exciting quad bike rides, kayaking expeditions at sea and lazy horseback rides while golden shores and serene Botanical Gardens will leave you in awe of its unspoilt beauty. A valley of vineyards and wine and historic museums invite you to absorb the town's legacy; magnificent hiking and mountain biking trails and captivating boat rides with the ocean's big 5 will leave you inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Arabella Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Hotel Hermanus
Arabella Western Cape Hotel
Arabella Western Cape Hermanus
Western Cape Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.