We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daylight robbery with a dash of rudeness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lizette's Kitchen

Lizette's Kitchen
20 8th Street | Voeklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
028 314 0308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 82 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: African, Asian fusion, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lizette's Kitchen is a low key Lounge / bar where diners also have the option of either al fresco or inside dining. Menu items vary and focus on offering patrons a taste of the East, ranging between Vietnam, Malaysia and Thai dishes as well as offering local favourites. Situated in the heart of Walker Bay, the surrounding fertile Overberg area provides most of the freshest produce, with support given to projects such as Camphill Village for herbs and vegetables. Surrounding wine estates also feature on the menu for a 'full bodied' compliment of choices.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Daylight robbery with a dash of rudeness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

AVOID THIS PLACE

Stopped off for lunch with family. Had wanted to try since it opened.

Daughter and I paid R69 each for a pastrami Sarmie on French bread. Sandwich was 5in long with some ingredients missing. Had I appreciated the price I would've returned it.

Asked for manager. Bloke came past. Asked him if he was manager. "Sort of". "Can I see manager, please ?" "I'm the owner" ..... Wasn't that interested, as we had eaten the evidence.

All in all, very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIzettes-KItchen, Owner at Lizette's Kitchen, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
There's not much I can say about this review apart from all our bread rolls come as a standard 9 inch. Unfortunately if 9 inch is not big enough then maybe you need to go to Subway for the full 12 inch foot long sub. I'm sorry you feel like we robbed you. As for the missing cheese and pastrami unfortunately we couldn't verify this as you had already devoured the said offending Sandwich.
On the flip side you have been the only customer to complain about price which suggests you may be better off dining at Spur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    51
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Asian fused with traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had dinner at Lizette's Kitchen for four. The service was gooad and attentive with a personal touch from Lizette herself. She encourages sharing and meals, especially the entrees are such that one could share. The dimsum was very good. Although the menu is not very large the spread was quite exceptional with about an even split between asian dishes and more traditional Western dishes. Everything was cooked perfectly and well presented.
The setting is excellent for late afternoon sundowners with a large veranda area. The menu sports a fair variety of cocktails and local beers and wine. The menu is all round very good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Popped in to Lizette's as it was close to our guest house. What a lovely surprise. Great decor, lots of hidden nooks and crannies, and good music. We were greeted by Lizette who was really welcoming and passionate about her restaurant and her food. All of the staff were really helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. Good Asian food - ideal for sharing. Recommend the dim sum. There are simpler options if you don't like spicy food. Good wine list at reasonable prices and some nice bottled beers too. Lizette's is only a year old so less well known than some of the restaurants in Hermanus but well worth a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stopped by here on the way to the airport. I am so disappointed that I only found this place as my holiday ended. The food was fantastic and the service was even better. I would recommend this Lizette's Kitchen to anyone that might be in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere...but not quite Vietnam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to Lizette's whilst on holiday in Hermanus, warm welcome and good explanation by Lizette herself of the menu. We enjoyed our meal and it was good value for money. The lamb was delicious as were the dim sum...but we were slightly disappointed in the Viet dishes, they seemed rather westernised. We certainly didn't leave hungry, the portions are generous!
The waiting staff were very attentive, excellent service.
A good choice for a pleasant evening in Hermanus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizette's Kitchen also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Lizette's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizette's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.