We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night, great food, awesome entertainment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Food & Wine Bar

Tapas Food & Wine Bar
Market Square,above old harbour | Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 312 4840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 77 Restaurants in Hermanus
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Mediterranean, Seafood, Steakhouse, Tapas, Vegetarian, Café, Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Breakfast/coffee shop by day, excellent spot to watch whales,laid back cafe, extensive wine list, delicious tapas menu, fresh seafood,pasta,burgers & steak also available.Live music and vibey bar scene on Friday - Sunday nights. Free wifi, smoking and non smoking seating available. Fire place, 2 big screen TV's for all sporting events.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic night, great food, awesome entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ended up at Tapas last night quite by chance, what a fantastic vibe, the place was full, there was live music and the Kingclip on special was one of the nicest fish meals I've had in a long time - I will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    57
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Late Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We selected a number of tapas items which were all very tasty. Quantity of food on each selection was pretty good (more than what one gets in Spain) however pricing is a bit steep for this kind of meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good value slow service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I visited this restaurant in November 2012 having been "accosted" by waiting staff outside.

I found the food to be excellent value and my experience only tempered by the extremely poor speed of service from the kitchen. When a waiter says 5 minutes, after 10 minutes I start to get impatient. When food takes nearly an hour I expect it to be served for free.

Without competent service this would have been an excellent experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Food and service both good although the atmosphere was not there aswe visited out with the whale season

Owner was very chatty and informative which made the night, we were last to leave at 10pm which is strange for us Europeans

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice place, nice food, friendly team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

When arrived to Hermanus, I was walking around the market square looking for place to have lunch. I was" catched" by the waiter from Tapas. He was friendly (like 90% of waiters is SA). I didn't know what to choose. He proposed a salad (sorry name forgotten -the last on the menu for 71R) - was very good. Next day I had caesar salad, and apple and berries crumble- bravo!
The waiters are very quick, discreet, always in the right moment, smiling.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Food & Wine Bar also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Tapas Food & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Food & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.