We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Hermanus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annie se kombuis

Annie se kombuis
9 & 10 Warringtons Place, | Harbour Rd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
27 283131350
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 82 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Leicestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gem in Hermanus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by Hermanus Guest House ( FANTASTIC! by the way) We went along with no preconceived ideas about the place. The owner and staff were great ,surroundings cosy and inviting without being posh. The food was great and we will remember the home cooked tastes of quality products and knowledge of flavourings for many years to come. We had soup to start , traditional stews for mains (yum) and the largest dessert I have ever seen to finish, a meringue filled with fruits and ice ream and cream. 1 glass of wine 1 beer and the whole bill came to £20 for 3 courses for 2 people.

Have no doubt we will be back when we next get to Hermanus

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Real southafrican food and very nice hosting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

If you want to have a real southafrican food experience then you cannot miss it. The reception is great, people are extremely friendly and nice, they explain you the story of the restaurant and each single thing you find on the menu. Wine selection is ok.
I really recommend it if you are in hermanus.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our hotel had booked us a table at this restaurant. Unfortunately our experience on arrival was not good. The waiter sat us down and after some time returned for our order. I asked him to explain what the vegetarian dish was. On finding out that it was a dish made from pretend meat I explained that I could not eat this. There was no "I will see what the Chef can do", just an acceptance that we would not eat here. So we left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Locals' view is that this is anything BUT lekker......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On day trip from Cape Town, we decided to eat here as it had good reviews in the 'Eat Out' guide, locally published here in SA. I've had many doubts about this publication and our experience at this restaurant just confirmed them even more.

The lunch time menu read well enough, with standard South African and Afrikaans favourites. However, we didn't notice the 'specials' board until it was almost too late, and the waitress never even mentioned it to us. I opted for a non typical SA starter of pear and gorgonzola salad with pine nuts, and it was awful. How can you possibly get salad wrong? Sour leaves which were not fresh and crisp, scorched pine nuts and tasteless pear. The whole thing was just wrong, wrong, wrong. The main course of mussels was fine, but absolutely nothing special and not half as exciting as the write up in the menu.

The worst was to come with the melk tert - a particular favourite of ours and we know how it should be done here in SA. Annie's melk tert was beyond recognition to anyone who knows and loves these - it was rubberised and then nuked in the microwave. We gave the manager our feedback, and to give the man credit, he didn't charge us for the offending tert. He tried to persuade us that it wasn't microwaved, but eventually conceded when faced with the sad remnants of our tert.

Service was indifferent and ambiguous - aren't we locals as welcome here because we can probably judge the menu more realistically than our overseas friends? We found the whole experience a let down, and know that there are many other and better places to eat in Hermanus and experience 'local lekker food'. Beware too of the recommendations in the 'Eat Out' guide - we have had more disappointments with this publication than any other food guide, anywhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Refurbed restaurant with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a superb meal here, in a really pleasant environment. The staff were friendly and able to talk through the menu confidently and offered us lots of suggestions on what to choose from the local dishes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie se kombuis also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Annie se kombuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie se kombuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.