We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anchor's Rest to your Saves list
Anchor's Rest
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   90 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
St. Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Guy and Hilary (the owners) were extremely welcoming and helpful. 'Seagulls' the loft room that we stayed in was lovely. The room was spacious, clean and very well decorated. You get great value for money staying at Anchors Rest and if we are ever in Hermanus again we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We do value guests’ reviews and it is so rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Anchor’s Rest . Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Anchors Rest was lovely. We were greeted on entry by Guy who kindly showed us to our room (the honeymoon loft, can't remember the name). For the price, the room couldn't be faulted. The access to the pool was great, meant we could cool down during the day. My only concern was the water in the shower (seemed to be salt water) but that wasn't a huge issue.

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon loft - worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review of Anchor's Rest - we do appreciate receiving feedback. The salt water shower is a bit of a puzzle as all the water in the unit comes from 1 water cylinder but we checked it out just in case - happily there was no salt (only the salt water swimming pool!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a great find. We were greated so warmly by Guy, before he showed us to Pebbles. Superb accomodation and lovely pool and surrounding garden area.
The coutyard garden attached to our apartment was delighful and we made use of the braai each night.
Proximity to the coastal pathway is excellent, enabling us to walk into Hermanus for some lovely lunchtimes snacks (actually every meal we ordred in SA was big - so we're going home a good few pounds heavier!)
No whales :-( but the whale season was long since gone so no surprises there! Hermanus was lovely and the Anchor's Rest outstanding. Thank you Guy and Hilary

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves as much as you did. Hopefully you will visit us again sometime and maybe even get to see the whales - an awsome experience indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Driftwood which was so lovely. Very private apartment with great space inside & out. Enjoyed relaxing round the pool at the end of a hot day.

Beaches & the whole area is stunning. The centre which is a few mins drive has everything you need, supermarkets, shops, restaurants & good coastal walks.

Would definitely stay again if we are fortunate to be in SA again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves, not only at our guest house, but also South Africa and our special little town,Hermanus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you holiday in peak season but don't like the crowds, then this is for you. Close to the restaurants and shops but escape back to your private suite and enjoy the tranquility. Awake to the sounds of birds and enjoy leaving your door open onto the garden. Very clean and staff were unobtrusive but efficient. Walk across the road and you are on the cliff path either towards town or the new harbour. Hermanus has everything to offer. Also take an afternoon to go to the beach at Onrus Rivier. A morning in Stanford is also a good bet - try book a river cruise on the Klein River if you like birding. Or a picnic at Klein River Cheese.

Room Tip: Details all on the website - were accurate. The combined Driftwood and Pebbles (interleading) worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to submit a review of Anchor’s Rest. It is always encouraging to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves, both at our establishment and at various attractions in the area. What matters most to us is that guests return home happy and satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Anchor's Rest offers very nice and clean studios close to the seaside. Quiet neighborhood, 5 minutes drive from the citycenter. Very helpful host. Hermanus is only attractive in the whale season; without whales it's just a tourist-town with not so much to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but feel it is such a pity that you did not discover some of the many diverse and unique attractions Hermanus and environs have to offer. Thank you for drawing our attention to this. We really hope you that you do visit Hermanus again and have a wonderful time, even if it is not the whale season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Brilliant place, fantastic location with great hosts, always spotlessly clean, friendly and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Have stayed three times before this visit and hope stay there for many trips to come. Thank you Guy and Hilary

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 90 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest, 150m from cliff paths and whales in season. Harbour and restaurants 10 minutes walk. 4 garden suites have own entrance, patio and barbecue. Under counter fridge, tea and coffee facilities, overhead fans, microwave, hotplates, wall heaters, hairdryers, TV, DSTV Premium and DVD machine in each unit. Pool and garden area are available for guests. Optional substantial Continental Breakfast, served on your patio or in your suite. Safe off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor's Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.