We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creation Wines

Creation Wines
Hemel en Aarde Road, R320 | R320, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27282121107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Winery
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The whole experience was excellent. The Wines are top notch and the food pairing with the wine was spot on!! My son of 10 did a tea tasting with the food and thoroughly enjoyed it! The staff was friendly and professional. We will be back!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Oh, it makes us so happy to hear that families enjoy the different pairings we offer. We hope you will be back for another visit soon.

Kind Regards
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    55
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 252 cities Reviews in 252 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Worth the bumpy ride there !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited about 50 wineries in the Cape region over 3 weeks and Creation I think served the best wine / food pairing, and for those exchanging £s or €s it's unbelievable value at the moment - the tasting menu with 8 wines for ZA 125 is give-away. That pineapple-basil-tomato with sauvignon blanc was Inspired. But Creation is more about good value - the whole setting and the quality of their wines - especially their reserve pinot noir - transcends any debate about cost as it is simply a must-visit if you are doing winery visits in the area. I anticipate the unmade road deters some of the less discerning casual visitors, but (sadly) the road is slowly being tarmaced...... Yes, I think here, Warwick (Stellenbosch) and Fairview (Paarl) were the best food-and-wine together visits we encountered.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for the great review Peter. Wow, 50 wineries, what a fantastic holiday you must've had! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Creation and that the yet unfinished road did not deter you. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Wishes
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food and wine pairing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

What a lovely experience! Friendly servers who were open to questions and conversation. Great wines paired well. Beautiful venue.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for visiting us Alula and for the kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed our company and our wines. We hope to welcome you back to Creation again very soon!

Best Wishes
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

As a group of Avant Tweeters we were invited to a wine and food pairing at Creation Wines. Carolyn was wonderful, sharing her incredible knowledge and passion for wines with us. The eats which were beautifully present were perfectly paired with their world class wines. The Sauvignon Blanc being one of my absolute favourites. Creations is most definitely a must visit when coming to Hermanus. Not only for the lovers of good wines but also for the breath taking views of the vineyards and the delectable food. Thanks to all for an amazing afternoon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Charlise,

The Taste&tweet experience was lovely. It was great to see all the faces behind the screen names and we are glad you all had a memorable experience. We hope to do another Taste& Tweet very soon!

Kind Regards
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“WOW PERFECT 5 STAR EXPERIENCE ALL THE WAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Don't miss the opportunity to visit this amazing establishment - stunning views - fabulous food and wine pairing - friendly knowledgeable staff and hands on owners! The vibe in the modern tasting room / restaurant is great and welcoming Loved the fact is that the wine is served in Riedel glasses - so stylish! Stock up on the amazing wines on offer - great Pinot noir. Definitely our favorite wine estate - we felt spoiled and satisfied. Well done guys.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words and great review! We are pleased that you enjoyed you experience with us and we truly hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creation Wines also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Creation Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creation Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.