We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute MUST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creation Wines

Creation Wines
Hemel en Aarde Road, R320 | R320, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27282121107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Winery
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An absolute MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Literally stumbled upon Creation, and WHAT a find! They were incredibly busy, but seated us in their cellar. The owner, Caroline, took amazing care of our group. This was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa. Be sure to meet the owner, she is a pleasure to talk with. The wines were superb. Even learned that President Obama was served Creation wine after his first state visit last early 2013. You will not regret visiting this gem of a winery.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are so happy that you "stumbled" upon us and that we could make your visit to us a memorable one!

We hope you will be back for another visit when back in SA again!

Best Wishes
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    55
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good food, great wine, stunning setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We go to Creation almost every time we are in Hermanus. The food is very good, service is excellent & their wines are amazing. The setting is absolutely stunning & its a great place for the kids to run around. The wine & food pairing is a must!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for the visit and the kind words Natalie! See you again soon!

Best Wishes
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wine tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent a lovely morning wine & chocolate tasting. The staff were very informative and friendly and not in any way stuffy or pompous about the wine.The views over the surrounding country site were wonderful and made for a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are so glad that we could make your experience with us a memorable one! We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent service and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited Creation Wines with a number of friends on a very busy day. The extra tourists were excellently handled by the professional staff and we received very good service. The wine tasting is free and Creation's wines, very good. My wife and I shared an anti pasti platter which was of good quality, but expensive. Once again, hats off to a very professional team who created an excellent experience for our group!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting and for the lovely words! We hope to see you back here again soon!

Best Wishes
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favourite wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had wonderful canapés and excellent wine tasting explained by welcolming engaging staff. Lovely views to enjoy a great experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Happy you enjoyed your visit with us!

See you again soon.
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creation Wines also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Creation Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creation Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.