We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class, style, bliss and like a home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bamboo Guest House to your Saves list
Bamboo Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   303 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7120, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Class, style, bliss and like a home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Staying at the Bamboo guest house was a five star delight both in terms of the facilities as well as being hosted by Sue and Jimmy. It was an absolutely memorable experience on every count. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels around the world, but when coming to the Western Cape I prefer guest houses by far over hotels. They make a very big difference to feeling extremely comfortable and homy. If you are a seasoned 5-star traveler this place is just a delight. If you are not and aspire to it, please first expose yourself to the empty bling of 5 and 6-star hotels and then you will appreciate the 5 stars this place deserves.

Bamboo stands right up there with other five star experiences I have had over the years. The guest house and its rooms are immaculately clean, very roomy, open, light and airy. The bathrooms many a top hotel could take a page from. You enjoy staying in the room for its own sake at times. The furniture is hand crafted of bamboo to the owners' specs and gives the rooms that certain character that makes the room feel like quality as opposed to cheap. Jim and Sue do their daily detailed walk around and you can be sure that the slightest thing amiss in a room they will catch and fix. The communal area has the wonderful feeling of a very large family living room and opens up the whole front into a very nice garden, a large sitting area in the garden and a very nice pool. The breakfast was outstanding both in terms of choice as well as quality. Watching Jimmy and Sue whip up omelettes, soft boiled eggs, scrambled eggs etc with a max waiting time less than any five star hotel for 5 tables at the same time amazed my girl friend and I every morning.

What certainly comes through as well and adds tremendously to the comfort factor and relaxation value is that Sue and Jimmy have run gastronomical businesses before and they understand to strike an incredible balance between letting you be, serving you and engaging you.

When I arrived I was a bit worried that the room we had faced the major road through town past the hedges and parking area/fore court outside (I am a stickler with regard to noise). It turned out to be an absolute non-issue. Traffic by nightfall is minimal at best and likewise into the later morning. The location overall was ideal to the centre of town. While not on the sea shore, we had a wonderful view of the sea. Given how wonderful Bamboo is it would take a lot for me to trade it for a sea front guest house (and I haven't found one I would trade it for as my girl friend and I scouted other places when we were there for the next time).

The Bamboo is one of the most outstanding value for money places I have stayed at over the years across 5 continents and many a top rated hotel. And that goes also in comparison to quite a number of guest houses I have stayed with in South Africa. My girl friend and I have fallen in love with the place and will certainly return many times. (or as often as I cam make it down from London!).

Room Tip: All rooms are essentially the same size and standard except the one facing the front, which is bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
119
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Absolutely fantastic. Jim and Sue wonderful hosts and very knowledgable of the area from recommending places to dine through to the sumptuous breakfast served in the morning. The rooms are very spacious and very well apointed with lovely balconys to sit back and relax on. I will be recommending the guest house to anyone that wants to treat themselves to an exceptional experiance in Hermanus. Thanks to Jim and Sue.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and mountains are very quiet and offer spectacular views in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent a weekend at the guest house and enjoyed every minute! Elizabeth made us feel welcome since the moment we arrived, attended to all our needs and she went out of her way to prepare a delicious breakfast every morning. Our room was very comfortable and super clean. The guest house is opposite the cliff paths where you can enjoy walks with a magnificent view of the ocean and the sea animals. We have been to many guest houses and hotels but this one is certainly a favourite especially at the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

No air conditioning!!!!!!!!!!! In that heat!!!!!!!!!!
Sea view room on a busy main road could not sit on the balcony in your dressing gown!
Sea view at a glance between the houses on the otherside of the road.
With all the fine dining in SA breakfast basic tiny breakfast room with the kitchen there as well.
Only 2 sun loungers for 10 guests.
Very expensive for what you get.
Car needed to get around good half hour walk into town, no taxis apart from one Tuk Tuk that needs to be booked

Room Tip: Don't have a sea view room b
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

we stayed 3 nights in February and really loved it here, everything was perfect thanks to Jimmy and Sue. Our room (1) had extremely large patio doors overlooking the ocean with a large comfy bed and the room designed beautifully as is the rest of the guesthouse. A lot of thought has gone into the renovation work and we really could not find fault with anything. Hermanus golf course is right outside the back gate and we were fortunate enough to get a couple of games at very reasonable rates. The first night we got a lift into town in a tuktuk and had a fabulous meal at Lemon Butta which Jimmy and Sue had recommended and arranged the booking for us. We wish we had stayed longer and will never forget our few nights at Bamboo guest house.

Room Tip: room 1 has ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bamboo Guest house for four days to complete a 15 day tour of Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Franshoek and Hermanus. Sue and Jim are excellent hosts and made us very welcome. They are very knowledgable regarding the area and gave us good advice on local restaurants. The cliff path is opposite the hotel which offers outstanding sea and cliff top views.

The guest house has been extended and refurbished to a very high standard. With impressive cream marble flooring and a bamboo theme running throughout the house and gardens. There is a very nice swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers.

There is ample secure off street parking at the premises.

The breakfast was very well presented and prepared, with a good choice to suit all dietary tastes.
Nothing is too much trouble for Jim and Sue and they made our stay even more enjoyable at the Bamboo Guest House. A very nice couple who demonstrate a great eye for detail.
I would definitely recommend this guest house and I would stay there again, if travelling in this part of South Africa again.

Room Tip: Didn't see a bad one. I think they all have private verandah with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is our first stop on a Garden Route holiday and we could not have picked a better start. The Bamboo has style, excellent service and a great couple who make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive,

The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean, comfortable and very well presented. To all concerned thanks for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: we used rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guest House

Address: 303 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7120, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bamboo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.