We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whale watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermanus Forest Adventures

Hermanus Forest Adventures
Hemel en Aarde road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
027(0)83 5173635
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hermanus Forest Adventure offers amazing and safe quad (ATV`s) trails. We also offer other activities such as a 2 hour zip line tour and White Water Rafting
melb
1 review
“whale watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

we liked everything about the 3 days we sepnt there - bed and breakfast, whale watching, shark cage diving

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lame tubing if water level is low”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went tubing. It was the most boring thing I did in SA. I think this was because of the very low water level. One had to paddle with the hands to the next "rapids" - because of the little flow of that streamlet. At the "rapids", one was frequently stuck between rocks or walk around. There wasn't any whitewater to speak of.

It was very different from what the company advertised on their webpage. Despite of this, the company offers tubing the whole year round.

I also thought that the guides lacked some rudimentary knowledge of that place. They did not know the altitude or name of the mountains. They could have at least explained a few things of the nature during the otherwise very dull distance.

This was a complete waste of time - 2.5 hours. Very disappointing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladventure101, Owner at Hermanus Forest Adventures, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
The river and weather is unfortunately unpredictable and we would rather have the levels at a safe height than at a height where guests fall out most of the trip and have injuries. We dont market the tubing as an extreme adventure it is infact a nice each scenic paddle fit for all ages.

We have a number of other activities such as the quads, ziplines, Sanboarding etc - more extreme than our tubing.

The tubing is in a world heritage site and our guides are infact very knowledgeable so I don’t think you did the tubing with our company. But if you want to be critical asking how high the mountains are when your surrounded by numerous mountains I would recommend you go and read up on it as the Kogelberg has a whole range of mountains and the heights are all different. We also only run the tubing trips in summer so i would recommend before you make comments on a company you should at least know what your taking about .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Southern right charters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very professional. Briefing very informative, and perfect time spent with the whales when we found them, great trip!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fun with my son”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we went on a Quadbike tour because the weather was bad and whalewatching was a no go. So we phoned and went to the valley. very friendly people and i must say they were very cooperative. My son was too young to drive himself but our guide (gush i cant remember his name) was so friendly to take my son on his bike at the front so he could have the feeling of driving the quad. driving through the winefields is awsome, very beautifull.

thanks again for a wonrderfull morning

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had the best time ever with hermanus Forrest adventures doing river rafting in Palmiet yesterday,

From arrival to departure the team was helpfull, friendly and made sure to give us the best experience in this two hour trip. All equipment and wet suites etc was provided , and even the pleasure of viewing photos taken by Clinton Lerm the owner himself on the trip , we were able to view them on Facebook this morning.

I will recommend this trip to anyone , from school groups, tourists visiting Caoe town and team building or pco's , I can wait to do this again !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermanus Forest Adventures also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Hermanus Forest Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermanus Forest Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.