We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation with a beautiful sea view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hermanus Esplanade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hermanus Esplanade
Save
You added Hermanus Esplanade to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   63 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Accommodation with a beautiful sea view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The accommodation was spacious and cosy, although the furniture was old, but clean. The view from the chalet was beautiful, opposite the ocean. Location was also very good, within walking distance of the all shops and Main Road, but not in the hustle and bustle thereof, therefore very oeaceful at at night.
each chalet had its own small private courtyard and there was a communal one as well. Both the communal area and private courtyard were enclosed with access control gates, which made us feel safe and secure.The option was there to use the communal braai area or the private one on the front patio, however that one was a bit small.

Room Tip: Room 3 has an excellent view from the lounge area and one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus E, Public Relations Manager at Hermanus Esplanade, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Desiree

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards from the Esplanade Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed one night in a room which carries four people. Strangely big with two floors (2 bedrooms, 1 livingroom, kitchen/hall, 2 bathrooms). I'm not sure if they actually cleaned the room before we arrived or just changed linen and put new soup in bathrooms because it felt very dirty everywhere. No service at all. Our room wasn't available until later when we arrived and there was no place in the reception were we could store our luggage in the meantime. We got no information about the room, parking etc. The receptionist acutally saw us carrying our big luggage in the wrong direction and didn't bother telling us the key only worked at the door in the other side of the building..

I didn't feel safe and could not get out of there fast enough in the morning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

• They do not warn their tenants adequately that there is a lot of petty theft in the area and do not ask you to rather close your window on the top floor due to many incidences of petty theft
• Their sliding windows are unable to lock adequately making it impossible to ensure the safety of your belongings. We have pictures as proof showing that there are absolutely no locks on windows
• Their security staff sit in the back games room asleep rather than patrolling the required area. The owner of the establishment has implied that I am a liar and that their staff members said they were not asleep when I found them at 7am in the morning
• I used a hand towel on the first day of my visit only to find that it was covered in hair from the previous users. So it wasn’t washed.

Terrible place.

Room Tip: Rather stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It really is such a shame that the location is so poorly utilised. The security IS shocking ( as already reviewed) and comprises special locking devices ( rusty nails) to lock the sliding doors and windows.
The shower is not funny - either scalding or freezing. The apartment is old musty and a fire hazard - lighting flex to power the TV socket!
Beware the management - they have dire warnings about consequences of not following the rules, pasted everywhere including the toilet, the front door, the back door, the gate, the bedroom wardrobe, the.....

BUT if you know this going in it's OK, because the bed in the front room ( Apt.No 1) is comfortable and the view is brilliant. Just keep all your valuables with you and grin and bear the rest. Come back here to sleep only!

Shame, this was our 3rd and last visit because the Esplanade is going to waste, having only deteriorated with each visit.

Room Tip: Go for apartments 1 - 4 if you can... it's the only reason to stay here because of the fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place needs a serious revamp and most importantly it needs to beef up it's security. While we were staying there, other guests were getting broken into. One man had his room broken into on a Saturday morning and his cell phone and camera were stolen while another lady had an intruder in her room while she was asleep at night! The intruder prised open the sliding door in the front and stole her bag but luckily didn't harm her. There are no burglar bars on many of the windows and a low wall which anyone can get over on the one side of the premises. It really isn't safe here and cleaning staff assured me there are often break ins. Be careful if you plan on staying here- Esplanade needs to get with the times.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Strangely big and old. Dirty. Two floors. Difficult to open the doors. Not very good service and no information. It did not feel safe. Beautiful view over the sea but I can not recommend it. This place need a whole new interior and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were booked into a dingy four-sleeper that seemed to be stuck in the dark ages... The furniture creeked, the place smelled and everything was delapidated if not broken. The shower was not functional and the two plate stove was broken. Still we tried to make the most of our stay but the last straw was when, on the second night, water from the plastic panel above my bed began to drip in my face from the ceiling. Staying with a six month old, I decided that we just could no longer stay at this terrible place. Even after we complained, nothing was done. The breakfast offered was pathetic as was the overall service of this place. What a major dissappointment! We immediately packed our things and checked out. I will never recommendthis place to anyone. I did not feel safe here and the gate to our chalet could not lock from the inside. Staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. The only upside was that it was located in the centre of town but I would rather stay further out of town then be miserable as were here. Graded as a one star place, I think they should be downgraded to having no stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermanus Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Esplanade

Address: 63 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermanus Esplanade 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxed, homely environment, breathtaking views and above all, value for money! The Greek Isle atmosphere and decor compliments the vacation ambience and the furnishings are definitely "kiddie-friendly". So you can sit back, slow down and enjoy the beautiful view! The complex has a total of 25 fully contained self-catering units - ranging from spacious duplex units to cosily tucked-away apartments for two, to a charming original little fisherman's cottage. All have their own courtyards and barbeque, except for the two 'backpackers' apartments. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermanus Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.