We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quarters Hermanus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quarters Hermanus to your Saves list
Quarters Hermanus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed at the Quarters Hotel in Hermanus for one night and it was the best we could have chosen! Nothing beats the location, it is right in the heart of Hermanus and you can reach everything by foot. They offer complimentary underground parking with easy access to the rooms. The room was spacious and absolutely spotless. The bathroom was very functional, comfortable bath, large shower and a separate toilet. The bathroom however does not have a door, thus maybe not ideal for 2 business partners sharing. But for a couple I would say it is fine. We were lucky to be able to go outside onto a fairly large balcony (only on the 1st floor in the standard rooms). All suites have a balcony, which is quite nice, as the views from the hotel are magnificent. This hotel would be ideal for families, as all suites can be connected with the adjoining double/twin room.
The swimming pool is small, but ok for a short stay and if you are not planning to spend hours there. It's got a stunning view of the bay and is surely warmer than the ocean.
The hotel does not offer breakfast on site, but you can have it included and enjoy a breakfast at a close by restaurant. In fact, there are so many restaurants & coffee shops close by to go for a nice breakfast!
It's been a really lovely stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel (and stay there again).

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    69
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
114
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Perfect location with excellent parking facility underneath the hotel. Staff were excellent and always going the extra mile, even after we got home, we left some items around the pool and they kept them and posted them home (thanks). At first it was a little more than we wanted to spend so we negotiated and agreed on a special rate as it was an on the spot walk in which is how we booked most of our stays here, it's a lot cheaper. The rooms were lovely and immaculate - didn't rate the restaurant attached - ok for breakfast. Would stay again but would have to be a good rate.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Beautifully appointed suite, high levels of cleanliness and a refreshingly genuine level of service and friendliness from each and every staff member we met.

As the hotel is situated right in the centre, it was ideal for us to explore the town at leisure.

Cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is a small boutique style hotel, the rooms are beautiful and very clean. One thing that makes this place outstanding is the staff. They are always friendly and so helpful! The only downfall is probably that it doesn't have it's own restaurant, but there is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel and anything can be arranged, room service and they bill it to your room number. The restaurant itself is beautiful and nice and vibey (not noisy!). It's right in the middle of the town centre and everything is within walking distance, whether it be restaurants (many many of them!), something to do in the evening and the old harbour! One thing not to be missed is the restaurant Bientangs Cave at the old harbour (stone throw away from the hotel), where you have you lunch and dinner on the rocks or inside the cave and probably the best seafood we have ever had!! This hotel is just superb!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel in well located in the centre of Hermanus, close to many restaurants. I visited in the peak whale watching season and was treated to a wonderful spectacle of whales. My room did not have a sea view though it was nicely furnished, modern and leading to a shared balcony. I was booked into a disabled friendly room (a first for me) which was very spacious. The bathroom was huge, and it seemed that there was enough space to get around if you had a wheelchair. As a coffee lover, I appreciated the Illy coffee with French press (decaf too) available in the rooms.

Conference facilities were good, with excellent breakfast, teas and lunches! A good venue for a small conference... intimate, organised, accessible, not to mention whale's frolicking over lunch.

Though I didn't stay in a suite, I visited a colleague in hers and was impressed. The only complaint that she had was that there was a lack of crockery and equipment in the kitchen of the suite. Wireless internet vouchers are available for purchase, but it would be nice if it were complimentary, especially considering that the cafe down the road offers free wifi. The service was very good and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Best spot for whale watching - good resturants around hotel.
highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This boutique hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Hermanus. We stayed in a suite which was extremely luxurious and had lovely sea views. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in Hermanus, give Quarters a try... I have no hesitation recommending it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quarters Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hermanus

Address: P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus is considered to offer the best land based whale watching on the African continent. Quarters Hermanus is located on the historic Hermanus Harbour. The suites are tastefully decorated in a modern style. The rooms feature splendid views of the mountain cliffs or the magnificent ocean below. The hotel offers many leisure facilities and modern room amenities. The hands on management team ensure efficient service delivery to all our guests needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Quarters Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hermanus Hotel Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarters Hermanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.