We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the right room in Hermanus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Right Room Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Right Room Bed & Breakfast
9 Westcliff Rd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 80 Hermanus B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Definitely the right room in Hermanus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We picked this B&B by luck from the listings at the Tourist Information Centre in Hermanus and we definitely did pick the right room! Excellent location with beautiful seaview of Walker Bay and direct access to the cliff top path which is a nice 10-15 minute walk to the restaurants in the main square. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and had nice added touches of a kettle, tea/coffee, biscuits, wine glasses and a fridge. Barbara the owner was very welcoming and informative about places to visit and things to do and the breakfast served was lovely - fruits, cereal, toast and cooked breakfast. And the best bit was the price - very reaonable for the standard of accommodation - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Right on the cliff path, with nothing but a little Mediterranean-blue gate and fynbos between you and a glorious view of Walker Bay. A delicious breakfast on this patio is something to return to again and again!

Room Tip: The front room has a stunning view of the bay through a huge window and door onto the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the beginning of May 2011. While it was not whale watching season and Hermanus was very quiet, we had a good time walking around and going shark cage diving. At the right room we were well looked after and the terrace facing the sea is very nice to have breakfast or just to have a bottle of wine in the evening. Price was very reasonable and there is also free locked parking. Recommended as a nice decent place with good service without spending too much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in one of the garden rooms. Lovely private room in unit adjoining the main house. Beautiful views of the coast from the patio. The owner, Barbara made us feel very welcome and comfortable, including serving a very tasty breakfast. Convenient location, short scenic walk along the coast path to town. Has to be the best value accommodation we stayed in on our garden route trip. Totally recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We had an enjoyable one night stay here in one of the cheaper rooms. It was quiet and comfortable and great value. The front, ocean facing room obviously had the lovely view but for a one night stay we literally just slept in the room. There's a great cliff top path leading into Hermanus, about 10-15 mins walk. During the evening we walked in and back via the road and felt perfectly safe. Barbara cooked up a lovely breakfast whilst we sat outside on the patio. Shame the whales weren't in the bay by the guest house as they apparently calve here sometimes. Fortunately we managed to see them in de kelders!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Too bad we were only there for one night. Extremely hospitable with great breakfast. Very comfortable room with private exterior entry. Facing the ocean, and just steps away from the cliff path, the location is perfect for whale-watching or walks along the cliff path. Hermanus shops and restaurants easily accessible - a short drive or simply walk along the cliff path. No doubt about it. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This charming small B&B was a highlight of our trip to South Africa. We had a beautiful room facing the ocean and enjoying waking up to waves crashing on the shore below. The hosts are delightful and prepared a great breakfast which we enjoyed while sharing stories with them. There is a coastal walkway that passes directly in front of the property and we enjoyed a great walk through the fynbos before our departure that was a couple of days too soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Right Room Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Right Room Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Westcliff Rd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Also Known As:
The Right Room Hotel Hermanus
The Right Room Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Right Room Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Right Room Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list