We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Function follows Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beluga House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 80 Hermanus B&B and Inns
England
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Function follows Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a wonderful 3 week road trip in the Western and Eastern Cape. It is run by a Scandinavian couple (who we did not meet) and is beautifully designed and decorated in great taste. Furniture and furnishings are excellent, as is the breakfast (though it starts very late at 8.45am). It is spotlessly clean. However there are flaws which no amount of style can compensate for. The primary one is a lack of space both in the size of the room and particularly storage. There is no air conditioning (though there is a fan) and as all rooms have one wall of glass facing the public areas, curtains have to be drawn most of the time. We enjoyed our stay but the lack of space would mean we wouldn't be happy for more than a couple of nights. Location is very good, a couple of minutes walk to the cliff path for whale watching in season and 10 minutes to town along safe streets. The free wifi is very good and fast. A stylish choice but not perfect.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool and some the side garden - take your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfect place to chill and relax. It's a guesthouse as opposed to B&B so the service is friendly but efficient and minimal. The rooms are beautifully and simply decorated with everything you need but th walls could definitely be thicker- you hear almost everything through the walls!! The breakfast is fresh and very good! The pool area is very nice and an added bonus is the honesty bar. Location is walking distance from town but I didn't feel that comfortable walking back to the guesthouse Once it was dark although we were told it was fine.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Just completed my second visit to Beluga House. Hopefully there will be many more visits in the future. Lotta and her staff are very welcoming and the service is second to none. The rooms are well appointed and anything extra you need is available at reception (hair dryers supplied on request). The rooms can get a little warm at night though high quality, quiet fans are provided.
The location is excellent both as a base for exploring the wider area or for a relaxing break staying in the local area.
The breakfast is delicious served outside each day by the pool.
A great, modern and relaxed property with lots of personal touches.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to Beluga House. This is the 21st consecutive year we have holidayed in the Western Cape. We have a large experience of guest accommodation and Beluga House is of the highest possible standard. The rooms are spotless, the staff are charming, helpful, friendly and professional. Lotta is very considered as to the comfort and convenience of her guests. The breakfast is lovely and so is the pool and the outside area. We will definitely be back to stay again and I couldn't recommend Beluga House highly enough.

Room Tip: The side rooms are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

However short it was, our two night stay at Beluga House was absolutely wonderful. We experienced the best breakfast ever. Everything was carefully thought ! For a first trip to Hermanus, we definitely fell in love with this guesthouse and will come again. A must !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is our first stay in Hermanus and due to the high rating in Trip Advisor, we chose Beluga House for 3 nights prior to returning to Cape Town.

We were impressed by the friendly and warm greeting and for the hospitality and helpfulness of everyone who worked there.

We immediately felt relaxed. The breakfasts were individually made and served; everything was freshly made to order. We felt that all the staff were naturally motivated to provide a friendly and helpful service; which says a lot for the owners’ attitude towards their staff.

Beluga House was the most tidy and clean Guest House we have stayed at during our forth year at South Africa. The large pool is central to the guest rooms with the outside breakfast area adjacent, this arrangement makes for a wonderful setting. There is a large dining room should the weather be inclement.

Unfortunately we only met Lotta as her husband was away on business. Lotta’s forte is to ensure her guests enjoy their stay in Beluga House, with it friendly and relaxed atmosphere. She is naturally welcoming to ensure every guest remembers their happy stay.

The town of Hermanus is a short walk along the cliff path; where there is a wide selection of restaurants.

We would definitely like to return next year but for a longer stay if possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are based either side of the pool, everyone is perfectly placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The best guesthouse during our 2 weeks stay in South Africa. Great location, service, breakfast and pool area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beluga House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga House

Address: 10 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beluga House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star Guest House in Hermanus with modern accommodation, located just 5 minutes walk from town center. Here you are able to watch the enormous Southern Right Whales from the famous cliff paths across the street. The focal point of Beluga House, is a private 5x10 meter swimming pool. The surrounding decking area provides the perfect location for unwinding after a day’s adventure. All rooms are en-suite double rooms, tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beluga House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beluga House to your Saves list