We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hermanus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beluga House
Save
You added Beluga House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Hermanus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My family and I stayed here in December and we had a wonderful experience. The location was perfect as the town was only a short walk away. The pool area and breakfast was also exceptional. I would recommend to anyone, a real haven at value for money! I only wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Can't say enough good things about our stay at Beluga House and Hermanus in general. What a great little town! Fantastic restaurants, amazing scenery and a pretty little downtown that made you want to spend the day strolling around. We went to most of the destinations along the Graden Route and Hermanus was a favorite. I wish we had planned on a few extra days here.
In our 4 weeks in SA Beluga House was definately one of the best guest houses we visited. The way they have organized the guest rooms around their beautiful pool makes for a really special setting that is a great place to spend some quiet time. Very few of the guest houses we stayed at were set up such that our kids could play in the pool and we could relax in our room and still keep an eye on them. Breakfast was made to order and included some wonderful fresh berries.
We were in Hermanus just prior to New Years and had not made reservations to do the great white shark diving. This was one of the 'must do' items on our itinerary but we had not anticpated the tours being fully booked! If you are in Hermanus during Christmas or New Years definately plan a day and book your tour in advance. Lotta and Paul spent a buch of time phoning around to all the tour operators to find us a spot. They also were a great resourse for the best restaurants in town. If you are going to Hermanus this is the place to be!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that faces the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fensterbattersea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This B&B/Guesthouse is faultless, on our two week tour of South Africa this was by far the best accomodation we stayed in when considering price as a factor.

The property is so clean and fresh! I could not find a single fault. The breakfast was amazing, my only regret of shark diving was that I got to miss out on the gorgeous breakfast. (they do offer a smaller, DIY breakfast but at 6am in the morning, I skipped it in favour of more sleep)
breakfast consists of fresh fruit, toast/breads and full Cooked breakfast to order.

The property is located a short walk out of town but it is a walk along the coastal path so very enjoyable especially if you are there to whale watch! We were there Mid Novemeber 2011 and saw all the Whales you could possibly wish for. I would also recommend the shark diving organised through the B&B. I was a bit fifty fifty about shark diving but even despite missing the breakfast would definately recommend the experience.

faultless! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just love the place! The rooms are beautiful and so is the whole pool area. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. It´s a perfect little walk to the little city centre. Last but not least, we love the breakfast :-). We will definately be back...

Room Tip: It just all depends on how many people checking in, they´re all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I normally don’t write any reviews but it’s only fair to do so in this case. The Beluga House is situated within walking distance to the “city-life” of Hermanus and as well the waterfront. The guest house welcomes you at check-in with its cosy and personal interior. The service minded staff has always a solution or answer to any question and there is really “no problem” of any kind. The room had a really nice bed with giant pillows that made you sleep like a king. The bathroom with its bright colours and a shower with great space! With five, or so, steps from the room the nice pool is waiting for you. Yes, I really enjoyed the stay. The only problem is that you have to wait a whole night before it is breakfast time (the breakfast is fantastic)!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Beluga is a great and stylish guest house well located within walking distance of the restaurants of Hermanus. This was the only place in two weeks trip that I felt like using the pool so it must have been good.
We took the advice of the whale watching information centre and headed off to the other side of the bay, where we were able to watch the Southern Right Whales with their calves from the cliffs above the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I always find it difficult to get the genuine feeling for a place when only staying one night, but at Beluga it is not! You have an immediate feeling of tasteful beauty, fresh and clean and nice, polite and smiling staff. The rooms are not big but holds everything you can wish for, not to mention the nice linnen and thick towels. The breakfast offers a range of cold and warm dishes and you do not leave hungry. The hospitality, personality and kind proffessional assistance is as impeccable as the place itself, we look forward to coming back, soon ...

Thank you Lotta and Pål, you have created a true lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beluga House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga House

Address: 10 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beluga House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star Guest House in Hermanus with modern accommodation, located just 5 minutes walk from town center. Here you are able to watch the enormous Southern Right Whales from the famous cliff paths across the street. The focal point of Beluga House, is a private 5x10 meter swimming pool. The surrounding decking area provides the perfect location for unwinding after a day’s adventure. All rooms are en-suite double rooms, tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beluga House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.