We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Jug Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brown Jug Guest House to your Saves list
Brown Jug Guest House
18 Musson Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Stode, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were six people, four adults and two children, who stayed at Brown Jug Guest House for three nights. It is well spaced with a wonderful pool in a quiet area close to the centre, within a short walking distance. The owners were very kind and most helpful. We warmly recomend Brown Jug and Hermanus..

Travellers from Stöde, Sweden.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for your review and it was our pleasure to host you all. The family unit caters just as easily and comfortably to two or a family as in your case. During the summer months the inviting salt water swimming pool is a n added bonus. We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hermanus our new favourite town in South Africa, Brown Jug was exactly what we were looking for.
Quite,safe location with quick and easy access to the seafront,restaurants and shops.
The apartment was tastefully furnished with plenty of space and a private patio.
A good location for exploring this very interesting and relaxing coastal area.
Thanks Louise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for those very kind words. We are very fortunate that our location has improved even more since the opening of the two new shopping centers to the eastern part of the village. The route from the village to our guest house is a very easy and pleasant stroll past shops and restaurants in a very well lit up and upmarket part of town. Our guests are all at ease walking into town and even doing so after a leisurely evening meal.
We hope to see you both again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

On a peaceful road, within a 3 minute walk from the whale view sites and all shops and restaurants, the accommodation is great. There is a swimming pool, your own private garden patio and barbecue area, huge bedroom with en suite large bathroom with bath and walk in shower, fully fitted kitchen, large lounge/dining room with flat screen TV and secure on sight parking. Very friendly and helpful hosts and exceptional value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your balanced and informative response. The time you have taken to highlight many of the appealing attributes of the Brown Jug is greatly appreciated. We would love you to become regulars to the guest house and we value your support in choosing us a your holiday destination
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A wonderful stay, could not have been better. The cat adopted us, it was always waiting at our door to get in. We stayed at many places on our extended holiday in Africa, the Brown Jug was one of the best places..... If we had to live in South Africa, we would live in Hermanus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much Sally for your review. We are glad that your Hermanus experience was a good one. Mojo the resident cat missed you after you left and still sits outside the door hoping to be let in. I really hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved this place. It was a great value and we loved spending time with the owner and their dog. A great experience all around. Easy walk to the waterfront, where we saw a number of whales breaching.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind response. It is a pity we could only host you for one night as there are so many lovely spots in and around Hermanus that could keep you occupied for many days. We look forward to meeting up with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Second time we have stayed here. Still great. Louise really takes care of you, and the rooms are also self catering if you need it. Breakfast is available if you want it and it really sets you up for the day. Well located for a short walk to the town centre and the cliffs.
All in all, don't pass this place by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks so much David. It was really great to see you both again after so many years and we hope to see you more often now that you have more time to travel. We are really lucky with our location and being just a stones throw from so many facilities really adds to the attractiveness of our guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very comfortable rooms, convenient for everywhere in Hermanus but a quiet location. Made welcome by Louise and the resident dogs. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with my mother and it was exactly what we were looking for!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Janet
Thank you for your kind response, and really pleased that you enjoyed your unit. The two bedroom unit is ideal for families traveling together as you are housed together but still can maintain your privacy. Eddie, the new rescue doggy we have adopted is progressing with his training. He still sometimes gets a bit ahead of himself as I don't think he yet believes his luck in landing such a cushy home. We believe though our pets add to the homely atmosphere we strive to create and many people comment on the home from home experience the Brown Jug offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown Jug Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Jug Guest House

Address: 18 Musson Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience home from home hospitality first hand at The Brown Jug Guest House. Choose from three well appointed units, all tastefully and lovingly decorated with fine attention to detail. The Brown Jug offers quality superior accommodation and is centrally located, within a three minute walk from the whale watching cliff tops, restaurants, village and shopping centre. Set on a double stand in a tranquil park like garden with sparkling salt water pool where one can relax, rejuvenate and enjoy the fine hospitality we have to offer. Secure on site parking provides peace of mind so leave your car at the guest house and enjoy the short stroll to the village.What defines The Brown Jug is the fact that most attractions and activities are within a 5km radius but most are closer.Within a 1km radius is the magnificent 27 hole Hermanus Golf Course, Fernkloof Nature Reserve with its magnitude of species of fynbos, the pristine Blue Flag Grotto Beach where one can tackle the 18km seaside walk to De Kelders and most important just a stones throw from the CBD and nearest shopping centre. Take a leisurely stroll around the corner to the village and take in the magnificent view of Walker Bay, with the whales frolicking in the background whilst enjoying an extended midday lunch at one of the many superb restaurants on the seafront. Just a short stroll back to the Brown Jug is all that is required where an inviting relaxing afternoon awaits on the pool loungers beside our sparkling salt water pool.In the summer months the barbecue patios provide the ideal setting for an evening drink and watching the sun set behind Hoy's Koppie. Whilst many enjoy to self cater we encourage our guests to treat themselves to A BROWN JUG breakfast we have become so well known for.• Three blocks from sea, village and whale watching paths and • One block from the CBD• Close to golf course • Swimming pool on premises • Under cover on site parking • Private entrances • TV in all units • Non-smoking rooms, but there are designated smoking areas • 4km from nearest swimming beach • Three blocks from sea water tidal pool • Barbecue facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brown Jug Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Jug Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.