We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for our weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermanus Beach Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hermanus Beach Villa to your Saves list
Hermanus Beach Villa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   151, 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service for our weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The guest house is well located near the beaches of Voelklip, even though is was a bit too cold to swim, it made for a nice pre-breakfast walk.
It is a short 2-3km drive from the town centre, which is great for a quiet, relaxing time.
Lauren's service was great, always checking if we had what we needed and making suggestions for trips out of Hermanus or restaurants to visit.
The other staff were also very friendly, made us feel very welcome.
We had great value for money on the Daddy's Deal and it included a hearty breakfast. The honeymoon suite next door to us has a wrap-around balcony view which would have been amazing to enjoy while lazing in bed on a cold and raint day, but unfortunately the room was already booked.
The Grotto room on the 2nd floor had an amazing sea view, but it had an interconnecting door to the room next door, probably meant for families wanting kids in a room next door, so we were a bit conscious of sound of our TV or in general travelling through the door into that room.
The furnishings were great, the style of the room a bit dated and the en suite bathroom a little small, but adequate.
Breakfast included cereals, muesli, toast, jam, a fruit cocktail and a choice of your style egg and bacon with tomato. The egg and bacon was fried perfectly.
Nice freshly brewed coffee (or tea) and real brown sugar, uncommon these days.
TIP: Drive the 20km to Stanford around the bay and go to the Birkenhead Brewery and Walker Bay Vineyards for a beer and wine tasting, only R20 to taste 7 beers and R20 to taste 5 wines. Food is also well priced, even though we didn't eat there. They had a nice, huge fireplace with a fire burning.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    66
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
176
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We received friendly service.
Well informed by staff who really gone out of their way to serve and inform

Only the bed mattress was not comfortable, otherwise the room was splendit.

It was an enjoyable time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just what we were looking for. Close to Hermanus, sea views and a beautiful walk into the town. The staff went that extra mile to make us comfortable. We decided to braai one evening and everything was set up for us. The braai was arranged, a beautiful fire in the cosy dining room and the table set to perfection. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustrow, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We liked it very much to stay at Hermanus beach hotel! The overwhelming sea, garden and mountain views, the very friendly and competent staff, the extraordinary surrounding with a lot of possibilities for our leasure activities made our stay unique.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent the weekend in Hermanus Beach Villa's. Its a lovely B&B that I would recommend to anyone, I would however choose the largest room, they have. Great breakfast with lovely views and nature at your door step.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Excellent service all round, great room, great location. The 2 young ladies were extremely friendly and helpful and the gentleman who turned our beds down and placed a hot water bottle in the bed every night was a real sweetie.Will definitely recommend the Hermanus Beach Villa and will definitely be returning there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

There is too much light coming into the room from the top window at the door. I sleep very light and I found it difficult to fall asleep. The music in the breakfast room is quite annoying (1950's). The staff however are very friendly and it was close to the pathway to go for long walks/runs. The loose rugs in the room made it difficult to move our luggage around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermanus Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Beach Villa

Address: 151, 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Beach Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Beach Villa is a luxury guest house situated in the picturesque suburb of Voëlklip, Hermanus along the Cape Whale Coast in South Africa. Guests can enjoy luxury Hermanus accommodation in a superb location close to the shoreline with some of the best whale watching opportunities available in season. The rooms and suites at Hermanus Beach Villa are elegantly decorated with private sea facing balconies promising sweeping ocean views. Added luxuries include en-suite facilities with bathroom amenities, heated towel rails, mini bar fridges, flat-screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities as well as hearty breakfasts and warm South African hospitality. Owners Charl & Riana invite you for a luxury beach holiday experience in the heart of the whale watching capital of South Africa. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hermanus Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermanus Beach Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.