We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of wine trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermanus Lodge on the Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hermanus Lodge on the Green to your Saves list
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Pebble Beach Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knysna South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Start of wine trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Found it a pleasant friendly place, easy access to many interesting places, also well situate for golfers, fantastic wine estates in the Hemel en Aarde valley, with good food and value for money, worth a try

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for you taking the time to write a review on Hermanus Lodge. We enjoyed meeting you both as well as your friends, and hope that you all enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind regards to you all from both of us, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    28
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
103
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our room overlooking the golf course was spacious, simply and tastefully furnished. Bath as well as shower, TV,DVD,wifi and air con all excellent. Shared balcony overlooking golf course. Very well cooked and presented breakfast from our charming hosts Nobby and Wendy. Sheltered pool with comfy loungers, large living room just adds even more to this terrific home. We just loved our stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello and thank you for your such a positive review. We loved having you both as our guests and look forward to seeing you and your family when you return to Hermanus at the end of the year. Hope that the rest of your travels were good and the golf great.
Kindest regards from both of us, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Situated at the back of town in a quiet spot overlooking the golf course and at the foot of the mountain. Great for botanising and birdwatching - we did both before breakfast! Friendly informal luxury. To be recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your very nice review, it was very interesting to meet all of you and so glad that you were able to enjoy a visit to the nature reserve and enjoy our lovely flora and birdlife. We hope to be able to host you all again when you return for your next conference. Kindest regards to you all from both of us, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

A relaxed cool setting with plenty of birds chirping around you as you sit on the verandah watching golfers on the green. A comfortable, rejuvenating sleep, with delicious breakfast to kick the day off. Very friendly and attentive hosts and staff. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us, here is hoping that the next one is a slightly longer break for the two of you.
Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Warm welcome and helpful advice. We had a very nice room overlooking golf course (don’t see the alternatives). Breakfast was very nice. Sadly we only stayed one night which meant we didn’t spend as much time there as we could have.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your very brief stay with us, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in order that you can enjoy our beautiful town. Kind regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Absolutely stunning guesthouse, ran by very welcoming people!
Guesthouse is in a residential area of Hermanus, in a quiet street.
The guest lounge and some of the bedrooms are overlooking the golf course.
Great place to stay, I would certainly recommend and go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, so sorry that your stay was so brief, but do hope that your fellow traveller recovered from his illness in order that you were able to enjoy your last day in South Africa. Hopefully we will be able to host you and your husband in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Hermanus Lodge on the Green and from the moment we arrived we had a wonderful stay. In fact we did say we wished we could have stayed longer. Wendy and Nobby were there to greet us and show us our lovely room which was on the ground floor overlooking the golf course. We had a very peaceful room with top quality fittings throughout. Wendy was most helpful booking golf and also a Tuk Tuk to take us to a restaurant for dinner, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and the fruit salad was just wonderful, fresh and colourful. They also have a balcony off the guest lounge which is a lovely place to have a glass of wine ( from the well stocked honestly bar ) and watch the sunset. All in all an excellent guest house and we will certainly recommend it and if possible visit again ourselves. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate such nice feedback. We hope that you all enjoyed the rest of your trip through South Africa and that we are able to welcome you back to Hermanus Lodge one day. Kind regards, Nobby and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermanus Lodge on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Lodge on the Green

Address: 8 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Pebble Beach Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Lodge on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose-built guest house situated on the 25th green of Hermanus Golf Course. Most rooms golf course facing, all en-suite. Kingsize or twin beds. Wonderfully secluded, north-facing pool area. Ideally located for easy access to town, cliff path, golf course and beaches. Tranquil surrounds, away from busy main road traffic. Excellent service, friendly staff, an ideal home from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hermanus Lodge on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermanus Lodge on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.