We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Westcliff Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was my second visit to Cliff Cottage and like the time before, Dot and Chuck were the best hosts ever. The rooms were spotless and spacious. The location is perfect. You can practically touch the cliffs. I can't recommend this place enough, not only for the hospitality of Dot and Chuck, but for the lovely atmosphere and great location!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Kyla. Thanks for the great review and kind comments. We always enjoy have customers return to us for a second visit - till next time ... rest regards Chuck and Dot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    42
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
127
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was our second stay with Dot and Chuck, a natural choice for us, given the welcome we experienced on our previous trip. A delightful couple, for whom nothing was too much trouble. This time, we occupied one of the garden rooms, which was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was served in the garden and was pure delight. I would no hesitation in recommending Cliff Cottage to anybody wanting to stay in the beautiful location of Hermanus.
Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear John and Jan. It was a pleasure having you stay again at Cliff Cottage. We do appreciate your kind comments, and hope to see you again next year. Best regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Chuck and Dot were wonderful hosts at the Cliff Cottage. They were very friendly and had great suggestions for local flair. The room was clean and comfortable as well. We really enjoyed how hospitable and friendly it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for you review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again! Kind regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our second stay with Dot & Chuck who are great hosts & has a real home from home feeling.Great location for walking along the cliff top into the town of Hermanus which has brilliant restaurants or just chilling in the garden, missing it already, will be back. Ann & Tony Whitehead

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Ann and Tony. Great to have you back again - and that you enjoyed your stay. Till next time, Chuck and Dot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We felt at home from the first day at this lovely house !
Chuck an Dot are so nice people and always very friendly.
Our room wehre we stayed for some days was always very clean.
The garden was perfect to releax . For breakfast we could get whatever we
want.
We will come back for sure !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments - hope to have you back again some day. Best regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Since we fell in love with South Africa we always stay for some days at the Cliff Cottage.
Chuck and Dot are wonderful hosts who know the area very well and send you to all the highlights along Walker Bay including the good restaurants. The rooms are nice, cosy and clean and breakfasts are freshly prepared to you choice. In a minute you're on the cliff path and can walk either to town or to the new harbour. To arrive at Cliff Cottage is always like coming home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Ursula
Thank you so much for the kind comments, they are much appreciated.
We are so lucky that we will
see you and Manfred again this year, we look forward to it.
Best regards Dot and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you want to breathe in the "champagne air" in the beautiful environment of Hermanus, this is the place to stay. A wonderful family atmosphere in a large, walled-in, safe sanctuary of a garden. As you lie on the chaise longue, listening to the sea, in the protection of the surrounding mountains, with a book and maybe a glass of local wine, you can be forgiven for thinking that you have died and gone to heaven. If you love birds, like we do, they will add yet another wonderful dimension to this garden. Chuck and Dot are such helpful and delightful hosts. We have stayed there twice now and we hope to stay there again in the future as the accommodation is so enjoyable that it feels like living in your own holiday home, with great breakfasts to look forward to as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Best regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22 Westcliff Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, satellite TV, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.