We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience in Hermanus.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
22 Westcliff Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience in Hermanus.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived at the Cliff Cottage late in the afternoon. Dot welcomed us and went quickly through all the paperwork to make sure hat we have enough time for a nice walk on the cliffs to enjoy the sunset which was a very nice touch on arrival. Dot and Chuck were lovely and gave us good recommendations for restaurants, viewpoints, activities and even tuck tuck transporation from town in case we didn't want to drive.
The spacious room was well equipped and clean featuring a comfy bed. The decor is in line with the beautiful old cottage which is situated just a few steps from the access to the world renowned cliff path and withing 15 min walking distance to the center. Breakfast was delicious. Overall we had a wonderful time during our two nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    42
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
127
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved our stay at Cliff Cottage, Hermanus! Dot and Chuck made us feel really welcome and it felt like home!

The cottage is perfectly located for exploring the lovely town of Hermanus. The cliff paths are across the road and a beautiful short walk into town. Lots of restaurants and whale watching opportunities available.

As soon as we checked in Dot kindly booked us onto the whale watching tour and explained lots of things that the area had to offer (including the TUK TUK which is a fab idea)

We stayed in the main house and the room was great, very comfy bed!

Breakfast was lovely and it was nice to chat to other guests. Dot and Chuck told us in the morning that there was a weekend craft and food market which we walked down to via the cliff paths and had a lovely time. Definitely worth going to if you are there on a Saturday

Upon checkout Chuck recommended Betty’s Bay as we wanted to see Penguins before we went home and it was a great suggestion so thank you for that and thank you for a wonderful stay at Cliff Cottage!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This lovely B&B situated only 10 minutes walk from the main square and where you can walk across the road to the beach cliff walk to the town was such a lovely experience. My daughter and grandson of 3 walked the pathway to the town.
On booking, I had a call from the owner, Butch who asked if I needed a cot and then gave us a lovely garden cottage / family room.
Parking and a safe garden added to the experience. More importantly, the breakfast was excellent and the ambience of the house really makes you feel relaxed and at home.
Highly recommended and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Cliff Cottage. Despite the "average" weather it is good to know that you enjoyed Hermanus and that staying at Cliff Cottage contributed to your enjoyment.... Thank you for the kind review and hopefully you will get the opportunity to return and see us again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

One of the best places we have been to! The house is very beautiful and everything inside and outside has been arranged to make a perfect athmosphere. The hosts (Dot & Chuck) were like good friends and very helpful. The situation is close to the cliffs and quite in a lovely town. We really enjoyed everything! Highly recommended ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Cliff Cottage, Hermanus. Maybe we will be lucky to see you back here again some day.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna,bc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The house and grounds were beautiful - perfect place to relax after a long day. Our cottage was excellent as well, and Chuch and Dot went out of their way to make it a good visit. We were travelling with our one year old son, and they had provided a cot and cozy blankets for him, and when we went to breakfast on the sunny patio the next morning, there was a high chair waiting for us as well. We wished we could have stayed longer!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Cliff Cottage - we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and maybe will meet again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our few nights at Cliff Cottage were one of the highlights of our stay in the Cape. Dot and Chuck were excellent hosts who made us very welcome and comfortable in their home and pointed us straight to some of the gems of Hermanus, such as the Quayside Cabin and Fernkloof Nature Reserve. The location of the cottage was perfect for us – right on the cliff path and about half way between the town centre and the harbour, it made for some great evening walks. They make a great breakfast too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We don't get too many visitors from Malaysia so it was lovely having you here and great that you will be spreading the Hermanus news in Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for the nice review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

After a long drive from the Swartberg we arrived at this cottage and the warm welcome by Dot and Chuck made us feel at home right away. The family room is very spacious and nicely decorated, spotless clean and cosy. We got perfect recommendations on what to do when and where to eat and how to arrange a tuktuk for the way home. Very unique and funny.
Breakfast was great, very personal and presented with charm and warmth. So lovely hosts, shame that we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cliff Cottage and also that we contributed to your enjoyment of Hermanus. We look forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22 Westcliff Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, satellite TV, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.