We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Wonderful location, beautiful room, would highly recommend it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whale View Guest House
Save
You added Whale View Guest House to your Saves list
P O Box 5031, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it! Wonderful location, beautiful room, would highly recommend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

If you want to have a beautiful venue where you can look out onto the ocean, this is your place. Carefully planned and decorated, this venue offers professionalism, comfort, style and a wonderful location. Don't hesitate to stay there!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
115
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Whale View Guest House really was a perfect place to stay. Immaculately clean, bright and airy, with a stunning location right on the rocks overlooking the sea. The bedroom was comfortably furnished. Breakfasts served on the open air deck were wholesome and unrushed. Free drinks from the 'fridge, sitting in the immaculate lounge, with stunning views out to sea and the waves crashing onto the rocks - truly out of this world.

The friendly but unobtrusive staff did everything to make our stay perfect, taking care of any requests we had efficiently and politely.

If you are going to Hermanus this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home.
Walking in to the all white main living area, with the open wall windows, with the atlantic ocean sunset providing a backdrop, to be given a wine / beer and told to "help yourself" it almost seemed too good to be true.
Slightly out of town, a car is essential, but it probably is all over South Africa!
Whale sightings in the town were fantastic.
Nice touch was that they had made a provisional booking for us at a nearby restaurant which was ideal as we had arrived late on.
Slightly more pricey than we had been paying for accommodation on the holiday but well worth it, especially with the free drinks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

From the moment we arrived you could tell this was going to be a special stay. Janina gave us a wonderful welcome, and after a much needed refreshing drink and chat we were shown to the most beautiful rooms. Each of the 5 rooms are individually decorated and wonderfully equipt with all you could possibly need. The views over the ocean from the open dining/ kitchen veranda are spectacular. Janina had also booked us into some restaurants for our evening meals as Hermanus is extremely busy at Christmas time and she didn't want us going without a meal (that was a wonderful touch). The breakfasts were sumptuous, the fridge fully stocked, every need was taken care off, a real home from home except better! I would highly recommend Whale View for a luxurious stay. Worth every penny. Restaurant recommendations: Harbour Rock, Mediterrea and The Deer Hunter. Recommended Trips: Cage diving with Great Whites and Frankloof Nature reserve.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Wonderful service, location, room (sea room with unbelievable sea view) and atmosphere. Everything was spot on. Highlights would be the decor, the ambience which made you so relaxed immediately and so special, and delicious breakfast on the terrace. Whale swimming past soon after we arrived was a nice bonus! (Mother and Daughter from Australia 7th Nov '10)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

What a fantastic place!! The approach to it made us wonder if we had come the right way but this only gave the house more of a WOW factor when we walked in. I would like to pick the whole house up + transport it back to Cheshire! I think doing that with the beautiful sea might be a problem though!! It was amazing as soon as we walked in. Everything was white or pale blue, truly mirroring the sea , waves + sky outside. Lots of mirrors + massive patio doors on the ocean wall also helped the effect.
There was a free bar with only the best brands, including champagne!! Nico had already booked us into restaurant just up the road, with no pressure to go if we didn't want to take up the offer. We did go + the food + ambiance were superb + allowed us to find our feet.
Nico + Janina were so welcoming + very accomodating when we had to use their phone next door when we found out we had a burst pipe at home!!
The honeymoon room had the best view of any room we have ever stayed in, even seeing a whale drift slowly by on our last day, while lying in bed!!
It was so nice having the run of the house (and the beach!) + meeting other guests whilst using the comfy duvets on the patio area.
Breakfast was a sheer pleasure + even the smallest detail was perfect, even down to the little jam pots facing in certain directions!
We wanted to stay here for much longer and have already planned to come back for our wedding anniversary in Sept 2012.
Well done Nico + Janina. Heaven really is a place on earth!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We arrived early but were still welcomed with open arms by Nico, the owner. The place is beautifully decorated, all white with a beach theme. The guest house is located in a secure beach club area, a few minutes drive outside of town. We had the 'honeymoon room' whose terrace looked out onto the crashing waves. Nico recommended and booked a restaurant for us in Hermanus town centre which was delicious and the breakfast in the guest house the following morning was also fantastic. We would love to have the chance to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whale View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale View Guest House

Address: P O Box 5031, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale View Guest House offers 5 luxurious rooms inside a Security Complex, virtually on the Rocks in Hermanus. Come and wind down in this 4 Star establishment, drinking your favorite sundowner whilst watching the whales at play. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.