We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend staying here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse to your Saves list
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   138 Kus Road | Sand Bay, Hermanus 7022, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 20% on your stay!
Ranked #2 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommend staying here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at 138 marine guesthouse and chosen for our honeymoon in Hermanus because we were so impressed the first time round. The place is beautiful with immaculate spacious rooms, and is on the sea front giving spectacular views. The breakfasts are amazing! I've never eaten a full English breakfast which is so beautifully presented as it is here, and it imaginatively varies each morning. My full compliments to the chef. The hot breakfast is also accompanied by fruits, cereals, and fresh homemade jams. Certainly a great way to start the day. Service is brilliant - very attentive and on hand to give lots of information on the best walks, best trips, restaurants etc. and will make the phone calls to ensure places are booked and times confirmed.

Overall, will remain as our top choice when we next return to Hermanus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    42
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
94
439
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was recently in Hermanus for one night while traveling through South Africa and had the pleasure of staying at 138 Marine. Upon our arrival the service provided by our hosts was impeccable - we were offered reservations at a restaurant for dinner, snacks, drinks, anything we could think of. Then we were lead to our room which had the most amazing view, was extremely clean and tidy and the bathroom was adorable (cozy tube, big shower with stone floor). Our room was nice a quiet with a very comfortable bed for a great night of sleep. The Guesthouse is located right on the ocean and there are lots of lovely trails and beaches along the water. 138 Marine is an incredible place and I will stay there in a heartbeat the next time I return to Hermanus! Thank you 138 Marine for making my stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: The downstairs room in the front of the house has an incredible view and the bathroom was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This guesthouse is perfect if you're looking to enjoy the beautiful seafront in Hermanus. The whole house is beautifully designed and decorated, making you feel like your really on a beach holiday with the kind of excellent hospitality that makes you feel right at home. Enjoyed the hearty breakfast that followed the lovely night spent sleeping with the ocean sounds just outside my window.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the sea to ensure the most out of your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just back from SA and have to say that this wonderful guest house was one of the highlights. Magnificent ocean views, beautiful room with many personal touches. The owners and manageress could not have been more helpful with tips on where to eat and places to visit. The breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and plenty of it. Extra little touches such as being able to sit in the lounge in the evening talking to fellow guests, enjoying the complementary sherry and port whilst gazing at the sea, just made the whole experience unique. A lovely spot away from the main Hermanus sea front but this could easily be reached by car. Lovely walks nearby along the coast path and through a nature reserve. We would definitely recommend this beautiful place to others and would stay there again if we returned to this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the White room (Oyster I think) at the front with panoramic views of the ocean, very su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A wonderful guest house right on the ocean. Fabulous views from the lounge, breakfast room, and our bedroom - even from the bath. Delicious breakfasts cooked fresh for us. Convenient to the centre of Hermanus if you have a car. Very friendly and helpful hostesses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a wonderful guesthouse with to die for views. We had a room with 180 degree views of the rugged coastline. We only stayed one night but I could wake up to that view every day. As the only guests the breakfast area was also set up so we could enjoy the view along with our delicious breakfast, and some appropriately stirring background music. The room amenities are fantastic, with incredibly comfy beds! We were greeted by delightful hosts who spent a lot of time assisting with bookings for the nearby whale-watching excursion, dinner and planning our onward route. The only downside is that the location is not walkable distance from restaurants, bars etc and there doesn't seem to be a local taxi service, so someone has to be designated driver.

Room Tip: Go for the room at the front that has windows on 3 sides for the most delightful views to wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talybont, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My families night in this amazing place was the icing on an unforgettable trip, all three generations of the family from Dubai the UK and Capetown really enjoyed everything about 138 Marine from the little touches everywhere the fresh flowers and the spotless tasteful rooms and of course views to die for. We really could not have wished for anywhere better our hosts were great and the breakfast really lovely, we would all love to go back again and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere really special !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Address: 138 Kus Road | Sand Bay, Hermanus 7022, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, is a National WINNER of SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM AWARDS (2010; 2011; 2013). Book DIRECTLY on our website for this elegant, upmarket guesthouse with spectacular sea front views. Enjoy magnificent views of the whales and stunning African sunsets over the ocean from the comfort of your bedroom or the lounges. The six luxurious designer suites are individually fitted with all modern comforts, meeting international standards. This is the perfect romantic getaway, close to two popular golf courses, and at the gateway of the Hermanus Wine Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.