We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stopped at Hermanus for lunch after a recommendation the previous night by some fellow travellers. Within 10 minutes of arriving into this quaint, clean, beautiful town, we made the decision to stay in Hermanus for a couple of nigts. We wandered over to the Harbour House Hotel to make some inquiries, and even though it was a day prior to the Whale Festival, they accommodated us for 2 nights without having made a booking. We were immediately upgraded from the basic room to the romantic room which had stunning views across the harbour and was perfect for whale watching. My husband stepped out to the balcony the first morning to see several whales frollicking right in front of us! We're not really breakfast people but it was included and was just fine. We had dinner one evening in the restaurant as well which was lovely and the staff couldn't be more attentive. My only criticism would be the wifi - had to go to the business centre downstairs to connect - however when we checked in, they did acknowledge that this was an issue and they were looking into changed providers. The weather unfortunately was not pleasant, but would loved to have walked along the coastal path each morning. We will definitely return to Hermanus and the Harbour House Hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    162
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
82
308
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What an outstanding venue and experience - the perfect setting and accommodation for the discerning traveller! Excellent service, most friendly staff and outstanding rooms! The experience overall was excellent including the salon treatments. We will definately be visiting again!

Room Tip: Best room at the Harbour Hotel must be 33, or 35 on the penthouse floor. Check out the magnificent s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

unfortunately we only spent one night in this hotel but it is great hotel in a great location. the room was very spacious and clean. really good breakfast and with a short walk after breakfast you can watch whales from the path along the coastal walk. would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a free night in this hotel after staying in another of their properties. Although there were three in our party the free room was only for two, if we wished to have triple occupancy we would pay a high price and it would exclude breakfast. So we paid for a second room. This mean spirited policy was not something our travel agent knew about before confirming the booking and is something that the owners should make clear. So we stayed only for one night. We had rooms with an excellent view and could whale watch from the balconies. Whales were mating in the bay so an excellent time to visit.

There is a small amount of parking outside the hotel and more parking at the back. If you park at the back there is a lift to take luggage to your room, from the front a steep set of stairs. Anyone with mobility issues should park at the back and walk around the hotel to reception.

The rooms were clean, the bed slightly hard, the toiletries good. It seems a little odd to have a kitchenette in a hotel room. The safe was large enough to take my netbook and ereader with room to spare. Slippers not provided, I would expect them in a 5 star property. A small container of fresh milk was brought to each room for our tea/coffee. Abstract paintings. Seating not terribly comfortable as its designed to be used as an extra bed.

Wifi only available for free in the basement, this is not good enough for a 5 star hotel. Was given a password in capitals when it needs to be entered as lower case. Still took several attempts to recognise my netbook but reasonable speed when I eventually got it to work. Tried the hotel computer in the business suite, it didn't work. Business suite not well sign-posted. Breakfast OK but not memorable. It wasn't suitable weather to use the pool but it was dirty. Nice cupcake by the bed when we returned to the room after dinner. Staff a little too noisy in the morning.

Five star location and views but the rest doesn't quite match.

Room Tip: rooms 21, 22 and 23 probably have the best views unless you can afford the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham (UK)
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We cannot praise the reception staff highly enough!

We arrived at the start of a four week visit to South Africa to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I had requested a room with a sea view. Not only did we get a sea view but they managed to rustle up a couple of whales for us as well.

We popped out for an evening meal and returned to find our room decorated with rose petals and a celebratory cake and bottle of rosé on the bed waiting for us!

The following day we were told that we had a flat tyre and the porter(?) - sorry I forget your name - took the car to a garage to get it reflated (we got it repaired the next day).

All in all a wonderful stay at what proved to be the best hotel in the four weeks.

One small (tiny in fact) moan was that we were provided with a toaster in the room, but no plates to eat from!.

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the new block - view was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were only here for one night but actually if I was doing it again I'd stay for two nights, primarily because Hermanus is a lovely town and the hotel was really good. The room was large with a kitchenette and we had a balcony over looking the bay. The only issue we did have was the lack of wifi in the room. You had to hang around the corridor to get a signal which meant that a one period during the evening there about 5 people outside our door talking, chatting and if it had been later on in the evening you would of been pretty annoyed. But I'd definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Drove in from Cape Town for 2 nights. Our room was in the New Block, and was very modern Bright & airy.The girls arranged for us to go whale watching, and also Shark Cage diving. Didnt eat in the hotel as we wanted to try the local resturants, but had a good full engish breakfast. As it was quite cool outside the breakfast room was a bit cramped, as there was a large partyof chinese, however that shoud'nt put anyone off in the summer months as there is a large outside terrace to take breakfast on. The staff were friendly, and the value for money great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.