We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour House Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Probably the best location in Hermanus if you have a room with a sea view. Location just a few metres from the best restaurants was welcome as it allowed all of us to have a drink with our supper and not worry about driving afterwards. A pod of humpback whales turned up in Walker Bay (the Southern Right arrive August/Nov) and with accompanying dolphins we were treated to a display sometimes only two or three hundred metres off-shore. A great holiday. Thank you Marianne and team.

Room Tip: Check to see if it has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear peter555. Many thanks for your positive feeback with regards to the hotel and our staff. We are delighted that your expectations were met and hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    139
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
272
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honeydew, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our fourth time back! Stayed in the romantic room for the first time, beautifully decorated and very romantic but the room was boiling hot. Rather opt for the cheaper room with the air conditioning. We woke up in our fancy room took in the breathtaking view and sun shine and wanting to make our first cup of coffee there was no creamer or milk....than of course the internal phone to reception did not work. We than decided to go for breakfast well what a disaster ......no cuppa chinos could be made, the waiters were no where to be found so would recommend to go out for breakfast rather. Than booking out there was nobody available to help with our luggage so the tiny little receptionist helped us out. The admin to book out was in chaos they wanted me to recall exactly waht we had ordered the previous day at the pool.....I am on holiday......how am I supposed to remember.....hope we caught them on a off day!

Room Tip: Rather opt for the cheaper room with air conditioning and view than the romantic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ronel V. Thank you for posting your comments in respect of your recent stay at the hotel. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this visit, and for this we offer our sincerest apologies. We trust that we will have another opportunity of welcoming back in the future and assure you of our best intentions. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while travelling the Garden Route, we had a lovely room, very very clean, air conditioned, couldn't fault it at all. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was perfect. Just wished we had stayed for longer than 1 night. Excellent location and the pool was very nice overlooking the sea. The room was amazing and we had a great nights sleep. We will definitely return and stay longer next time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear debie w. Many thanks for your wonderful remarks. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A warm welcome when we arrived, a beautiful room with sea view, short walk to excellent restaurants. Very clean. Very relaxing lawn and pool area. Good breakfast cooked to order if you want it. Worth reserving a car parking space. Wish we could have styed for longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Wayfarer8088. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are truly delighted that your experience in Hermanus exceeded your expectations, and do hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first stay at the Harbour House Hotel. We had a huge room at the rear of the building, with a view of the sea from the balcony. We were on the top floor. The room was airy with a very high ceiling with rafters and had a seating area, a safe and a small kitchen which was very useful. On first appearance the bathroom looked lovely but on closer inspection we found the shower to be very dirty. The sealant had obviously not been cleaned in years and the smell was awful. I refused to use the shower but luckily there was a very nice, clean bath tub as well. Had we been staying longer than two nights, we would have asked to be moved to a room with a cleaner shower! Unfortunately, there were a lot of lights on outside at night and when the curtains were all shut, the room was so light you could almost read a book!

Breakfast was included in our nightly rate and was a nice continental buffet. You could have a cooked breakfast if you wanted one but I am not sure if we would have had to pay extra for this.

The hotel is situated right on the seafront and has a very nice pool from where you can sit on a lounger and look out over the bay.There is also a nice lawned area to sit on and you can have lunch on the patio if desired. The hotel is in the centre of town with plenty of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

We found the staff to all be very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our short stay very much despite the couple of niggles.

Room Tip: A sea view room at the front of the hotel would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Traveller from UK. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, but disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met in all areas. We do hope that despite this experience we shall again have you as our guests in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived at lunch time in mid November 2012, staying for 2 nights and were given a top floor luxury room at the back of the modern hotel overlooking the car park, with a glimpse of sea.

The room itself was well presented but as we were to find out a little later on the air conditioning did not work and part of the balcony floor,rail and both balcony seats were covered in seagull bird droppings which made it unusable without covering the seating first .

A call to reception produced a hotel worker that looked fairly dismissively about the state of the balcony and agreed that the aircon wasn't working. Unfortunately no alternative room was available at that time. (Tue) When I requested a tarif reduction to compensate for the lack of facilities, a pretty large mobile air con unit was installed which required a number of towels underneath to catch the condensation. ....The presentation of the room had now sadly deteriorated. The air conditioning was repaired during the following day.

An attempt to clean the balcony and its furniture had been made whilst we were out for dinner but hadn't been well done. Given that this is must be a regular occurrence in this room the housekeeping staff need to raise their standards. No excuses: if you charge European city hotel room prices then please provide the same standards.

The staff were pleasant and well mannered and I have to thank the receptionist who recommended the early afternoon whale watching trip which we managed to catch and which was a highlight of our trip there.

Breakfast staff seemed inexperienced and shy to take orders.

Be careful of where you park overnight in the car park as the seagulls decided to take out their revenge on my hire car which I had stupidly parked in one of the few uncovered spaces close to the hotel in their rear car park :-(

Last month my credit card statement showed that the hotel placed a transaction on to the card they requested as security. Querying by email what this was for (as I received confirmation on departure that nothing was outstanding) and expected none(we had no extras and the room had been pre-paid) I was informed it was for a bar/restaurant bill. Apart from breakfast we had never eaten in the hotel and the 2 drinks from the bar I had paid for at that time.

I guess someone had 'used the wrong room' number when signing for their evening meal. I've proven to hotel I ate elsewhere whilst in Hermanus and have sent them at their request a receipt showing payment for the drinks bill I had there so am disputing this transaction.

I in return have requested to see the signature on the bar/restaurant bill that was posted to my room. (which you would have expected them to show me on departure , wouldn't you !) Since that request they have no longer responded, even though they have been chased three times to do so.

Actions of an honest establishment - I think not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear USNewbie. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent stay at the Harbour House Hotel. We are extremely distressed to note the unsatisfactory treatment you received during your stay, and wish to formally apologise therefor. These are not our normal standards and we will be addressing all of the issues. We do hope that you will be visiting the hotel again and assure you of our best intentions. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Of course not we were here in February.
We expected a ghost town being out of season but were surprised at the number of people around.
We arrived early afternoon as was concerned about parking but found a large car park opposite the Harbour house - all of 9 Rand.
Room was fab with a view over the bay - very atmospheric early morning with the mist.
Facilities good and breakfast of a high standard.
Staff were friendly always with a smile.
Had a great dinner at "Annies" a good find.

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear gashead1. Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to seeing you in Hermanus during the next whale season, Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.