We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise, great everything...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakhurst Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oakhurst Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakhurst Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Meade & Cathedral Streets | PO Box 9416, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in George
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great surprise, great everything...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did not have anything booked, therefore it was a super surprise to find this very nice hotel with a special weekend offer. Very pleasant and friendly staff, clean and attractive room and bathroom and tasty breakfast. Pretty garden, convenient (free) parking, pool and attractive dining room and garden tables for meals too. We loved eating in the garden!

Plenty eateries in George too. A very pleasant town.
We would certainly make a point of returning there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst M, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs PeachesandCream

Thank you for your kind words. The Oakhurst Team appreciate it very much.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in the near future.

All the best to you

Janita and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you are on the Garden Route in South Africa, there is a delightful hotel in George - the Oakhurst Hotel in George. This is the only hotel which greeted us with a decanter of an aperitiv, and a welcome sign on the front table in the lobby with the names of all the guests who are staying for their first night at the hotel. We then found in our room a welcome card stating the weather for the subsequent day and a wish that our stay be made as pleasant as possible. Our grandson was able to sleep in the loft by climbing a tall staircase. There are rooms also available with bunk beds, though we did not see any ourselves. The decor and architecture were "old world" in style. The staff was more than helpful. We opted to eat both dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both reasonably priced. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who finds himself in the area at nightfall.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rynfield Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

WHat an Amazing hotel. We went there for our December vacation and it was brilliant. The staff are friendly and always willing to go out their way to help. The dinners are to die for " Impala Steak was the best I have ever eaten. Breakfast are out of this world "wimpy" could never compete. Come back from the beach and you could lie out at the pool and relax with a cold drink. This is the best hotel i have staid in for a long time and would recommen this to andy couple or family facation.

Their all inclusive stay and breakfast package is worth the money spent. No need to ask as we booking our December vacation there again this year 2012. The Staff and Management are first class.

Room Tip: rooms that open onto the pool is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel, built like a game lodge right in town has rural charm. It's run delightfully casually, but all the same everything seems to work just fine. A small problem is that the dining room/lounge area is also the entrance lobby, and when we arrived it was being used for a private function so we had to tip toe around to avoid disturbing them.

But ten stars for the hotel that didn't charge extra when we had a sudden change of plans and had to check out really really late. That's real customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst M, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind words.

Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed over the first time in 2004 and was attracted by the unique decor and homey feel on the website. Our weekend stay was lovely - warm welcome, great food and great atmosphere. Since living in George we had booked a few functions there and was never dissapointed in the quality and service received! The country-style feeling is very evident in the hotel and a great asset in our small town of George. Be sure to visit this delightful hotel on your next visit here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Booked a deluxe room on the first floor. High rooms with thatch roof, visible AND smell-able: a pretty bad moldy smell. I had myself downgraded to a standard room (ground floor) for the same price. Downstairs also had a bit of a smell, but only slightly. There is definitely a construction flaw in the roof here. Thatch roofs usually don't smell this bad. Apart from that the rooms were OK. The breakfast was fantastic. Lots of high quality products, fresh fruits, hams, cheeses, etc, etc. P.S.: The walk-in rate was about 40% lower than the cheapest internet rate!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinsheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

after a long trip late in the evenning we just neded an adequate accomodation to relax - and here we found it just at the right time. they had a special offer this evening wich was also positive for us.

The staff was very kind and helpful so we got everything we needed an been able to continue our trip the next day with new strenght.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Hotel

Address: Cnr Meade & Cathedral Streets | PO Box 9416, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhurst Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakhurst Hotel - “ Urban tranquility in the heart of George. “The ideal location to explore the rest of the Garden Route. Oakhurst Hotel is stylish, deliberately small and exclusive suited to both leisure and business travelers alike. The thatched gabled hotel facing the Outeniqua Mountains, offers 25 Designer- decorated rooms, all with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. All the rooms are complemented with modern amenities to please even the most discerning traveler. Disabled facilities. Outdoor swimming pool. The restaurant is open for breakfast, light luncheons and snacks. Lounge with large farmhouse fireplace. Ladies bar. Secure open parking. Wireless internet. Oakhurst boasts a unique dining experience, with a choice of several restaurants, all located in the immediate vicinity. “The meeting place in the centre of George” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oakhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakhurst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.