We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay with wonderful hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malvern Manor Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Malvern Manor Country Guest House to your Saves list
Malvern Manor Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Boshoff Street | De Zoete Inval Farm Estate, Blanco, George 6530, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 George B&B and Inns
Warlingham, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delightful place to stay with wonderful hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

The room was very well equipted, inc. fridge, TV, CD/radio, excellent bed, and much else.
The was a fine guest sitting room adjacent to our room which was a good place to sit and read, guidebooks provided, or watch TV.
The hosts were delightful and willing to help in every way possible - including offering lifts to restaurants - of which there were many in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

This was our second visit to Malvern Manor and we were just as impressed as we were the first time. It is a beautiful location with a wonderful garden. Michael and Sandra are excellent hosts and we enjoyed a good chat over a delicious, leisurely breakfast. The room was superb and had every facility we required. We will certainly visit next time we are in South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Malvern Manor very much. It was a fantastic time and we like to thank for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Wales
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Having left Hermanus where we stayed at the Pelagus House, we arrived at Malvern Manor in the afternoon having driven down to Cape Aguilas first to put one foot in the Indian and one foot in the Atlantic Ocean. Glad we done it, but a very long drive along many miles of dirt track road.
We were greeted warmly by Sandra and Michael and our room in the main house was very nice, with a king size bed and decent size bathroom.
We wanted to stay in George purely to do the train journey to Mossel Bay (which Sandra kindly arranged for us). Unfortunately, it was a disappointment and Mossel Bay when we arrived there wasn't up to much either.
The location of Malven Manor is not great for eating out at night as one of us had to drive. Michael booked us in to Fancourt Hotel for a meal and it was absolutely superb with the staff wearing their traditional costume. The evening was one of the highlights of the holiday.
Sandra was fantastic in arranging for our clothes to be washed and pressed ready for our onward journey.
The weather when we arrived changed to rain and our plan to sit and relax by a wonderful pool in the garden was shelved.
We stayed 2 nights here and if the weather had been okay then we most probably would have been glad for the rest. But unfortunately (and this has nothing to do with Sandra & Michael who are wonderful hosts), but I wouldn't stay in George again. It is just not for us.
For those who are following our 3 wk trip, then log on to our next stop at Ocean Watch Guest House, Plettenburg Bay.

  • Liked — Friendliness and Service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

This was one of my favourite places of all the guest houses / hotels we stayed in during a recent two-week trip around South Africa. We had booked one of the standard rooms, but shortly before our trip the owners emailed us and asked if we’d mind being upgraded to their larger room…. obviously we didn’t mind at all!

The room was very large, clean, fresh, with an equally nice, good sized bathroom. There is a lovely pool area at the back of the house, which was heated and very clean. The garden is lovely, with fantastic views.

The only downside to Malvern Manor is its location. It is around 2km from the nearest restaurants on the outskirts of George, and further to the centre of the town. This means that it is necessary to drive into town to eat in the evenings. Their website says that transport can be provided if you don’t want to drink and drive, but no mention was made of this when we asked about nearby restaurants, and we felt it would be a bit rude to ask the owners to drive us around. This wasn’t much of a problem for us as we were happy to have a couple of quiet evenings, but if you are looking for a lively night out and/or having lots to drink, then this might be something to consider. We also felt that our stay was not particularly cheap compared to other places we stayed, given that Malvern Manor is fairly inaccessible.

When we woke up one morning and it was cloudy we decided to try and quickly book a ride on the Outeniqua choo-tjoe to Mossel Bay. The owners were extremely helpful in quickly calling them to book us tickets (incidentally the train trip itself is pleasant enough but the views, when there are any at all, aren’t particularly spectacular. Mossel Bay was nothing special either. I suspect the original route to Knysna was more scenic when that used to run).

The town of George is also nothing special, and we probably wouldn’t have chosen to stay in this area had we not discovered Malvern Manor. Overall, I’m glad we did though, as it was a lovely place to stay, and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

A very lovely guest house with very big rooms. Sandra and Michael could not do enough for us, even ferrying us to a resturant and collecting us after the meal. Breakfast was superb and overall cost was reasonable.

  • Liked — space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

After our 3 night stay in CT we arrived at Malvern Manor 6 March 2008 and were warmly welcomed by Sandra & Michael. This was the hottest day so far (35c) so a dip in the beautiful pool was more than welcome. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed for our 2-night stay. The backdrop to Malvern Manor is breathtaking as was the sunset. Breakfast was to order: fruit, cereal, homemade bread,toast, cooked breakfast (but don't ask for fried bread eh Sandra? ho ho ho). If you are planning to stay in the George area of SA then we can certainly recommend this stop-off.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malvern Manor Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Manor Country Guest House

Address: Boshoff Street | De Zoete Inval Farm Estate, Blanco, George 6530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malvern Manor Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 4 star, luxury guest house in Cape Dutch style, on a country estate, Beautiful mature gardens with a solar heated swimming pool, abundant birdlife in a tranquil, quiet location. Breakfast cooked to order, using fresh local ingredients where available. Well appointed, individually decorated, en-suite rooms, personalised individual service with attention to detail. Internet access, t.v. Sky. Close to Fancourt golfing estate, plus 3 other Championship GOLF courses, beaches and local airport. Surrounded by stunning mountain views and country walks. Romantic getaway, leisure or business. Non smoking. Peaceful, private, secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Malvern Manor Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malvern Manor Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.