We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation with bright luxurious room along with my breakfast just how I like it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malvern Manor Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Malvern Manor Country Guest House to your Saves list
Malvern Manor Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Boshoff Street | De Zoete Inval Farm Estate, Blanco, George 6530, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 50 George B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent accommodation with bright luxurious room along with my breakfast just how I like it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Superb throughout enjoyed a break with my family. My young daughter loved the pool.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Malvern Manor is a lovely guest house set in picturesque gardens and approached by a beautiful drive lined with Jacaranda trees and Agapanthus. We stayed for four nights and found it to be the perfect location to explore George, Oudtshoorn, Knysner and Mossel Bay. Michael and Sandra are charming, friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome. They have a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area and we found them very helpful in suggesting activities and places to visit, which enabled us to make the most of our stay. Our bedroom was spacious and extremely comfortable and we enjoyed delicious breakfasts of cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurt, a choice of cooked breakfast and wonderful freshly baked bread and preserves. Michael and Sandra kindly recommended some excellent restaurants in George and we really appreciated Michael's taxi service in the evenings. We highly recommend Malvern Manor as a place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, Sandra and I really appreciate it, but most of all I hope that other visitors will find it helpful. Really glad you enjoyed your time with us, knowing that you work hard all year and most of your life for your holidays, we try to make your stay with us relaxing and comfortable, and provide you with the best we can supply, you deserve it. Trust that you enjoyed South Africa and will return soon. Dante awaits your return to escort you to the breakfast room, and mostly so that you can throw the ball for her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This bed and breakfast is located on an active farm of 20 + hectares in the north-west of George (Blanco) off of R404 (which leads to George airport), right around the corner of world-famous Fancourt golf course.
We were welcomed by the friendly and warm-hearted owners Sandra and Michael who have leased out the farming business and fully concentrate on their B&B and guests and are happy to give advice on local activities and anything you might want to know (we were looking for property to buy and naturally had lots of questions about the area...).
The house is beautifully set in a wonderful developed garden with a lovely pool, at the end of a jacaranda-lined alley just minutes drive outside of George and has splendid views of the surrounding Outeniqua Mountains. Our room was very comfortably furnished, carpeted, with TV as well as stereo, shower and bath as well as WiFi access and we also had a separate TV/sitting room with mountain views to our disposal. Breakfast was sumptuous and besides tea/coffee and yoghurt included freshly baked bread, jams, hot breakfast choices as well as fruit salad and juices.
We enjoyed our stay with Sandra and Michael a lot and highly recommend this beautiful home!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your valued review. We really enjoy hosting guests and helping them where we can, and trying to keep up the standards. It makes it all worth while when we receive appreciation such as yours. Good luck with the house hunting and we hope that we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed in Malvern Manor for 1 night on our trip along the garden route. It was a perfect place for a stop over with very nicely appointed rooms set in a flower filled garden. Very peaceful with beautiful views of the mountains. We had one of our best nights sleep there.

Michael and Sandra were very pleasant, friendly people and made us feel very welcome.

One thing to note is that because of the beautiful rural setting it is a bit of a drive to the recommended restaurants in George. However if you want to order food in they are happy to lay a table for you.

Overall we were very happy we chose Malvern Manor for our stop over.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We thank you for your review, which we value as it helps other visitors to George to make a decision of where to stay. Pleased you had a good nights rest, this is so important when you are away from your own bed, and that you enjoyed our wonderful scenery. Hope the rest of your holiday in South Africa was everything you hoped for, and that you can persuade your other half to return to our beautiful country, and come to visit us again. Happy new year, we will share a glass of wine with you. Thank You once again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uster, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Beautiful and quite place. We enjoyed the great comfort of the room, with shower and bath. Thanks to the arranged restaurant bookings we enjoyed a very romantic and evening with delicious food in George. Great place to stay and visit the various attractions around George, Outshoorn and the coast line.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

When travelling in South Africa you can find yoursef stuck between glitzy characterless expensive hotels and family homes in which you feel a bit uneasily like distant relatives who don't quite know their way around the rooms! Hurrah for Malvern Manor which offers privacy and luxury as well as home comforts and lively conversations. Our room was clean and spacious, the breakfasts fabulous and the garden views quite spectacular. Sandra and Michael obviously care very much about the standard of hospitality they offer and are determined to do the job well ....but there is also a genuine enjoyment of meeting people and helping them get the best out of their visit to this lovely part of the Garden Route! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Had 4 excellent nights here while touring SA. Extremely personable service from Michael and Sandra who could not do enough for us, helping to fix trips, book golf tee times and reserve restaurants etc.
The Manor is in lovely peaceful rural setting close to Fancourt and George golf courses. It is a very comfortable homely place where you are treated more like house guests rather than patrons. Great breakfasts! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malvern Manor Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Manor Country Guest House

Address: Boshoff Street | De Zoete Inval Farm Estate, Blanco, George 6530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malvern Manor Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 4 star, luxury guest house in Cape Dutch style, on a country estate, Beautiful mature gardens with a solar heated swimming pool, abundant birdlife in a tranquil, quiet location. Breakfast cooked to order, using fresh local ingredients where available. Well appointed, individually decorated, en-suite rooms, personalised individual service with attention to detail. Internet access, t.v. Sky. Close to Fancourt golfing estate, plus 3 other Championship GOLF courses, beaches and local airport. Surrounded by stunning mountain views and country walks. Romantic getaway, leisure or business. Non smoking. Peaceful, private, secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Malvern Manor Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malvern Manor Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.