We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves B & B

The Waves B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waves B & B
Save
You added The Waves B & B to your Saves list
6 Beach Road | Victoria Bay, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 50 George B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Charming place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at The Waves 27 April 2012, our room was delightful, bathroom big!
Breakfast was a dream on the terrace, over looking the bay with dolphins playing in the sun. Iain is a wonderful host and even provided heated cushions to keep us warm.
You do not get personal attention like this in hotels, we would most certainly go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Vic Bay is one of the most beautiful little bays I've been to. Consists of about 15 properties in a row, seperated from the sea by a narrow road/walkway. You can literally stand on your deck and spit into the ocean (not saying you should, just a figure of speech). Only residents can bring their cars onto the front road, so there is no problems with parking and congestion. I had stayed at the Waves B&B before and it was wonderful. However, the owners also have a 4-bedroom self-catered apartment about 3 doors down from the Waves and this is where we stayed this time (October 2011). It was perfect as we were 4 guys on a 6-day golf tour, so we each got our own room (you know how guys get when they have to share a bedroom). We also had a huge open-plan lounge/dining/kitchen area, leading onto a deck overlooking the sea. We really could not have asked for a better setup.
Vic Bay is really very central if you are looking to visit the towns along the garden route, or play some of the many top golf courses in the area. Mossel Bay (Pinnacle Point Golf Course) is about 50km to the West. Knysna, a jewel of the Garden Route (and home to Pezula and Simola golf courses) is about 50km to the East, and then George is about 5km inland from Vic Bay. Aside from a range of courses (Fancourt, Oubaai, Kingswood, George cc, etc) George is also the largest town in the area, with malls, movies, bars, clubs etc. if that is your thing.
Although we did not see much of Iain and Lisa, we knew they were there if we needed anything, and they were very friendly and helpful when we did see them. For us, that was perfect.
I would most definitely recommend this venue, whether at the B&B or in one of the self catered units. It is perfectly situated, and to go to sleep with the sound of the ocean less than 30m away, is special, as is waking up to a cup of coffee and breakfast looking at a stunning sunrise over the sea.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed here in January 2011, touring SA with my husband. I'd done a lot of homework, and was looking for a small, quiet friendly B & B with sea views to die for. From the minute we booked the owners were extremely helpful and accommodating. We knew the Bay was small, and that there was a small beach type cafe. We also knew about the parking arrangements, and the owners met us at the gate with a key for the residents parking. It's a B & B, which in the UK means that you're staying in a part of someone's own property, it's not a full service hotel and our experience was far and above our expectations. The owners went out of their way to make us welcome. Such a lovely couple and not at all intrusive. We stayed in a double room in the right hand side of the house, which was absolutely beautiful. Great bathroom and a small lounge, the bedroom had double doors and shutters onto the verandah at the front which you could secure at night and we felt so at home and safe it was perfect. The attention to the small homely details was just perfect. We were really made welcome and the breakfast - WOW! just to die for. Beautifully home cooked fresh food. Stylishly presented with love and care.
We spent two really comfortable nights here chilling out and it was a perfect base to see the surrounding area from.
It's just soooo nice, I really can't describe just how nice it is. I would definitely recommend it, it's simply fabulous!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms in the main house are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Victoria Bay is a beautiful, blissful spot, spoilt by the owner , who one reviewer refers to as 'quite a character'. I say. Any peace is shattered by her bombarding one with her personal problems, foul language + rather unpleasant opinions about the new South Africa. If you use MTN cell, reception here is impossible. Parking is very difficult. Restaurants are quite a distance [Wilderness] There are other smaller guest houses, less pretentious, but far more pleasant in Victoria Bay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

This B&B is in a perfect location on the bay and we stayed in Tidals which overlooks the sea. We only stayed for one night and would have loved another as it was lovely to be so close to the sea and Liza was extremely hospitable. She is a true character!

We had lunch at the bar / café on the beach and it was pleasant enough. For dinner we drove into Wilderness and had pasta at the Old Post Office / Pomodoro. That had a nice buzzy vibe about it.

Decor in Tidals could be described as dated but it is absolutely spotless and well looked after. Breakfast was delightful on the balcony in the main house and Liza looked after us so well. She is so proud of her establishment and rightly so! She is also so proud that English gentry have stayed with them and their thank you letters are framed in reception.

  • Liked — Fantastic location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

We've been lucky enough to stay with Liza and Iain nine times since finding this place via South African Affair in 1997.
We've basically found a little piece of paradise @ Victoria Bay and the hosts added that little something more.
The location is splendid and breakfast looking over the Indian Ocean is a real pleasure.
Accommadation is great, especially TIdals which has a really luxurious feel and is slightly separate from the main house.
A simply beautiful place made more special by wonderful hosts.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

My husband and I stayed at The Waves, Victoria Bay, South Africa, for three nights in April 2006. We actually stayed in one of their self catering apartments called Tidals - it was fantastic. It had private parking, a decking area overlooking the beach, a lounge & TV, bedroom, kitchen (also fantastically equipped) and a large bathroom. From the bathroom you get access to a secluded courtyard style garden which was lovely. The Waves is right on the beach with amazing views. Only guests can take their cars to the beach as you need a key to get onto the small lane that runs along the cove. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for us! We had breakfast one morning and it was excellent - all home cooked/made. The apartment was serviced every day where you even have your electric blanket in your bed turned on for you ready for the evenings (it's a lot cooler as you're right on the sea). The apartment was excellently equipped.

The surf was excellent there!

There is a small restaurant at Victoria Bay which serves food through the day and evening. We ate there once - it's a basic cafe style restaurant. The food was quite basic but very nice - not at all fancy.

We drove to Mosell Bay from here which took us about 40 minutes and also to Oudtshorn which took just under one hour so this is a perfect base if you're looking at doing shark diving (mossel bay) and ostrich riding (Oudtshoorn). There's even a large shopping complex just at the top of the hill leaving down the bay.

This place was fantastic and I highly recommend it - it's well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waves B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves B & B

Address: 6 Beach Road | Victoria Bay, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.