We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel experience after many years of using holiday apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel King George

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel King George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel King George
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in George
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hotel experience after many years of using holiday apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about staying in a hotel because I stopped this long ago as I do not like being confined to one room. I was pleasantly surprised by the large room I got with two queen beds, a huge flat screen, a desk, hairdryer, a bath with aseparate shower and to top it all a huge balcony with a garden table and four chairs! Quite impressive I have to say although these might be standard to those who use hotels, it was an incredible experience for me and the breakfasr was just as wonderful! I will definitely think about stating at an hotel again after this lovely experience. oh not to forget the beautiful grounds and the golf course.

Room Tip: Request to sleep in the main building not the outside rooms. Rooms on the one side have a separate s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel King George, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel King George and that we restored your faith in hotels in general.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
21
26
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northants, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very pleasant large room in main house, with big balcony overlooking golf course & mountains. Impressive staircase from reception area. However, there are many small rooms in the grounds, occupied by groups while we were there. This meant that breakfast was very noisy.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our large room in the main house overooking the golf course and mountains, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel King George, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and the feedback on your stay at our hotel. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to always keep on improving where possible.
Your comments are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that if you travel down to South Africa again that we can welcome you back to our hotel and have the opportunity to show your Protea Hospitality at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KualaLumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First time in George. Good location overlooking the golf course and the mountains, if you are staying in their single rooms. The rooms have individual terraces, which allows you to enjoy the view while sipping away your drinks. 10-15 min walk to the town but if you have a car handy its few min. The staff is helpful and has a good B'Fast buffet. Room Service is efficient and the food was warm and tasty. If plans materialize, will be visiting again with the family. Ask for Conrad to have a great stay at this property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel King George, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your postive comments and feedback after your recent stay at our hotel.
It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back during your next trip to South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was a business weekend event and I traveled with my wife. The hotel staff were very friendly at check-in and during meals. The hotel is well located close to town, freeway, the airport and some of the regions most popular golf courses.

Although it was just myself and my wife, I wish I had brought my 5 year old son as the hotel is children friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable.

it was my first time at this hotel and I will surely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although in a great setting, the last thing you want when you lay back and relax is shouting children. Make sure when you book in they don't give you a room next to a family of un controlled children running about shouting till late at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Earlier this week I visited this hotel with the view to stay in the future and check out their conferencing facilities for future dates. I also happened to visit the bar and as luck would have it it was " happy hour ". When paying for the drink I was horrified to see that I was charged R17 for a 200ml soda and R17 for a 200ml dry lemon . On quering this the barman asked me to take it up with the manager which I duly did. His response was unsympathetic with a sort of take it or leave it attitude. My suggestion is that if ever you choose to stay in this hotel TAKE YOUR OWN DRINKS because at their prices your bar account might turn out more than the accommodation. My suggestion to the hotel is that they re-name happy hour to " unhappy hour ". Happy hour as the name suggests should be half price !!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The service we received from the moment we arrived was excellent. The staff is very competent and every staff member contributes to a memorable stay. The room was spacious with all the facilities needed to make our stay as relaxed as possible. Supper and breakfast was a feast as there was a variety of food and every dish was of a high quality. Sitting on the porch before supper we had the most beautiful view of the Outeniqua Mountains. It was the perfect ending to a perfect day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel King George

Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel King George 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country’s top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones’ throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel King George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.