We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Far Hills Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Far Hills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Far Hills Country Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed overnight - we had a lovely large bedroom with a beautiful view of the mountains. Very large bed which was very comfortable. Very clean. On arrival the reception staff was friendly and took us to our room - walked through lovely gardens. Our only gripe is that when we went to the restaurant at night the young waitress on duty had no clue what was going on. We eventually had to order through somebody else. When the food eventually came it was good. All in all we did enjoy our stay in the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prieur, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive and useful comments. We had some student helping out over the Easter holidays, so service was not up to our usual standards. We are a family run hotel with the slogan “Touch the Earth, Feel at Home”. We hope that our guest feel at home in our hotel. To us that is the most important thing. We are currently busy with a upgrade and actively addressing all the suggestions made to us by our customers. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
26
32
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

well lets begin. the rooms we paid for was 550 for a double room. with no fridch. a very noice old aircon. 1 light out in the pathroom. using old towels. they are torn. loose tiles in the showers poor repair job the refit the tiles. the pathroom door does not close. struggle to open when stuck. your bed side table drawer does not open. when you arive after coming back at night. there is no lights at the enterance of the hotel. parking is a problem. the good things about this place. friendly staff. nice garden close to atractions. nice pool erea. food is nice. not a good experiance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prieur, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for the helpful hints. We had a lightning strike in the area that took out some lights, we have fixed the problem and all is well. We are also busy with a upgrade on the rooms and it should be finished in the next couple of weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed the night recently as they hosted her wedding reception. What can I say, the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist in any way possible. The food was terrific. My mother is coeliac and we were reassured by the chef which food was safe (which I might add was only one dish!).

Morning breakfast was a treat and the views are fantastic.

Overall, very satisfied and would recommend as a venue to all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked a two night standard room for a 2 night stay.We booked quite late and were surprised to get a room for the price that we did.The reception area looks great and the staff is friendly but where this establishment lets its guests down is with the condition of the rooms. It is stuffy and smelly...the bedding does not appear to be neat and freah and the air-conditioning was not working and there was no fan available as a back-up.We therefore had to sleep with the sliding doors that leads outside onto the grounds...open.
All was not doom and gloom though...the grounds is lovely and the pool area was a joy for the kids who was in the water whenever we were at the hotel.We were even allowed to have our own little barbecue at the pool which was really great. I'd love to scaore this place better based on the experiences outside of the room but it unfortunately could not make up for our discomfort. This could be a wonderful place to stay IF the rooms is brought up to the quality that a place like this demands. Breakfast was average to good.A classic case of the bad outweighing the good and therefore I will not be back anytime soon and unless someone finds this place via the internet, I will not be recommending it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

They I would stay here again. They say Atlanta georgia is know for its friendly people. However western cape George. Perhaps due to the location on the map and similar name also has incredible hospitality. The staff were so friendly. The rooms were big and the views of the mountains spectacular. I even got to go on a small hiking trail although the trail is still being built so not good for a long hike. The best part about it was there is a wellness clinic attached to the hotel and I got to have a really good massage from a highly trained therapists.

This place is uber calming and perhaps good for a stressed out business traveler after a long week of hotels. I would def stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed from 3 nights in Feb 13 along with 2 other couples. From booking the rooms via email to checking in was so easy and smooth. We were greeted like old friends and shown to our rooms which were on upper level with amazing views. The aircon was on the blink but there were helpful offer of a fan but it felt so safe we just slept with balcony doors wide open. The food and drinks were amazing value and the atmosphere was great. Would definitely stay again if back in the area.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Hired the conference venue for the week. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. All our resellers were very happy with the venue for the product training. Waiter always made sure that the resellers had tea, coffee or a cooldrink to drink. Free WiFi on the deck, pub and restaurant areas. Had supper with our customer the one evening. 8 steaks were made and not one complaint. Best Burgers in town, crispy chips and fresh salads. Rooms have a excellent view. A well priced cosy pub is always inviting after a long days work with a fire place for the winters. Nice thing about the hotel is that you don't need to leave at night to have supper. Supper on the deck with the best view in the area. Breakfast in the morning is always good to get you going for the day! A perfect home away from home for all reps.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prieur, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give a positive review. People are often quick to criticize, a sort of emotional release. Not many find it necessary to give a positive review. It says a lot about you as a person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Hills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.