We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concerns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Far Hills Country Hotel

Save Saved
You added Far Hills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Far Hills Country Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in George
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Concerns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Far Hills for 2 nights in a standard room. I was surprised by the price, but understood why it was so cheap once I got there. Although the staff were friendly and pleasant, the room was DINGY. The curtains were coming off their hooks, the walls were filthy - a blood red handprint right in my line of sight at the entrance (you couldn't miss it) and a distinct smell of urine in the bathroom when we arrived. My initial reaction - thank goodness I'm only staying 2 nights! On the plus side, the pool was fantastic for our kids and what a festive place it becomes in the evenings!! almost made up for the run down rest of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
30
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg, south africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is our fifth day at far Hills. It is our hotel of choice in the Garden Route. Nothing can match the beautiful view that greets you when you walk out from reception onto the large deck where you can do breakfast lunch, dinner or drinks under the gentle shade of the giant oak tree. Service is amazing. Waiters seem genuinely happy to be of service to you and truly make you feel at home. Premium rooms are spacious with fantastic views of the far hills. Priced the same and often more affordable as other places in the area that can't match Far Hills on any of the above.

Room Tip: Pay the small premium for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved our time at Far Hills mostly because of the staff. They were personal, fun, and helpful whenever we needed. It's located just outside George amongst a beautiful backdrop of the mountains. There were sometimes things left broken, unclean, or unsightly, and our room was never cleaned over two nights there. The staff is very warm and lovely but not always on the details! But overall I would recomend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed two nights at Far Hills recently and it's a place of conflicting messages. On the positive side, the staff are very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We really felt like they were there to help us. On the other hand, so many items in our room were dirty or falling apart (patio door handle broken off, previous guest's dried up gum on soap dispenser in shower, etc). Having kids we were excited to see the little playground in the back garden, but upon closer inspection most of the items were broken and unsafe for playing on. The pool is large and inviting from a distance, but quite dirty when you get up close. Some of the other positives were the Christmas Craft market they were hosting, the delicious breakfast food (and the super chipper breakfast chef), the vibe around the restaurant, the free internet in the bar area, and the overall attitude of the staff. The location is great for traveling through the area as it is literally on the N2.
Ultimately, you get what you pay for at Far Hills. If you want to save some money and you're willing to deal with a few issues, then you'll appreciate this place. If you aren't okay with a few flaws, you better book somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is fantastic value for money. It's located just outside George, before Wilderness, set in beautiful grounds just off the main road. The staff were fantastic, the food was fantastic and the service was fantastic. We stayed in room 10 which has been mentioned previously!! This room was exceptional - great size, spotlessly clean, and the views are just amazing. I would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone..
PS. A Big Thank You to Prieur du Plessis for recommending Birds of Eden, which we managed to fit in. A great place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having been delayed by stricking farmworkers a very late arrival resulted in profuse apologies from the reception staff that the bar had just been closed - and this was after midnight !!

Friendly staff, a huge and comfortable room with outstanding views and a great breakfast...for a moderate price.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Far Hills during our drive down the Garden Route on our way to Cape Town. The staff were very friendly, the room excellent with amazing views and a great pub to relax.
We ate in the pub in the evening and the ribs straight from the braai were brilliant and very good value for money. Breakfast in the morning was also good and we finally found a chef on our journey who knew how to cook fried eggs to perfection :-)
Thanks to everyone for the service we received during our brief stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Hills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.