We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far Hills Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Far Hills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Far Hills Country Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
johannesburg, south africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“christmas 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is our fifth day at far Hills. It is our hotel of choice in the Garden Route. Nothing can match the beautiful view that greets you when you walk out from reception onto the large deck where you can do breakfast lunch, dinner or drinks under the gentle shade of the giant oak tree. Service is amazing. Waiters seem genuinely happy to be of service to you and truly make you feel at home. Premium rooms are spacious with fantastic views of the far hills. Priced the same and often more affordable as other places in the area that can't match Far Hills on any of the above.

Room Tip: Pay the small premium for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
26
32
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved our time at Far Hills mostly because of the staff. They were personal, fun, and helpful whenever we needed. It's located just outside George amongst a beautiful backdrop of the mountains. There were sometimes things left broken, unclean, or unsightly, and our room was never cleaned over two nights there. The staff is very warm and lovely but not always on the details! But overall I would recomend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed two nights at Far Hills recently and it's a place of conflicting messages. On the positive side, the staff are very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We really felt like they were there to help us. On the other hand, so many items in our room were dirty or falling apart (patio door handle broken off, previous guest's dried up gum on soap dispenser in shower, etc). Having kids we were excited to see the little playground in the back garden, but upon closer inspection most of the items were broken and unsafe for playing on. The pool is large and inviting from a distance, but quite dirty when you get up close. Some of the other positives were the Christmas Craft market they were hosting, the delicious breakfast food (and the super chipper breakfast chef), the vibe around the restaurant, the free internet in the bar area, and the overall attitude of the staff. The location is great for traveling through the area as it is literally on the N2.
Ultimately, you get what you pay for at Far Hills. If you want to save some money and you're willing to deal with a few issues, then you'll appreciate this place. If you aren't okay with a few flaws, you better book somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is fantastic value for money. It's located just outside George, before Wilderness, set in beautiful grounds just off the main road. The staff were fantastic, the food was fantastic and the service was fantastic. We stayed in room 10 which has been mentioned previously!! This room was exceptional - great size, spotlessly clean, and the views are just amazing. I would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone..
PS. A Big Thank You to Prieur du Plessis for recommending Birds of Eden, which we managed to fit in. A great place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having been delayed by stricking farmworkers a very late arrival resulted in profuse apologies from the reception staff that the bar had just been closed - and this was after midnight !!

Friendly staff, a huge and comfortable room with outstanding views and a great breakfast...for a moderate price.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Far Hills during our drive down the Garden Route on our way to Cape Town. The staff were very friendly, the room excellent with amazing views and a great pub to relax.
We ate in the pub in the evening and the ribs straight from the braai were brilliant and very good value for money. Breakfast in the morning was also good and we finally found a chef on our journey who knew how to cook fried eggs to perfection :-)
Thanks to everyone for the service we received during our brief stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

No matter what type of travellor you are, there is very little you could find that surpasses the value for money that Far hills offers, from the warm welcome, till the moment you leave and feel like you need to stay a few more days, this was my third visit and each time my eyes are opened to the tranquility and peace the country hotel offers, waking to the hills, whether you choose to take in the view from your well serviced room or the viewing deck, its simply breathtaking, The staff are friendly and after a few days you feel a bit like family, yet get on with their business with efficiency, any small matters were dealt with. The relaxed atmosphere is carried through the entire hotel, breakfast is leisurley and uncomplicated just what you would expect from a farm enviroment yet should cater to all tastes, the menu for lunch and supper varied and no matter what time of the day a Far hills burger hit the spot for me, I listened to other diners and they enjoyed their portions and couldnt believe the value for money and how good the food was. A weekly braai for the guests was a great surprise and a few mingled around the fire at leisure enjoying pleasant copnversation and a few evening drinks. Unsurpassed views, walks through the well kept garden, Vic Bay, George and Wilderness a short distance away add to the experience. The Staff have hardly changed over the period of my three stays and are knowledgeble and always happy to advise if you need information. The evenings can be spent on he deck or in the bar where locals and travellors alike from all walks of life exchange stories and share drinks around the fire in winter. I will definately be back and would recommend the hotel to anyone whether its a holiday away from the hustle and bustle to a overnight stay, the tranquility along with the peace in such a relaxed enviroment with friendly staff alone is worth the spend and will have me coming back again and again. PS if you Love birding and photography you will be blown away from the Weavers above the deck to the owls in the garden and valley a birders delight.

Room Tip: Room 16 is a winner with sweeping views of the far hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Hills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.