We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“woken up by room service at 2.30am” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fancourt

Save Saved
You added Fancourt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fancourt
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in George
cape town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“woken up by room service at 2.30am”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

On our way back to Cape Town we booked two nights at Fancourt. When we checked in they informed us that the kids had to sleep upstairs but that it was easy for them to go to our room downstairs. The rooms have a front door which we locked from the inside before going to bed. Since we have young children we left the individual rooms to our suites open. At 2.30am we heard somebody coming into the front door and stepping in. We got an enourmous fright and jumped out of bed to investigate, luckily we could not find anybody inside and our kids were save upstairs. When coming back in the hallway somebody knocked at our door, he said he was from room service to collect the breakfast orders. I could hardly believe that somebody just walks into a room which we locked from the inside, especially at 2.30am. I phoned reception and they were very passive, they reacted like "oh is he doing it again at this time, we will inform security". Apparently the gentleman was indeed working for the hotel. When we tested the front door it appeared that, although we thought it was locked, you could open it from the outside. We barricaded the door and tried to get some sleep, which was difficult . In the morning we contacted reception again, they promised to fix the front door. When I called again a couple of hours later they told me the front door could not be fixed. I found that hard to believe because it has a lock. The only thing they could do is to instruct room service not to just come into our room. Not satisfied with the situation we barricaded the door again for the second night. All in all a very disappointing experience. The rooms are clean but have cheap finishings. Ttv and the appliances are all of inferior brands, Service was poor because they are not well informed and did not follow up on our issue. This hotel does not deserve 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    38
    7
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
66
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

This is a hotel for golfers with great walking trails. We stayed at an owner lodge and we were not treated with the same courtesy as if we were staying at the actual hotel. Maybe it's supposed to work that way. The Reception staff were not very helpful.... Maybe this is just not the place for us. They had lovely grounds, exercise room, pools, etc, etc. The units were wonderful, but some things did not work well and it was impossible to get help. Considering this is a 5 star establishment, I expected better. I might recommend the hotel, but with some reservations.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an organised golf trip. We had standard rooms which were a little small but comfortable for a short stay. Three of the restaurants were closed as the hotel was quiet. On the first night we ate in La Cantina restaurant which was quite poor. The service wasn't great and the presentation and quality of the food was poor. On the second night we went into George and had an excellent meal for about half the price. We played the Outeniqua and Montagu courses which were excellent, as were all the golfing staff and Caddies. Well worth a 2 or 3 day visit to play the golf courses.

  • Liked — The golf
  • Disliked — The restaurant La Cantina
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

This is one of the cases where you have to separate infrastructure from the human factor. While the grounds, rooms, and facilities are very nice and well kept, the service has been surprisingly poor, especially considering this is a LHW property.

Some examples:
- I am a Leaders Club member, usually this provides a room upgrade, welcome amenity, and late checkout. Well, here it provided none of the above, not even when specifically asked for it.
- There is a driving range next to the main building which is for 'warm up only', whereas another driving range is further away (need for shuttle). Even when there is nobody using the warm up area (and there is space for 20 players) they still would not let you use it.
- the range closes at 5, one evening our meeting finished around 5, and several of us rushed to the range to hit a few balls. They told us "we are closing", so we were not provided with balls, even though there was daylight until 7.
- Checkout time is 11. I asked for an extended checkout time of 2pm (see above) which was declined, and not even 12 or 1 was offered. On my day of departure I was woken up by housekeeping at 08h30, banging on my door and asking whether I still needed my room (keeping in mind my room was never serviced before 12 or later on the previous days). I then put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, only to have the guy checking the minibar walking straight into my room (knocking on the door while opening it at the same time) when I was naked in the bathroom.

I complained to reception, but there was nothing but 'oh really, well we are sorry'. This is not LHW, not 5 Star, this is just poor. Too bad for the nice facilities.

On another note, the greenfees are very expensive for South African standards (700 Rand for the two on-site courses, 1800 for the links), you can play for 250 Rand or less any of the equally nice courses in the region.

I have stayed at the Arabellasheraton in Kleinmond, which was a way superior experience.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

We stayed at Fancourt for 2 nights in the middle of a recent holiday to SA. We wanted to go somewhere mid-way through the holiday where we could relax and chill out for a couple of days, and Fancourt seemed to have everything we wanted.

Fancourt is, first and foremost, a golf destination, then a spa and hotel. As such, it’s a slightly peculiar set-up. The main building houses the golf club house and pro shop, bar, restaurants, shops, check-in area and spa. The bedrooms are elsewhere. Some are in the old manor house, which is just across the courtyard, but we had booked a suite, so once we had finished checking in, we were whisked by golf buggy to our room which was about 500 metres from the club house. It was almost like a little development of town houses, and felt a bit peculiar being set so far away from the bar and restaurants, and having to put on coats and scarves to walk to dinner! We were told to ring the porters each time we wanted to go back up to the main building, but the grounds of the hotel are so beautiful that we enjoyed the walk, and didn’t bother calling them again until we were checking out and needed to be reunited with our car.

The suite was modern and sleek, decorated in neutral colours and light wood (although, dare I say it, it was a touch bland for my taste). Nevertheless, the bed and sofas were extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was something of a haven, with a slightly sunken bath set into the window alcove so you could lie in the bath and look out the window.

We ate in 2 of the restaurants (Sansibar and La Pecheur), and the food in both was lovely. The sushi in La Pecheur is especially good. We also had lunch in the club house bar, and we had no complaints there.

The golf credentials of Fancourt are well known. They are justifiably proud of the courses, and there is a course for every level of ability - all are spectacularly set and a joy to walk around.

The spa is the main attraction for non-golfers. As well as the spa treatment rooms, there is a pool, Jacuzzi, Roman bath, steam room, etc. Cleverly, the hotel also has a separate leisure centre/pool for families, which is in a different location, so the emphasis in the spa is on relaxation and quiet time.

All told, if you’re looking for a hotel that offers great leisure and relaxation, Fancourt might well be worth a visit.

Oh, incidentally, the photo that appears on the top of the main review page (the one with the fish tank) is NOT a bedroom, as stated in the caption, but is the reception area of the spa.

  • Liked — The fantastci facilities - golf, spa, restaurants
  • Disliked — That the rooms were separate - a pain if it's raining!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

We were upgraded to a suite, at the garden level, very spacious and nicely decorated, but with a terrible mouldy smell. After some insistance, the next day we were moved to another room at the first floor. This was OK.
The setting and the gardens are beautiful, but the service is not at the level of a 5 stars hotel.
The breakfast buffet e.g. is not neat (flies) and the food not properly kept (no refirgeration). Even the cutlery is not clean, we have seen the waiters leaving some forks and knives on the table for the next guests.
The food in Zanzibar restaurant was acceptable and not expensive, but we were served some cheese which looked like some leftovers of the breakfast.
Even in the Spa there are some problems with cleanliness and control.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

Booked historic manor room but were upgraded to garden suite room which seemed to happen to a number of people. We were a bit sceptical but the suites overlooking the beautiful gardens are superb. The receptionist had not made it clear they were offering us a better room!
We used the hotel as a touring base for the Garden Route which worked fine but this hotel would be a more obvious choice for golfers. The grounds are beautiful, the leisure facilities are superb but I really did not appreciate the food at this price level.
Although the hotel is good especially for golfers I am inclined to think I would stay further east for the best of the Garden Route.
Nonetheless, it was a great 6 night break.

  • Liked — the garden suites
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fancourt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.