We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makarios on Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Makarios on Sea to your Saves list
Makarios on Sea
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   4 Gericke Corner | Herolds Bay, George 6530, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Prime spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Makarios in the Whale unit very much. Really cannot think of anything negative to report; just lots of positives. It is a great place to stay, luxurious, meticulously neat and spotlessly clean. And of course, right on the beach. In our opinion, Makarios is situated in THE prime spot of spots in the whole of Herolds Bay. Makarios will see us again. For sure! Malans from Pretoria, South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We do appreciate your positive comments about our establishment right on the beach.Thank you for noticing the effort of my dedicated staff to keep everything spotlessly clean and up to standard.
We are proud to welcome appreciative guests. Looking forward to you return visit. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the spectacular sea view, hospitality and lovely self catering units. We will definetly return as this is now one of our favourites weekend destinations. All units have DSTV, dish washing mashines and everything you may require to ensure that your stay here is comfortable and an unforgetable experience. Thank you Antoinette!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Manager at Makarios on Sea, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Weekend guests! Your positive review was a great way to start a new week. Thank you! We are looking forward to welcome you back for a another relaxing and enjoyable weekend,with all the home comforts one needs. DSTV allows all to watch their favourite program and who wants to do the dishes even if you are only a couple?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Makarios on sea is the ultimate bucket and spade holiday for families; comfortable, attractive and right on the beach. The location can't be beaten and the units are intelligently equipped. The only thing missing is a place to dry/hang towels, costumes etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi to the True- Van Wyks! It was great to have a happy family as our guests. Unfortunately the only way to dry beach towels and swim suites is on the balcony. The stand is the size of a post stamp!
Pull out drying racks on the wall on the balconies do not last in the salty sea air. Being right on the beach does have its down side!! Hope to see you in future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location and wonderful hosts.
Everything we needed was there, and the daily servicing was a special treat.
Definitely the best location in Heroldsbay, just meters from the beach.
Units were well equipped, reasonably spacious and very tidy.
We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,thank you for taking the time to respond to the review request. We do value the opinion of our guests. We are always ready and willing to welcome you back at Makarios on Sea @ Herold;s Bay ! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay was so relaxing and enjoyable. It was just what we were looking for. The owners were so helpful and friendly, and the apartment offered almost everything you would need, including an amazing view! The ground floor apartment (Dolphin) came with a bbq (charcoal) grill, which was great for this self-catering accommodation!
The only con: no wifi. The owners offered a pay-for-access card, but given the remoteness of the location, we were never able to get wifi. Not the worst thing ever for a beach holiday but something to keep in mind.
The town was small and sleepy, which was very nice for a few days. However, it may get old if staying for than 3 or 4 days so something else to keep in mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guests,thank you for the kind comments re our establishment! It's a great to hear positive things from visitors from abroad who enjoyed the beauty of our sea side village. The wi fi does not play it's part though- at times the reception is good and at times it is not- apparently it depends on the type of cell phone one has ! ? The smarter the phone ,the stronger the signal must be. Our sleepy hollow does not keep up with technology to that extent !!! I hope the lovely view compensated for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Makarios. We were received with enthusiasm. The rooms are well equipt with stunning ocean views.

Thank you to Louis and Antoinette for going the extra mile to making our getaway special

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear guests, we appreciate the time you took to write your kind review about your stay at Makarios on Sea. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests who appreciate our effort for a memorable
stay. Have a blessed Christmas and a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We loved every moment of our stay at Makarios On Sea! We booked the Seagull-room, but decided to go a day earlier, so we had to stay in the Seahorse-room.

The Seahorse-room (and smaller rooms) is comfortable and luxurious - perfect if you're only going to stay for a night or two. And complete with oven, microwave and dishwasher!
But the highlight of our trip was definitely the Seagull-room (or the bigger apartment-type rooms). It's spacious and extremely comfortable! Self-catering accommodation at it's best. And gorgeous views over the whole Herold's Bay.

Antoinette, we'll definitely be back. Thank you for your hospitality and friendliness. It is an absolute joy to stay with Makarios On Sea!

Room Tip: The larger rooms are definitely worth spending more money on. Spacious, with balconies and braai-ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
What a perfect way to go into "silly season" with a review like this! I sincerely appreciate you kind comments and useful advice for future guests. COOL!!! Have a blessed Christmas and hope to see on a return visit in the New Year.( the SEAGULL unit will be ready for you).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makarios on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makarios on Sea

Address: 4 Gericke Corner | Herolds Bay, George 6530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Makarios on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makarios on Sea is in the heart of the Garden Route from where one can explore the beauty of this area. Makarios on Sea offers a choice of 5 fully equipped self catering holiday apartments right on the beach. All units have sea view to a more or lesser extent. Serviced from Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Makarios on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makarios on Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.