We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outeniqua Travel Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Outeniqua Travel Lodge to your Saves list
Outeniqua Travel Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   70 CJ Langenhoven Road | Heatherlands, George, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in George
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
1 review
“Great Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I spent one night with my boyfriend at the travel lodge and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a nice room with the most fluffy pillows ever. Nice big and clean en suite bathroom. the garden is beautiful, chill by the pool! You can leave your car in the secured parking area in the garage. The communal space is nice, books and comfy chairs everywhere, create a very relaxed atmosphere.Good place to stay in George as you are close to the city center but far from the city noise.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    2
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
12
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Rooms small, very smelly bathroom, lacking any amenities (no shampoo,no air con, very little soap!!).Pretty little pool, beautiful garden but room tiny (no tv, poor wifi signal) and also noisy from truck traffic all night. The male owner quite unpleasant person. Definitely for 375 rand pp you get very very little. Not recommended!!

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

The Owners of the hostel were really friendly and helpful. They gave us good information about where to hike and they even took us there by car and then picked us up when we finished hiking. This has been the cheapest place we have been so far in South Africa and probably it has been the hostel with better quality we have stayed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for a night. Our room was extremely clean, as was the kitchen, dining and lounge area. Unlike some of the backpackers I have stayed at in the past, I felt comfortable preparing and cooking a meal here due to its high standards. The lodge has a relaxed feel and felt very homely. The garden is beautiful and covered in flowers. There is free Wifi and free use of the computer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights and had a very relaxing and comfortable time. The owners were extremely friendly and approachable, and it's a good opportunity to meet and chat to interesting people. The location is convenient and within easy access to the centre, airport, and all other amenities. The room, which seemed to be the family room, was of a good size (for a couple). I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stopped over en-route from CapeTown to Jhb. Very 'back-packer' at hotel rates. Rooms small, hot and lacking any amenities like a/c, tv or shampoo etc. The owners are accommodating and we got a small noisy fan but didn't sleep from the heat. Nice venue with pretty pool and secure. VERY noisy from truck traffic all night.

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking pool but, honestly, we would avoid staying there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have visited Outeniqua Travel Lodge 3 times this year, and every time it felt like I was arriving at 'my home away from home'. Jack (the jack russel) and Pansy (the boss cat) always gives me a warm, loving welcome, as does both Sue and Dawie. The accommodation is comfortable, neat and the garden an oasis to enjoy and admire. I will continue making a pitstop there in future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outeniqua Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outeniqua Travel Lodge

Address: 70 CJ Langenhoven Road | Heatherlands, George, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Outeniqua Travel Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outeniqua Travel Lodge is well-loved for it's affordable (never ‘cheap’!) accommodation. Clean, cosy and convivial it has become a well known meeting place for independent travellers from all over the world. The style is like ‘spotting your professor in his t-shirt’. You will encounter professionalism and taste where it matters, but in a very gentle and laid-back atmosphere.Be warned, they are unashamedly snobbish. They won't charge you a lot of money but will require a lot of attitude, values and intellect!Ignore the grumpy owner (who is capable of faking a friendly smile now and again) and rather mix with the adventurous young guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Outeniqua Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outeniqua Travel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.