We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple and Spice

Apple and Spice
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple and Spice
Save
You added Apple and Spice to your Saves list
36 Sidwell Avenue | Heather Park, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 50 George B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay with Erica, who is a most welcoming host. The guest house is in a good area, has a pretty garden, and we felt extremely safe. The delicious freshly cooked breakfast starts the day off beautifully. A bonus for us was being " guinea pigs " for a trip that Pierre, a friend of Erica's, is in the throes of organising for visitors. Pierre drove us over a mountain pass, we had breakfast and an excellent wine tasting at Herold wine farm, then we were transported back to George on the " power van " railway. We learned a lot about the history of the area, and the flora and fauna.
All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lovely guest house. Received a great welcome from Erica who gave us lots of advice about activities in the area. Very hospitable. Like home away from home. Swimming pool and patio with great view just outside our room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Kudo's to the owner of this beautiful property overlooking Fancourt golf course - the home is immaculate, the shower is heavenly, the linen plush and the interior and verandah so inviting and peaceful as to discourage one from wanting to leave for whatever reason.

I saw guests kissing the hostess hello and goodbye - it's no wonder, it feels like home from home except better! Well done Erica!!

Room Tip: They're all good, with easy access to verandah's and interior areas, peaceful views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This guest house maintains its high standard and the welcome is always warm and the stay such a pleasure. It really is a home away from home. It is for that reason that it is the only guest house I stay in when I am visiting George.

It is situated in a lovely upmarket residential area, with the owner living on site. It is within easy reach of the main business district and the airport. Bonus of some great golf courses in George and the neighbouring towns.
All 4 rooms have access to garden and swimming pool. The two rooms upstairs have access to a lovely balcony and the two rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the garden via a protected veranda.

Room Tip: Views from one of the rooms are a little restricted, but access to balcony makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this B&B without any recommendation and we were not let down in any way - Erica was the ideal host - the room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional as were her charming friends Molly-Ann & Mike who looked after us in the morning - it was like home from home. Our thanks to you all.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs double room which led onto a lounge area just outside, which was sheltered and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple and Spice

Address: 36 Sidwell Avenue | Heather Park, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heather Park, overlooking the fairways of Fancourt Hotel and Golf Estate, Apple and Spice is the ideal choice for the business- or leisure traveler keen on a round of golf or just looking to relax and unwind in our tranquil surrounds. Our brand new, elegant guest house is centrally located, with the town centre, George Golf Club, Fancourt Estate and all other amenities within easy reach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple and Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.