We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Herolds Bay Road, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is great. Lovely rooms. Great location. Wonderful view from the rooms. However, I was disappointed with the breakfast service in the restaurant. Various holiday groups clashed and there wasn't sufficient place to sit and have breakfast peacefully. One had to wait in a long queues. One had to point out that the food at the buffet is over and needed to be replenished. I felt that they were not equipped to cater to huge crowds.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear SunitaF1
We are pleased to receive your positive responses, as well as the disappointments you experienced with regards to the breakfast service. Please accept my sincere apologies and rest assured that your details have been addressed with the department concerned.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    54
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
55
101
1
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I presented at a conference here and was fortunate enough to stay over. The conference facilities are pretty much that - conference facilities...

the rest of the hotel is anything but average though... the rooms are superbly well sized and equipped; the view of the ocean as well as the mountains are breathtaking and all is complimented by exceptionally friendly and well mannered staff who are only too happy to help.

I didnt get a chance to explore too much; but it looks like there is something for everyone here!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Jingo27
We are thrilled with your positive review and thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa as your destination of choice.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently decided to go away for three days and drove up from Hermanus to George for the trip. We have stayed at some of the other famous properties in that area but we always return to the Hyatt Oubaai. It is really an amazing property and the staff and team there really know how to look after you and make you feel special. We stayed in a very nice room, 327 so if you feel like spending a little more I recommend it. It makes a big difference, enjoying the great views overlooking the pool onto the golf course and the ocean, enjoyed dinner at the lovely Seafood Restaurant (Sea Side Grill??) where again service and food quality was superb, attentive waiters who greeted us by name on the return the next night. We also had a couples massage on the first day and it was very good. Thank you for making our break from our hectic daily schedules so special.

Room Tip: Room 327, Suite facing the Ocean. SeaFood Restaurant on the resort. SPA SPA SPA!!!! Travel to Kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear leonmeyer
We are overjoyed with your positive review. So pleased we could meet all of your requirements and that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Hyatt Oubaai spells an understated elegance of a truly world class golf resort flanked by the ocean on one side and the mountains on the other. The rooms are contemporary and flushed with all the amenities one could ask for. The bathrooms are luxurious and the Waterside Bar & grill is the most romantic place to unwind your evening. It's a shame that we could stay only one night but I would love to come back and explore.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Aparuparayganguly
Thank you for sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a beautiful place to stay and the golf course is awesome. However the front desk left a bit to be desired. After a long drive from Durban we were informed that we could not get a table for supper at the only restaurant that was open. So the only choice we had was room service or go eat out away from the hotel. In general good service but all amenities advertised on web page are not available in off peak season.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear HAZEL-HILLTOP
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to receive your positive responses, as well as the disappointments you experienced during your stay.
We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel perched on the edge of an exquisite coast line. Close enough to airport without the noise. Food was excellent in the waterfront restaurant. Room was fantastic, large, well spaced out with a homely feeling. The only negative thing is there is no wireless connection for iPad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear ian s
We are thrilled with your positive review and thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa as your destination of choice.
Hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is now our third visit to the resort and have always loved every minute of it.

One thing that always stands out is the service and friendliness of all hotel staff from room cleaners to the grounds staff. We were greeted every time we arrived for breakfast or dinner, and this goes along way to add to your experience.

You just need to remember that if you are gluten intolerant to per-order bread with the hotel or bring your own,as a few guests do. They did make me some really nice pasta which even beats some Cape Town gluten free meals.

Also remember there is only one restaurant open for dinner so you need to book. If you don't then room service is your only option, the same for lunch the only place open is the clubhouse which can feel rather not romantic, so rather eat out. Think this only applies in low season. The prices are on par with Cape Town prices on average R70 - R120 per meal.

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed taking day trips. One which I can highly recommend is to take a drive to a restaurant just before Outshoorn, it is approx 30-40 min. It was called Rosenhof, amazing decor & menu but they don't take cards.
We also popped in at RedBerry up the road from the hotel and they were really busy. This is a great tea garden for families or for strawberry lovers alike.
As for Duttons Cove down in Herolds Bay, we have always wanted to eat there as it looks very European but we were very wrong, music was blaring downstairs and rugby upstairs, so hurried back to the peacefulness of the hotel.

The grounds at Oubaai are so well looked after and although it feels a bit quiet or as some trip advisor reviews have said 'eery' it is actually amazing and peaceful.
There is some wear and tear in the bathrooms and staircases but this comes with all hotels.

I must just say that this time around the hotel seems to be full so there are some things not up to scratch.

My only 3 complaints are as follows:

We initially wanted to upgrade to a regency club suite which is in the hotel complex, but on check in none were available. The normal room I had requested was also not allocated, this was sorted and we were given room 330 which is my favorite by far.
I was then told by the front desk we would be told in the morning if we could upgrade. This was never done, I then went and requested 2 more things and she promised to call my room within 5 minutes, I am still waiting. She was the only person on the front desk so I can somehow understand but it's not acceptable. This is seriously the only downfall, but it has never before happened.

On checkin we also got told that the Regency club lounge is closed till Sept, I would not have been happy if I paid to upgrade beforehand and this wasn't available.

Then the wireless issue, this was one of the reasons or us wanting to upgrade to the hotel rooms as there is no wireless in any other rooms. This is a serious problem as we are constantly working or online, as I type this we are using our own 3G on one of our devices. Having a network cable for a laptop doesn't always suffice.

If you are traveling on the flook golf deal remember to book your golf or spa treatments before the hotel. We were the 3rd couple this weekend who lost out on the golf deal.

P.s if you are looking for a honeymoon location then as per any hotel try go out of school holidays or long weekends. Also ask for a quiet dinner table:)

This really a great resort with amazing staff and so much to offer, you really will be blown away by how beautiful it is.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Jadee F
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is only through detailed feedback such as yours, that we are able to improve our service.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased to receive your positive responses, as well as the highlighted areas, which you consider need to be addressed in order to enhance the hotel’s overall operation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is part of the picturesque Oubaai Golf and Lifestyle Centre, a 316-acre upscale residential and golf development on the Garden Route that extends along the Western Cape from Mosselbaai to Port Elizabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.