We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edenwood Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Edenwood Guest House to your Saves list
Edenwood Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Hammerkop Street | Eden, George 6529, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford EC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent accommodation. Dawn and Stan are very friendly hosts and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. The garden is a delight and the pool very inviting. Centrally situated and within easy reach of restaurants. Well recommended

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review, it was a surprise and we truly appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
79
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Dawnve we knew this was going to be a great stay.
The House and garden were lovely and the swimming pool setting charming.Dawnve and Stan have been running this Guest House for18years and their loving attention shows.
Our room had two King size beds,a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden,plenty of storage space and drawers.
The coordinated soft furnishings were delightful.
We were self catering and had a modern kitchen with every item supplied you required.

The setting is very peaceful in a quiet cul de sac road.within a short drive to George.
Stan knows everything about the area and can plan your day if needed.
There are excellent restaurants nearby which we sampled and thoroughly enjoyed.
We did not have breakfast but it smelt wonderful in the morning and looked good.
We did not want to leave but regretfully had to continue to our next stay in Plett Bay.
Dawnve and Stan you really made our stay.Thank you.

Phillip UK

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for the lovely words and your very kind considerations to our little kitten and new doggies whilst you were with us. We got so used to having you here that we were sad to see you leave, but hope to see you again one day soon. We know that flights to our beautiful country are expensive and therefore we aim to try to make everyone enjoy there time spent relaxing and unwinding. Next time I insist you have breakfast on us, and I will make a special plan for your specific dietary needs, as we often do for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a pleasure to stay on the doorstep of paradise. A beautiful garden with sloping lawns and forest backdrop - a true benefit to the South African tourism industry! Serene surrounds, safe and brilliantly clean accommodation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Wow, you really made our day with your lovely review - that is why Edenwood is our own "Garden of Eden", and sharing it with people who can appreciate the tranquility makes us very happy. We are so glad you felt safe and comfortable and hope you will return again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on our trip to George and cannot recommend it more highly. The guest house is surrounded by a beautiful lust garden. The garden cottage has every amenity you could hope for and more (including and iron and ironing board). The service was top notch and the pool offers welcome relief at the end of a long summers day. It is also a must for bird lovers with a wide variety of species spotted in the garden. The breakfasts are a must as well. Keep up the good work Edenwood!

Room Tip: The garden cottage is very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We strive to make every guest's experience a memorable one and the fact that you took the trouble to write a review means a lot to us. Many thanks for the wonderful description of Edenwood and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again one day in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed 2 night in a self accommodation for 2 and we were delighted! Very comfortable and everything you need is there. We would highly recommend this place and if we ever come by George again we would definitively stay there again!THanks to the host who obviously know how to do good business and make us feel at ease!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words, it was a pleasure having such a friendly young couple to stay and we would love to welcome you back sometime in the future. When people take the time to post a review I always appreciate i,t as it makes us feel we are on the right track to making everyone's stay a pleasurable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This establishment offers different room types to satisfy individual needs. Make your choice and get yourself ready for the treat of a lifetime.

It was the best experience ever. There is nothing to complain about!

A special thank you to the hosts for making the stay at Edenwood extremely present. I wish it was possible to have this kind of establishment available in every city across the world that we may visit in future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - choose the option according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot to us. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and we, and our four legged friends, look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were a group of five golfers who stayed at Edenwood for three nights. As such, we just about filled the property and we had it to ourselves. All five rooms were deemed totally satisfactory by what could be only described as a discerning group. Our rooms, which were spread across the two buildings, were comfortable, clean and fully equipped with everything one could need. The breakfasts were top class, and very much cooked to specific orders. The location is quite excellent - within five/six minutes drive of the town centre, right next to the nature reserve. Dawn helped with taxi and restaurant reservations, and was an excellent hostess. I am sure that this group would happily return to Edenwood when next in George - whether as a golf group or with our families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a lovely review of our establishment. It was a great pleasure having such a kind and congenial group and we are glad we were able to add to the success of your tour. We look forward to welcoming you to Edenwood again so time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwood Guest House

Address: 9 Hammerkop Street | Eden, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up-market safe and affordable, friendly guest house in tranquil surroundings on the edge of a nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Edenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.