We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Lodge International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added French Lodge International to your Saves list
French Lodge International
29 York Street, George 6530, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in George
Cape Town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

nothing much to say other than it feels like home-from-home. always friendly and willing to accommodate any queries or changes to TV channels and advice as to where the better places are to go for a meal

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

French Lodge was a lovely romantic getaway for Valentine's Day. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and central to George restaurants & airport. Reasonable wine was available and breakfast very nice too. The only thing we were not impressed with was the coffee and they were very apologetic and happy to supply a better pot. All in all, no complaints and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We flew into George (from JBG) so this was an ideal stop to acclimatise. Just 15 mins from George airport; 15 mins from the beaches, and 2 mins from the main street it's a great location.
The lodge itself was very friendly, clean and simple. A very nice, spacious room overlooking the pool; if you wanted to stay longer the poolside chalets looked very nice.
It's a great stopover place and I would return and recommend...

Room Tip: Poolside rooms/chalets are very nice... If you want something a little quiter ask for the balcony ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am going to be very fair in my review and will include pictures for you to decide for yourself. After reading the reviews on here and also checking out the website I was beyond myself with excitement, thinking of just how awesome this place looked. It was listed as being a 4 star spot and from the pictures on the website it looked fabulous. Well, on the day of our arrival we drove right past the spot thinking that the sign we were passing was another French Lodge because from the sign alone, it looked nothing close to a 4 star spot. Sadly to say, the sign we passed was the entrance, so we turned around and entered the parking lot. First impression, RUN-DOWN. The place from the outside did not look anything like what we expected and when the guard came out to talk to us, we really had to ask again if we were in the right place. I refused to come out of the car and left my husband do the talking. He asked to see the room just to see if our fears would be justified, and from the look on his face when he returned, I already knew the answer. The room that was waiting for us was nothing like what we expected, and the bedding smelt as if they had not been washed in quite a while. I immediately started calling a ton of other places to see if anywhere else was available, but since we arrived on Christmas day, late in the evening it was no use. Everywhere was booked and if we left we would still have had to pay for the room. We had the guard call the manager of the hotel and he quickly arrived, and we told him our thoughts. I will say that he was very kind and helpful even though we had nothing good to say. He found us another room above the room we were to be staying in which seemed more aerated and with cleaner bedding. We had no other choice but to stay so we did. Thank God it was only for 2 nights, and at least there was AC. The room included two queen size beds, a small couch, table and chairs and a fridge. The bathroom was quite large with a jacuzzi tub and standing shower with his and her sinks. It sounds like it was nice but still was not 4 star quality. The breakfast was good and the waiter and the receptionist were very nice. Oh, may I add that the pool was dirty and looked gross. I was so looking forward to taking a nice relaxing swim but the water was not clear and there were things floating in it. I don't know how this place was able to get the 4 stars because I have seen 3 star places that are wayyy better than this. I for one will never stay here again and none of my friends will either. I can imagine that when the place was first built and taken care of that it may have been very nice but it's definitely not the same now. Again, take a look at the pictures and decide for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French_Lodge, Manager at French Lodge International, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank-you so much for posting your opinion.

We are so pleased that you took the time to notice the 18th century Ox-Wagon that was sourced from the heart of the Karoo, but think it's a pity that - after looking in the room - you decided that the bedding smelled bad.

The "things" that were floating in the pool were flowers from the Hibiscus tree next to the pool after we had some wind.

How unfortunate that you chose to stay a second night after we asked you if you enjoyed your evening as there were a few of our regular guests on a waiting list who would have been delighted to stay with us again.

Good luck with your further travels.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for bussiness for the first time after recommendation from another person at work and I was not dissapionted. The service from the moment we arrived was superb and the rondavel next to the pool was outstanding to say the least. The room was spacious and very comfortable.. I will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Book a rondavel around the pool. A little bit more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were greeted on arrival and shown to our beautiful rooms alongside the crystal blue swimming pool. This is the view that awaits you when you wake in the morning, after sleeping in their "tiny" beds. Small joke, you can easily fit 4 adults in one bed, they are so big and comfortable, I slept like a baby! Each room has a jet bath as well, so you can enjoy a jacuzzi in the privacy of your own thatched accommodation.....The staff are fantastic and so accommodating, which is stunning! I arranged a barbecue for my guests, but due to the wood being wet, a microwave was organised for me to finish dinner, nothing was too much trouble for Fortune or Thibault that night. Only wished we could have stayed longer! Pleae make this a stop should you be going via George, enroute to George Airport! Thanks so much French Lodge, our last night travelling was FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the French Lodge a couple of weeks ago - for a weekend getaway.
The French Lodge came highly recommended from a business colleague of mine - and boy did it not disappoint.

The French lodge is set in a beautiful garden with a stunning swimming pool. Rooms are very neat and comfortable - and the Jacuzzi was fantastic.

The staff where so polite and friendly. Special thanks to Natasha for been so helpful - you are a wonderful hostess.

Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Lodge International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lodge International

Address: 29 York Street, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and exclusive hotel combines superb hospitality with the easy ambiance of African style and comfort. Situated in the middle of George - in a relaxed, very quiet and restful atmosphere - the luxury and sublime service of the hotel cater to the discerning traveller to George and the Garden Route. Imbued with the warm rich tones of Africa, The French Lodge International meets the needs of the 21st century in a truly unique way. Our rooms are all spacious with King-sized beds fitted with electric blankets. In addition, we have rooms with multiple bedding arrangements for the large groups.Each room has a couch as well as a desk and wardrobe. In addition, all our suites have coffee amenities, as well as a bar fridge, aircon and heating! Plus, All our Chalets have flat screen TVs! Each room has DSTV (as well as a French Channel!) And our en-suite bathrooms are beautiful with both shower and Jacuzzi! Our entire hotel is a wi-fi hotspot and guests are able to use the internet for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your French Lodge International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Lodge International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.